We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Grand Forks Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Forks Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 638: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Over the course of a decade our family has stayed here numerous times. Each time returned it was worse than before. Has become filthy. The staff is inept and the overall condition is awful. We now spend a little more and stay at a quality hotel in the area. It's too bad, as it was once a great hotel and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tannis R
Minot, Nd
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

Filthy, smelly. I wish I would've listened to the reviews. We stayed on the first floor, and the room had visible mold, we only stayed for one night and I was afraid to breath in the air..it was that bad!! (it doesnt even look like the pictures they posted either. false advertisement!) The pool in kid area was ice cold.... More 

Helpful?
Thank A B
Anoka, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We showed up and a water pipe had broke. The staff was very apologetic and we understood. No water for a couple hours not a big deal, we didn't even notice. The pool was closed but the water park and hot tub were open. They advertised the pool to stay open until 11:30 for adults but was being closed around... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Missy J, Management Company Rep at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Julie, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your understanding when we had a water pipe malfunction - we were able to get it fixed soon after the issue was realized. Your detail regarding the breakfast area has been shared with our staff in an effort to better serve our guests in the future.... More 

Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

I have to start out by saying that my bed was super comfortable as were my pillows!! The room was a little run down and not super clean. All I really needed was a place to stay and get a good nights sleep, which I did. The pool area was closed due to some partying the night before and booze... More 

Helpful?
Thank Candylee29
Missy J, Management Company Rep at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Candy Lee, I am happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our beds! Our maintenance department is working diligently to ensure all guest rooms are in good working order. If you have any specifics that would be helpful, we would appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately, the pool was out of order due to the previous guests. I apologize for the... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

My family had 6 poolside rooms reserved, but we only received 2. The room I had was ok. Except for the fact that the toilet seat was broken, the shower had some mold in it, a lamp didn't work, and the shower head was not attached to the wall so I had to hold it/have my husband hold it so... More 

Helpful?
Thank jkh2992
Missy J, Management Company Rep at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I apologize for the less than acceptable stay you experienced with us. As we transition to new management, we are making changes in all areas you explained. We are working with our housekeeping staff on reporting room conditions issues to maintenance to ensure they are addressed as soon as possible. I appreciate your specific detail you explained regarding your room... More 

north dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

My family stayed here one weekend for a children's birthday party. Honestly, it's not clean, the bathroom floors were sticky and there was just a general news for a deep cleaning throughout the entire place. Carpet is worn and dirty in most of the main facility. There was over a 20 minute wait to check in when we arrived. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank savetheearth09
Missy J, Management Company at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

savetheearth09, Thank you for providing such a detailed review. I apologize that we fell short on many levels during your stay. We are currently working with all staff on training checklists to ensure the areas you mentioned are addressed immediately. Your response will also be used as a training tool for our staff to explain the importance of these items... More 

Warroad, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

This motel did not have enough HOT WATER to accommodate the rooms that were booked, several people checked out and went to other motels! Now know why they have low rates!! Manager was very rude!! Staff knew nothing when it came to dealing with motel issues!! Never again!!

Helpful?
Thank Sue A
Missy J, Management Company Rep at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Sue, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize for a less than acceptable stay you experienced and the lack of professionalism when expressing problems regarding the motel issues. We take your feedback seriously and have taken steps to not only fix the problems you explained, but to also work with the staff on communication to... More 

Morden, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016

Check in went well. Courteous. Got into room. Toilet paper in the toilet, broken toilet seat, terrible shower, no pressure, had to ask for toilet paper and kleenex twice (2 different days) Left for day and both days we came back around 3 p.m. and room was not cleaned. They ran out of bath towels, had to wait a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
Missy J, Management Company Rep at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Cathy, Thank you for providing such a detailed review. As new management to this property, please accept my apologies for the less than acceptable stay you experienced. We are currently working with our staff, using training checklists, to ensure the details you explained do not happen moving forward. Also, many policies regarding our pool area and other have been addressed... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2016 via mobile

There was dog feces in the first room it also stunk so bad we had to get new room! The 2nd room was no better. the sheets on bed had not been changed but the beds were made up so I had to make the beds, the following day we could not use the pool cause there were party's all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Skyeler P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

This place is pretty dumpy. The Kids had fun in the water park on Friday. The big slide and pool was closed for maintenance on Saturday. To signify that the pool was closed they drained the pool and placed one strip of caution tape around it. Not very safe when you have children running around. I saw multiple people saving... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kangfu
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn and Suites Grand Forks
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
0.1 mi away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#17 of 29 in Grand Forks
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Grand Forks
Travelodge Grand Forks
#23 of 29 in Grand Forks
3.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Select Inn Grand Forks
Select Inn Grand Forks
#27 of 29 in Grand Forks
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Forks Howard Johnson is your destination! Whether it's a weekend or a weekday we are a great getaway! Located just off I-29 and Hwy 2, the Howard Johnson features an indoor water park with a kiddie pool area as well as a 110' slide, complimentary hot continental breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi, a fitness center, game room, complimentary toiletries, complimentary single cup coffee makers in each room, and a bar/lounge area. We also have meeting rooms and ballrooms for all your special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Forks Inn & Suites

Address: 1210 N 43rd St, Grand Forks, ND 58203-1932
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Price Range: $61 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Forks Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Forks Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Grand Forks
Clarion Grand Forks
Clarion Hotel Grand Forks
Holiday Inn Grand Forks
Grand Forks Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay