We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Lavinia Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,840: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I went to one of my closest friend's wedding here. It's pretty but average. Good place to have a wedding ceremony though. They have a lot of sculptures but the sculptor has done a real bad job on them.

Helpful?
Thank Cafe G
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's a fantastic place for a dinner by the ocean. The sea spray and the candlelight were perfect for a peaceful family dinner. We enjoyed the fresh seafood that was available. The staff is friendly too. But this restaurant is expensive.

Helpful?
Thank pmudawattage
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Your insights and review is very much appreciated We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and the ambiance of our hotel Specially the seafood Cove restaurant and our very own chefs committed in providing a unique culinary experience for all our guests during their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit.... More 

Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I was there for a conference and stayed there for 3 nights. Let me start with the positive points. The food is amazing and don't know where to start. The breakfast was literally kings breakfast and so was the lunch. Trust me you won't be disappointed with the food. The view from the hotel is amazing. You can see the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cweeta
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cweeta Thank you very much for taking time to review the Mount Lavinia Hotel. As a renowned hotel with a history of long years we at Mout Lavinia Hotel always strive to serve our valued guests and clients with the star class hotel experience. If we fail at any level, we take the responsibility of same and would ensure... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

booked colonial suit for our stay. We also arranged a photoshoot and hotel provided everything we need too. We had a pizza for dinner and it was delicious. I'd like to thank hotel staff for make our stay easy, Specially for flexible check out times... Thank you

Helpful?
Thank THILINA M
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thilina It is indeed delighted to take note of your genuine feedback. We are very much delighted to know that u had a great photo shoot and a fantastic dinner. The hotel always focuses on giving the best for its valuable guests. we hope we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mount Lavinia Hotel on... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brilliant hotel and perfect for families. Wish our stay was for longer - we could easily stay for week or more. Great food and priced reasonably. Good location and close to the city attractions. Staff were great.

Helpful?
Thank Becstarblack
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Your insights and review is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the services and the ambiance of our hotel and it is indeed a privilege to know that you found the team friendly and polite. we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit. Thank you More 

London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We cane to spend the day at the hotel are was greeted a enthusiastic staff. Colonial charm,beautiful building and in a lovely location. But then we went up to the pool. The pool changing rooms are horrendous - dirty, old and smelly. I couldn't believe we were paying RS 1000 as day guest for this experience. The pool is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank adekretser
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking time to review our hotel While taking the opportunity to express our regret on the inconvenience you faced at the changing room. we take the responsibility of same and would ensure such mistakes are never repeated. Please do accept our apology and hope you will be our guest in the near future to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our 2 week holiday. I highly recommend. Beautiful pool and surroundings. Wonderful service and a gorgeous private beach. Great location, only 10 minutes from bustling Colombo, depending on traffic. And the buffet breakfast...amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Morgan R
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Your insights and review is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and the ambiance our hotel and our very own chefs committed in providing a unique culinary experience for all our guests during their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit. Thank you More 

Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff. Restaurants are with good and variety of foods. Rooms were not ready when we arrived around midnight. The airport pick up was late to arrive. Even though we reserved and paid for the pickup for us, the driver had taken another person in the same car and we were annoyed about this incident. They promised to refund half... More 

Helpful?
Thank tmvasagar
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest It is indeed delighted to take note of your genuine feedback. The comments of our valued guests are noted by us with respect and we ensure the remedial measures are taken immediately to avoid a repetition and on behalf of the team Mount Lavinia Hotel, we apologize to you for the negativity you had to experience during... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I chose Mt. Lavinia hotel to host my wedding since it is an excellent place. They have given their full support to make our big day a success from the point of chosing it to the point we are leaving from hotel day after. The menu was amazing. There were lot of selections. They helped us to select the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest We really appreciate on your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the services and the ambiance of our hotel and it is indeed a privilege to know that you had a great wedding at Mount Lavinia Hotel. we cordially invite you and your family once again to experience the other perks of our hotel,... More 

wales
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is an old colonial hotel and has maintained some of the features both in the costumes of staff and in the rooms. There are a range of modern rooms but we stayed in the old part which had very comfortable beds and were spacious. This part was being done up whilst we stayed so we had 3 rooms during... More 

Helpful?
Thank satisfied005
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest It is indeed pleasure to take note of your genuine feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and the ambiance of our hotel and our very own chefs committed in providing a unique culinary experience for all our guests during their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit. Thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,094 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1590)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (376)
Viewed
Dining (134)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (203)
Viewed
Room/Suite (175)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
View from Room (135)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
9:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (529)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (467)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Colonial Suite (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Direct Ocean View Rooms (67)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (34)
Viewed
King Bed Ocean View Room (45)
Viewed
Ocean View Suite (64)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#2 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#4 of 45 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 45 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#4 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#3 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $124 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay