We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Shell Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

917 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shell Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 915: English reviews
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You can not beat the view or location but the rooms do need some updating but it was clean. The service was great, if there was a problem they were quick to address it. Being off-season was shocked to see a $5.00 parking fee especially since the parking garage was being worked on and many of the parking spaces were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank honeybun58
Reviewed October 26, 2016

I went for some much needed R&R and got exactly what I was looking for. The view from the room I stayed in was beautiful and was perfect for waking up early and watching the sunrise. The room itself was clean and newly renovated, the bed large and soft and the kitchenette just right for making a snack, had I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Jessica C, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed yourself and were able to get some much needed R&R. We will be waiting for your return next time!

Mechanicsville, Maryland
Reviewed October 26, 2016

First Time Staying Here and it was the weekend after Hurricane Matthew. Hotel looked like it survived - only their outdoor pool roof was damaged. The beach was wonderful; we found may great looking shells along the beach, which was not overly crowded for this time of year! Our room was located on the 7th floor - great view! Room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen E
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Karen E, Shell Island certainly survived! We were very fortunate that Hurricane Matthew did not hit us with too much at all. Matthew did bring in a lot of those very nice sea shells you found along the beach while you were here though, so thank Matthew for that! As for the water though, I do wish to apologize that...

Algonquin, Illinois
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

I had a quick getaway with my wife for just a couple of days. The only issue that we had in our room was the somewhat long in the tooth decorations and furnishings in the unit. It was pretty clean, just very 1980ish. Hot tub bubbler didn't work and they charged for morning coffee. The people were very nice except...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dublj110
Richard G, Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dublj110, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear our staff was so wonderful during your stay. My sincerest apologies about the hot tub, our maintenance team is currently investigating a replacement for or jets. I did want to let you know that we will be doing a lot of renovations during or off season and that will...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Over all we had a very pleasant stay. I was here for IMNC 70.3. The room had a very nice view of the ocean. The room was clean and we had everything we needed. I was not a huge fan of the bedroom being along the hallway wall... we were able to hear people outside one night. The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellybtriathlete
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Kellybtriathlete, Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the IRONMAN weekend and enjoyed a meal at our restaurant. We hope you'll come back and enjoy Shell Island again soon!

High Point, North Carolina
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

Excellent location and friendly staff. Room was clean and complete with stove top burners and good size fridge. Wonderful view of beach and quiet. Located near many tourist attractions and easy to access.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Terry P, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear that the accommodations were suitable for your recent stay. Please come back and see us again soon!

OBX
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Had a great two night visit recently to Shell Island Resort. This was my second time here and I was not disappointed. The room was clean, it was very quiet at the end of the road and the beach was not crowded at all. Just a great stay. Will stay again if I find myself needing a break at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffrey W
Rocky Mount
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed the location at the end of Wrightsville beach. Great for walking and beach-combing. Ocean front room with balcony and kitchen efficiency. Nice bathroom combo of full bath and 1/2 bath. Have been before and look forward to returning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tcampbell084
Sanford, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed October 17, 2016

I attended a wedding reception at the resort. Several people from the wedding stayed there. The resort was beautiful. Very accommodating. Staff extremely nice. Food was delicious. Some of the ones that stayed overnight were also pleased with their rooms and staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed October 9, 2016

You cannot beat the location and view of the rooms. The room are typical beach rooms, clean but still with sandy floors. The breakfast buffet was not very good maybe because of the off-season but we still had to pays high prices. Not a luxury hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank k4kim2016
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

k4kim2016, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast buffet was not up to standard for you, if you'd like to send us any comments we would be happy to send them on towards our kitchen staff. Please do not hesitate to contact us at frontdesk@shellisland.com and again thank...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

958 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (332)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
116 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
15.6 mi away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
387 reviews
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $133 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travelers.
19 questions
Ask a question
New York, NY
over a year ago
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
over a year ago
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 month ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms have an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MammaTraveler, 1 week ago | Read review
“We requested floor on higher level for the view. Staff accommodated our last minute request.”
  • Watched sunrise each morning from room
 of 5 bubbles GrandmaJudy1, 1 week ago | Read review
“2nd floor gives good eye level view of the beach; middle of the road room # gave us good access to parking and elevator”
 of 5 bubbles JaniceD9, 1 week ago | Read review
“Get on higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles vandenbergh2016, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Currently the parking garage is under construction so ask for a room near 801, 701 etc...”
 of 5 bubbles 576nathanp, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay