We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Shell Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

917 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shell Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 915: English reviews
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

The room I stayed in was very clean and for that I would thank Kristi,she did a great job. The rooms seemed updated and looked to have fresh paint on the walls. The view was amazing! The Windows from the room faced the beautiful ocean and out the front door faced the marsh. There is a ton of things to...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Rhonda C
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda C, Your review is greatly appreciated. However, your comments toward the language of some of our staff is concerning to us. If you have the time, and wouldn't mind calling me directly I would like to speak to you. If not, please be assured that all staff has been made aware of the great importance of controlling their...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed September 2, 2015

Room was musty, moldy smelling. Grandson could not stay with us because moldy smell would have caused him to have an asthma attack. Housekeeper washed glass by hand that we left out after use. No dishwasher so dishes in cabinet, silverware are probably not sanitized after use or between each new guest. Coffeepot not working and dirty looking. Mold in...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank travelling1232015
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

travelling1232015, Please forgive my delay in responding to your recent review. Your comments were of great concern to us, so we requested a written course of action from all individuals that were attending to your housekeeping needs during your stay. I can assure you that many corrective measures have been put into place. Please accept our humble apologies. We do...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed September 1, 2015

I loved the Shell Island Resort! I went here for my mom's birthday in June 2015. We were greeted by Todd at the front desk. Todd was full of information and had a spunky personality, which was refreshing. Our room was outstanding. We stayed in a newly renovated room and it made all the difference! The resort's location is ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meredith M
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Meredith M, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review; your kind words are greatly appreciated. Please come back to see us when time permits. Our "Awesome views, drinks and food" as well as our staff will be ready for your return! Kindest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Kensington, Maryland
Reviewed August 31, 2015

Great place at end of the island. Beach is large and beautiful. The only draw back is you can't walk to restaurants and the service at their restaurant was horrible the one time we went. We über end down the street to some great restaurants!!!! Condo with a nice little kitchen so we got food for breakfast and lunch and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yoga312014
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear yoga312014, Thank you for taking the time to write about your "Great Beach Stay." Please accept our humble apologies for the poor service you were provided in our restaurant. We will continue in our efforts to improve upon the services provided in all areas of the resort, and do hope you will come see us again. Again, thank you...

Manchester
Reviewed August 27, 2015

We were on a family holiday and stayed here for three nights. The positives first - the location so near the beach is fantastic - to wake up to the sunrise and sound of the sea and to watch shooting stars from the balcony at night was amazing. My kids loved the beach, which is great - clean, soft sand...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Dodgychris
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dodgychris, Thank you for your review. Your honest observation is greatly appreciated. Never should a guest have to ask for their housekeeping service, nor should they have to call back because we forgot something. You have our promise that we will continue our efforts in improving our guest satisfaction and we do hope you will find it possible to...

Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile

The rooms that myself and my family members stayed in were filthy. The floors looked like they hadn't been swept in months there were scuffs all over the walls the bathrooms I ended up wiping down myself the shower curtain was moldy and the bed sheets were ruff and stained and felt like they still had sand on them. The...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Erin Hunter W
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Erin Hunter W, On behalf of the entire staff, I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We put forth great effort in providing clean, comfortable accommodations and it would appear that we fell quite short in doing so for you. For that, we are truly sorry. If you would like to call me directly for any reason,...

Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

For the amount we paid to spend 5 days at this outdated "resort" we could've rented a condo or small beach house! The beach itself is perfect, warm water, clean sand. The hotel has seen better days and most of the staff seem apathetic and almost rude to requests. My fiancé and I actually tried to spend as much time...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Bailenkip
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bailenkip, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you feel as though we weren't worth the price you paid. I am curious about your comments toward the staff however. We truly do pride ourselves in providing excellent guest service and if time permits, please feel free to contact me directly to further discuss your experience. I do...

New York City, New York
Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I was very pleased with how clean our room was thanks to Nita. The room was very nice an the view to the beach was awesome food was great and so was staff. The water was a little on the stink side but that was fine. My friend from high school was there on a family trip...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave B
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dave B, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. Your kind words toward Nita are greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed August 23, 2015

I just got back from a 3 day stay at Shell Island. I had not been in years and although I had read some bad reviews on line, I felt like I should give it a try. I have to say this property is in a great location with terrific views for all of the units. Unfortunately the facility does...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Michele H
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Michele H, On behalf of the entire staff here at Shell Island I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We understand that your review is your honest observation of your stay, and we do take it to heart. Please feel free to contact me directly if time permits; I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you....

Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

Beach: Beach is awesome! large, clean, sandy not rocky. Umbrella and chair rental reasonable and attendant very friendly. Bring your own boogie boards Good waves, very clean and warm water. Undertow light at this time. Food: Resort restaurant Dinner was fantastic! but pricey! Rooms: We asked for early checkin and got it, but we had the wrong room. Registered for...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Kevin R
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kevin R, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit. We're sorry that we weren't able to meet higher expectations, and will continue to make improvements in our facility as well as our service. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kindest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

958 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (332)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
116 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
15.6 mi away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
386 reviews
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $133 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travelers.
19 questions
Ask a question
New York, NY
over a year ago
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
over a year ago
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 month ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms have an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MammaTraveler, 1 week ago | Read review
“We requested floor on higher level for the view. Staff accommodated our last minute request.”
  • Watched sunrise each morning from room
 of 5 bubbles GrandmaJudy1, 1 week ago | Read review
“2nd floor gives good eye level view of the beach; middle of the road room # gave us good access to parking and elevator”
 of 5 bubbles JaniceD9, 1 week ago | Read review
“Get on higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles vandenbergh2016, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Currently the parking garage is under construction so ask for a room near 801, 701 etc...”
 of 5 bubbles 576nathanp, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay