We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Tropic Inn Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tropic Inn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very good budget hotel in Mount Lavinia. Beautiful neat and clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Free Wi-Fi and Air conditioners. Nice Restaurant. Walking distance from mount Lavinia beach. Very good staff.

Helpful?
Thank Yashwantpandey
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed here before and this time too we were not disappointed. We stayed as a group (3 couples) and rooms were clean, staff as always were friendly and went out of their way to help. Breakfast was provided and again was excellent - East/West breakfast. Our first time visitors to Sri Lanka were pleasantly surprised. Hotel is in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marina d
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

if you are traveling south in Sri Lanka, arriving late in the evening(about 1 hour from Colombo airport) this is a good place to stay near the beach, Mt Lavinia hotel and Mt Lavinia train station if traveling north to say Jafna. Rooms very clean tidy, staff helpful, will stay up late if arriving late. Food also very good Sri... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger F
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friendly budget hotel, where nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Clean comfortable rooms and a good buffet breakfast, which was a mixture of Sri Lankan and western foods. A tuk tuk to Colombo station was 300SLR and a taxi 750 SLR, alternatively the Mount Lavinia train station is about a 15 min walk away. The cost of... More 

Helpful?
Thank JAQS1960
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Nice clean quiet hotel two minutes away from the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend staying here over chaotic colombo if you're doing a quick stop over before travelling arkund . Tuktuk to colomvo was about 500 rupre so pretty easy to get in and out.

Helpful?
Thank Sworboys
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

Tropic inn is a pleasant and friendly place to stay after a long flight to Colombo from Europe. The place looks very outdated but the friendliness of the staff compensates this completely. The bed was very comfortable and the shower worked well. The window was blocked with wooden shelfs and we were wondering where to go to in case of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danny d
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

I have been going to this hotel for the last five years or so. And this is home for me at least three times a year. I stay here for about a week. I consider Tropic Inn as my second home in Sri Lanka. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and will go out of their way to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank josilg
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

We stayed for two nights at the Tropic Inn hotel late April. The hotel accommodation is good, and is a 5 minute walk away from the beach. The hotel is 15 minute tuk-tuk ride to the RMV (if one needs to apply for a temp driving license) as well as the same distance to the Zoo. The food at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank deepakandrade
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

We stayed at the hotel for four days and then after travelling within the country returned for a one night stay. Despite arriving in the early hours of the morning we were well received. Accommodation is clean and perfectly adequate. Breakfast was excellent. Service and friendliness of staff was exceptional.

Helpful?
Thank 252carol
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

While the customer service at reception was well handled upon arrival, this hotel leaves so many things left to be desired, even for a budget hotel. The rooms are adequate but the bathrooms are poorly ventilated and let many bugs and mosquitos in with the windows and cracks. Wifi is terrible and did not work in the rooms - forcing... More 

Helpful?
Thank M_Traveller80
Fazal A, Manager at Tropic Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. all our rooms are updated to current standard to keep up with the high demand. We make every effort to make sure that all our guests are taken good care while you are with us. Our room prices are " Value For Money" according to the guests who have stayed with us. We offer Free... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
0.4 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#3 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#5 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#6 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#3 of 46 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tropic Inn has been providing clean and comfortable rooms for the traveller for past 33 years. Our hotel facilities and rooms are upgraded to present standards to keep up with the current demand. We have 16 rooms and all with A/C and private bathroom. Free WIFI, cable T.V. Free breakfast. We have a restaurant that can accommodate upto 50 people serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Mount Lavinia is only a 15 minutes drive from capital Colombo. The only beach closer to capital Colombo. At tropic Inn we offer •Great customer service•Very clean rooms•Safe environment•A/C rooms & hot water shower•Free breakfast•Restaurantserving lunch & dinner•Free wireless internet•Airport pick up and drop service ( not free)•Early check- in, if rooms are available.Come and stay with us. You will love it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropic Inn Hotel

Address: 30 College Avenue | Colombo - Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $18 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tropic Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Tropic Hotel Mount Lavinia
Tropic Inn Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay