We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Wrightsville Beach
Save
2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$107
Travelocity$107
Expedia.com$107
Hotels.com$107
Hotwire.com$107
ZenHotels.com$115
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (469)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (536)

About

#6 of 9 hotels in Wrightsville Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Poolside bar
Beach
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Good to know
  • HOTEL CLASS
    3 stars
  • HOTEL STYLE
    Great View, Family Resort
  • Languages Spoken
    English
  • NUMBER OF ROOMS
    153
1,275Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 555
  • 359
  • 179
  • 104
  • 78
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
What a great place with beautiful views. We had a small plumbing issue, Nick and Kebin came up immediately and were careful not to wake my husband. They were in and out in 10 minutes. I couldn't have asked for better or quicker service. We love our long weekends at Shell Island!
Read more
Response from Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort
Responded Sep 29, 2019
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear your stay with us was beyond memorable. We work hard every day to ensure guest satisfaction and it is always nice to hear our hard work is paying off. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shell Island Resort, we can’t wait to see you again!
Read more
My husband and I came for 2 nights to attend a wedding. The view of the beach was great, and the marsh from the walkway was beautiful. However, the accommodations were far less than what I have stayed in at an Embassy Suites (which I thoroughly enjoy) but 3 times as expensive with fewer guest perks. Our "room" was not very clean and the smell from the water was intolerable. Very difficult to brush teeth, shower, etc. We never ordered food from the restaurant so I cannot speak to that. Took a lovely morning stroll along the beach one morning, but, as I mentioned, we were there for a wedding. I wondered when we got there why we were not gathered on the beach for pre-party, etc. and found out that the reason why is that alcohol is not allowed on the beach even if you are a
Read more
Response from Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort
Responded Sep 29, 2019
Thank you for your review. We apologize if some aspects of your stay were not as expected. As far as the alcohol law for Wrightsville beach we are sorry for the inconvenience, however, that is out of our hands as it is a government issue. We are sorry to hear about the skin irritation that occurred while you stayed with us. This is not a common occurrence and we will have to look into it. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it is with mention of such items that we continue to improve the property. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shell Island Resort.
Read more
The Shell Island Resort & their customer service far exceeded my expectations. I cannot remember the last time I was so impressed with service staff. From my first phone call to checkout, I would give every interaction and every individual a 5 star rating. I will remember the nice accommodations, however the excellent service will be remembered even more! The management & staff deserve to be commended.
Read more
Response from Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort
Responded Sep 29, 2019
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear your stay with us was beyond memorable. We work hard every day to ensure guest satisfaction and it is always nice to hear our hard work is paying off. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shell Island Resort, we can’t wait to see you again!
Read more
Great view, but rooms were not cleaned well. Bathroom faucets and floors were dirty. Tap water smelled unbelievably bad - like sulfur. Interior upgrades were nice, but the exterior is in need of help. There's a lot of rust and corrosion throughout. Staff was great and beach was nice.
Read more
Response from Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort
Responded Sep 29, 2019
Thank you for your review. We apologize if some aspects of your stay were not as expected. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to have you as a guest in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shell Island Resort.
Read more
I have always wanted to stay at this resort because it is next to Shell Island. Years ago we used to swim out to the sandy island to collect shells and sand dollars. The view at this place is AMAZING! On one side you can see the wetlands and the other, the beach. The room was dated but fairly comfortable. However,it didn't look like it had even been entered in weeks. There was a huge moth stuck to the indoor hanging light that you could tell had been there a while. We had an overall good experience but for the cost of the stay, I was somewhat disappointed. Most places like this still revamp every so many years. Maybe they do and we just ended up in an older room and paid a cheaper rate than most...???
Read more
Response from Richard G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort
Responded Aug 20, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. Annually the homeowners of the units here are given an opportunity in the off season to renovate their rooms. Your feedback on the unit is greatly appreciated and will be brought to the attention of the HOA. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shell Island Resort.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shell island oceanfront hotel, shell island oceanfront resort, shell island resort nc, shell isl all oceanfront suites, wrightsville beach shell island resort, shell island north carolina, shell is resort wrightsville beach, shell island hotel, shell island nc, shell island resort north carolina
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastWrightsville Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shell Island Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Shell Island Resort?
Nearby attractions include Airlie Gardens (3.3 miles), New Hanover County Arboretum (3.8 miles), and Wrightsville Beach (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shell Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shell Island Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shell Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Shell Island Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shell Island Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Boombalatti’s Homemade Ice Cream, Ceviche's, and Tower 7 Baja Mexican Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shell Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shell Island Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Shell Island Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Shell Island Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Airlie Gardens (3.3 miles).
Does Shell Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.