We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropic Inn Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tropic Inn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice clean quiet hotel two minutes away from the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend staying here over chaotic colombo if you're doing a quick stop over before travelling arkund . Tuktuk to colomvo was about 500 rupre so pretty easy to get in and out.

Helpful?
Thank Sworboys
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

Tropic inn is a pleasant and friendly place to stay after a long flight to Colombo from Europe. The place looks very outdated but the friendliness of the staff compensates this completely. The bed was very comfortable and the shower worked well. The window was blocked with wooden shelfs and we were wondering where to go to in case of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danny d
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

I have been going to this hotel for the last five years or so. And this is home for me at least three times a year. I stay here for about a week. I consider Tropic Inn as my second home in Sri Lanka. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and will go out of their way to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank josilg
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

We stayed for two nights at the Tropic Inn hotel late April. The hotel accommodation is good, and is a 5 minute walk away from the beach. The hotel is 15 minute tuk-tuk ride to the RMV (if one needs to apply for a temp driving license) as well as the same distance to the Zoo. The food at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank deepakandrade
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

We stayed at the hotel for four days and then after travelling within the country returned for a one night stay. Despite arriving in the early hours of the morning we were well received. Accommodation is clean and perfectly adequate. Breakfast was excellent. Service and friendliness of staff was exceptional.

Helpful?
Thank 252carol
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

While the customer service at reception was well handled upon arrival, this hotel leaves so many things left to be desired, even for a budget hotel. The rooms are adequate but the bathrooms are poorly ventilated and let many bugs and mosquitos in with the windows and cracks. Wifi is terrible and did not work in the rooms - forcing... More 

Helpful?
Thank M_Traveller80
Fazal A, Manager at Tropic Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. all our rooms are updated to current standard to keep up with the high demand. We make every effort to make sure that all our guests are taken good care while you are with us. Our room prices are " Value For Money" according to the guests who have stayed with us. We offer Free... More 

London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my mother and my sister. We were given water on arrival and taken up to our triple room. The room was clean and spacious; the beds were comfortable with good linen. The bathroom was basic, but fine. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is someone on reception throughout the night, which was useful when a... More 

Helpful?
Thank sallymatildamay
Fazal A, Manager at Tropic Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Your good reviews will boost our business and will make us do our very best for our guests. Regards Tropic Inn More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in hotel for 2weeks and my stay has been very comfortable..Value for money.. Rooms are very neat and clean..TV , AC ,Mini Fridge..Water heater provided. Good breakfast.. Hotel staff are very polite and helpful.. Located very close to mount Lavinia beach.. One suggestion for improvement can be to have some kind of inverter arrangement to cater to just... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Barbados
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2016

Excellent professional friendly staff!!!!! their breakfast is something to die for!!!!!!! very close to the beach and tourist area! well worth your money! transport, shopping, night life everything is nearby with also tuk tuk available all night long to rent! by the way I am Enoch! I would recommend this to ANYONE VISITING SRILANKA!!!!! I work in the hotel industry... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Triniboi
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016

Stayed here for one night because a family member raved about the place. Decided to never consider that person's opinion ever again. We were welcomed with a horrendous amount of dead ( or dying ) roaches just outside the front entrance. The rooms were tiny, cramped, musty smelling.The air conditioning was insanely loud, we ended up just switching the ceiling... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank silvajohn
Fazal A, Manager at Tropic Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. But we don't remember you staying with us or complaining about anything. If you did stay with us please write another review that proves that you stayed with us. A proof of a Receipt and the room # that you were in will be helpful. I would also like to say after seeing all your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
0.4 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#6 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#3 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#5 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
3.1 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#9 of 43 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tropic Inn has been providing clean and comfortable rooms for the traveller for past 33 years. Our hotel facilities and rooms are upgraded to present standards to keep up with the current demand. We have 16 rooms and all with A/C and private bathroom. Free WIFI, cable T.V. Free breakfast. We have a restaurant that can accommodate upto 50 people serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Mount Lavinia is only a 15 minutes drive from capital Colombo. The only beach closer to capital Colombo. At tropic Inn we offer •Great customer service•Very clean rooms•Safe environment•A/C rooms & hot water shower•Free breakfast•Restaurantserving lunch & dinner•Free wireless internet•Airport pick up and drop service ( not free)•Early check- in, if rooms are available.Come and stay with us. You will love it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropic Inn Hotel

Address: 30 College Avenue | Colombo - Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $22 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tropic Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Tropic Hotel Mount Lavinia
Tropic Inn Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay