We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (468)
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (482)


#6 of 9 hotels in Wrightsville Beach
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Free internet
Public wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Good to know
    3 stars
    Great View, Family Resort
  • Languages Spoken
1,272Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 553
  • 359
  • 179
  • 104
  • 78
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I attended a conference here recently. The ocean view is lovely. I thank Bonnie, Adam and Tom for their hard work in making the stay so pleasant. The room was very nice and clean. It was a very nice location for a business conference.
Read more
Response from Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, even though most of your time was probably devoted to the conference and not the beach. We are especially delighted that the fine customer service skills of Bonnie, Adam and Tom all helped make your stay a memorable one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shell Island Resort.
Read more
We were lucky enough to have our annual manager conference here. The view from the room & banquet area were truly amazing!! Simone & Dylan at the front desk made us feel welcome and were so helpful from making check in super easy to calling pizza delivery for us. Adam made sure we were well taken care of during our meeting & the entire staff was just so friendly. I highly recommend for business or pleasure!
Read more
Response from Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are honored to have you and your associates as our guests year after year. Thank you for your kind words. We will be sharing them with Simone and Dylan without a doubt. We look forward to seeing you and your team again in the future!
Read more
Beautiful location, delicious food, and incredible staff! Bonnie, Tom, and Adam excelled in making our conference memorable, comfortable, and a great experience. I will return for fun with my family this spring!
Read more
Response from Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words! It means a lot to us to hear we've accomplished our ultimate goal of making everyone's stay not only an enjoyable one, but a memorable one. Thank you again for staying with us!
Read more
I never leave negative reviews. I am generally very easy going. I have here before and thought it was pretty decent. However, I have lan to check out tomorrow and never come back. I don’t know what the party under my room is for, but it has kept my two kids up half the night. Why, do they think this is a nightclub? The noise is very loud and when I brought it up, the manager gave me no reason to believe he was doing anything about it. Disrespectful. Don’t stay here. I never will again.
Read more
Response from Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort
Responded Dec 18, 2019
Thank you for your review. We apologize about the Chrismas party in the ballroom that evening. Typically people who are attending the events are place in the units over the ballrooms and there may have been a miscommunication and that may be the reason you were wrongfully put over the ballroom. Unfortunately had you spoken to any member of the Front Desk Management team, you would have been offered a room move but it looks as though that did not happen and for that I apologize. Thank you for staying with us at Shell Island Resort.
Read more
The word ‘Resort’ in the name is misleading as amenities provided don’t meet resort levels. This is more of an inn. We were not interested in a resort but I just wanted to clarify for those interested in staying in the future. Our room was a typical beach front room with a kitchenette and separate bedroom. It was clean and adequate for our needs. The kitchenette was only suitable for a light breakfast or lunch. The bed was adequate but noisy.
Read more
Response from Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Thank you for your review. We apologize if some aspects of your stay were not as expected. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to have you as a guest in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shell Island Resort.
Read more
$130 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
shell island oceanfront hotel, shell island oceanfront resort, shell island resort nc, shell isl all oceanfront suites, wrightsville beach shell island resort, shell island north carolina, shell is resort wrightsville beach, shell island hotel, shell island nc, shell island resort north carolina
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastWrightsville Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shell Island Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Shell Island Resort?
Nearby attractions include Airlie Gardens (3.3 miles), New Hanover County Arboretum (3.8 miles), and Wrightsville Beach (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shell Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shell Island Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shell Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Shell Island Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shell Island Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Boombalatti’s Homemade Ice Cream, Ceviche's, and Tower 7 Baja Mexican Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shell Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shell Island Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Shell Island Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Shell Island Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Airlie Gardens (3.3 miles).
Does Shell Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.