We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort

Save
Share
Centra Paradise Park, Jesu Nasarenu Mawatha, Thoppu Thota, Waikkal 61110 Sri Lanka
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
$51
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$48
Free cancellation until 02/03/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (354)
Dining (59)
Room & Suite (47)

About

#1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waikkal
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Karunakarala Ayurveda Spa & Resort offers a unique resort experience where wellness is defined more broadly than rest and healing alone. The beautiful resort nested in natural forest with scenic views and overlooking the river ‘Ma Oya’ welcomes you for a unique personalized Ayurveda experience while others accompanying you may opt for a peaceful and relaxing getaway. The Resort has been certified by Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority (SLTDA) as a "Safe & Secure Certified, Level 1 Hotel".
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Badminton
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga room
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Boating
Canoeing
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Darts
Fishing
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Massage
Neck massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese, Sinhala, Tamil
115Reviews3Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 74
  • 25
  • 7
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Vihanga N wrote a review Jan 22
7 contributions
We (couple) stayed 15th to 18th Jan in this wonderful hotel and it was a really nice service provided by the staff and i would like to thank Mr. Sanjeewa (manager) who have prepared everything as per our needs, the room was fully cleaned and fully equipped, staff have offered us 5 star service and the food was so delicious as well, we highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Travellita wrote a review Dec 2022
Vienna, Austria14 contributions11 helpful votes
I was staying at the resort for 2 weeks for the panchakarma program. I can definitely say, that it is the best place, where I lived during my almost 3 weeks stay in Sri Lanka. Key things to highlight: The location: The resort is located quite close to the airport, so it is very convenient if you arrive with a long flight. The place is built on a peaceful riverside, surrounded by the nature: exotic trees plants, birds and jumping chipmunks. Once in a while you hear the sound of passing by trains, but it is not very often. The facilities: my villa was very comfortable! Everything is designed and equipped so perfectly to help you to relax. Your can enjoy the quiet evenings on the porch of your villa and the sounds of nature around you. The house itself and the furniture is made of the natural wood, so that complements the overall treatment process. The treatments and foods are coordinated and customised according to your dosha/constitution type. The quality of the treatments, that you have 3 hours per day, is very professional . The attitude of the doctor and the therapists is very personal to your needs and issues. You feel in good and kind hands. The personnel in the kitchen and restaurant is amazing, the food was so delicious and fresh, cooked with the local ingredients. They explain, what is prepared for you an also showed the cooking process. The doctor showed us the plants in the local gardens and told about the effect of the herbs on the health. The morning yoga lessons were also provided. There were not a lot of guests at the resort during my stay, as Sri Lanka tourism is still slowly recovering after pandemic. It is quite sad, as so many people still miss this unique experience. This place fulfilled my expectations 100% and even more.If your focus not just on having standard holidays, but primarily on your health, well being and recovery, that we all need now in this world, it is a perfect place to come for. You will feel a new version of yourself. I am very thankful to all people, who work in Karunakarala and made me feel so good!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjeewa Peiris, Other at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort
Responded Dec 5, 2022
Dear Travellita-2020, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay at Karunakarala Resort. Great to see that you enjoyed all our facilities. Thank you for recommending us and highlighting good attitude of our staff also highly appriciated. We look forward to welcoming you back Karunakarala resort soon. Ayubowan (May you have a long life)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony v wrote a review Nov 2022
If you want to experience a traditional Ayurvedic experience including various treatments and meals, I can recommend this place in Sri Lanka. It’s a beautiful place with lovely people where you can really relax and slow down while staring at a jungle river. And the people can use the business, they are still recovering from the global lockdown.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjeewa Peiris, Other at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort
Responded Nov 25, 2022
Dear 481tonyv, We are delighted that your stay and the experience were wonderful. Highliting our staff and property also highly apriciated. Thank you for the recommendation as well. Would love to welcome you again for another great stay. Ayubowan (May you have a long life)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
124saleha wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The services and treatments are super and experienced practitioners are taking care of guests. I will visit this place again. This is my second visit. After the given massage sure you will feel better. The Yoga session with the practitioner is very nice in promising
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjeewa Peiris, Other at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort
Responded Nov 6, 2022
Dear Mr. Saleha, We are delighted that the stay and the experience were wonderful. Thank you for the recommendation as well. Would love to welcome you again for another great stay. Ayubowan (May you have a long life)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Prasad_Siriwardena wrote a review Sep 2022
Negombo, Sri Lanka326 contributions30 helpful votes
Good hotel with relaxed location. Rooms are good. Staff are friendly and helpful. Foods are good and healthy and with good tests. Good landscaping with many green environment. Have good aruvadic package’s for guests. River is adjoining.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjeewa Peiris, Other at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort
Responded Sep 27, 2022
Dear Mr. Prasad Siriwardena, Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay experience with us. We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future! Ayubowan Sanjeewa Peiris.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yfallon r wrote a review Sep 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka12 contributions7 helpful votes
Please do not stay here my husband and I got robbed in this hotel. The camera recordings were deliberately stopped minutes before we left the cabin and there was no manager around to sort the problem and this was around 7 pm.very unprofessional and irresponsible. Please becareful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjeewa Peiris, Other at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort
Responded Sep 12, 2022
Dear yfallon r, Thank you for taking time to share your comment. As we mentioned, cameras were not switched off but had a delay in recording due to timing error caused by power interruptions in all over Sri Lanka which is beyond our control. I would like to mention that hotel accountant was there along with security personal with you at that time and resident manager also contacted you over the phone. However, we checked the recordings over & over but couldn't find any suspicious movements around your room. Further, safe lockers are fixed in lockable cupboards in case if you need extra security to your valuables. Apologies for the unsafe feeling you had due to such incident and I hope we get the chance to welcome you again. Ayubowan. Sanjeewa Peiris.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kalani A wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
I was there for one night as I was traveling to Sri Lanka and had to quarantine. Staff was extremely friendly. Service was wonderful. The place itself was calm and soothing and beautiful. Amal was one of the staff members I was in touch with before I land in Sri Lanka and he helped me a lot planning my stay. It was my first time going to Karunakarala resort and I wasn't sure what to expect. I was happy that I made the right choice selecting my stay. Yuka was one of the other staff members and she was very helpful and always had a smile on her face. They gave me one of the cottage and it was really nice. Big enough and nicely cleaned. Overall I was happy with their services and my stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chandima Gunaratne wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
I stayed here 13 nights and it was extremely nice. This place is so peaceful, clean and everything you expect and beyond. All the staff extremely welcoming, very friendly ,very helpful and always there to help. Food was excellent and I was very impressed that they provide variety of healthy foods and it suits everyone's taste preferences. My travel agent and her MD recommended this place and I am very thankful to them also for providing me one of the best places to stay and enjoy such beautiful entertainment with lots of nature involved. I have recommended this place to most of my friends so that they can also experience the great place like this with lovely ambience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mohamed S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Fantastic location and friendly staff. I was with family for three day's and the food was amazing. Enjoyed a lot and good location for relaxing. Worth for price. Beautiful noise of different birds whole day. Amazed with fresh air without any pollution.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
prabhath v wrote a review Aug 2021
Minsk Mazowiecki, Poland1 contribution
Nice calming atmosphere. Good food and nice helping people. Comfortable room facilities with private space. Nice front river view. If you want to enjoy good healthy local food I can recomend the place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$53 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaCentral ProvinceWaikkal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KARUNAKARALA AYURVEDA RESORT $48 ($̶5̶9̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & B&B Reviews - Waikkal, Sri Lanka

Frequently Asked Questions about Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort?
Nearby attractions include St. Mary's Church (4.2 miles), Main Fish Market (4.6 miles), and Negombo Fish Market (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salt Restaurant, Jude Restaurant, and Leonardo by Bella Vita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Karunakarala Ayurveda Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, Tamil, and Sinhala.