We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shell Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

923 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 921: English reviews
Halifax
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

While not modern or recently updated, this hotel is In a beautiful location and has a wonderful beach. We stayed in a suite that had a nice bedroom and living room/kitchen. The view from the balcony was stunning. There was only one small swimming pool, and in my opinion it was no where near big enough to accommodate all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
north carolina
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Shell Island never disappoints- the staff go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect, we've been coming here for over 20 years and it feels like a home away from home. Kevin and the front office staff are remarkably kind and thoughtful and we just can't say enough. They have everything you need for the perfect beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingtutNorthCarolina
Muskego, WI
Reviewed 1 week ago

We rushed to Wilmington to welcome our new grandson into the world and switched from another brand further in Wilmington after one night. We were pleased with the accommodations at Shell Island. I believe they are owner/condos so each room may be appointed differently. Ours was on the 3rd floor at the North/east end away from the parking ramp. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My parents and I came down to ring in the New Year. We had a wonderful trip and stay. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly from the moment we called to book our room. Tanner went above and beyond. Our suite was perfect. I can't wait to book another vacation at Shell Island Resort. Thank you for making our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abbyloch
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

loved the location and the service. it was perfect for our family and exactly as posted on the website. Our kids had carry-out from the restaurant 2x's. they loved it and it was good value. the beach was perfect, as was the pool and hot tub. thanks for a great stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicia l
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Let me start by saying this place has amazing views, decent pools & hot tub. Everything else pretty much sucks. This place is not much more than a low-class motel. The rooms are extremely small, dirty and worn out. This place could be truly amazing with a complete overhaul. Start by educating your front desk staff and then move on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CJS1958
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

CJS1958, Thank you for taking the time to write us your opinion. I am glad you enjoyed the views we had to offer as well as our pool areas. I am very sorry to hear that there were a few items that did not meet your expectations. I would however like the opportunity to hear more of your feedback. If...

Raleigh
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

The perfect get a way. This time of year is my time to go to the beach. Peaceful, serene and relaxed. Most of the tourist are gone and you get to chill with the locals. This place has a great staff and very accommodating. From the front desk, house keeping and restaurant/bar staff, they are truly friendly and courteous. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhodney H
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed December 6, 2016

Stayed here over the weekend for a weekend getaway. Was our first time staying here and it was great, price was great, the resort was nice and clean and decorated for Christmas, staff were nice and friendly. They have an indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub. Have a nice fitness room. Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. bar is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisc1978
Littleton, CO
Reviewed November 30, 2016

My sister, son, and I stayed here at Shell Island Resort. The location is absolutely great! The people that work at the resort are very friendly. The room was not great. There are 2 sink/toilet areas and one shower area that was good for all of us. The rest of the room was not that great. There is not enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MammaTraveler
Bailey
Reviewed November 27, 2016

After posting review read where other were not as satisfied. Did not understand and question if they were actual guests. Hot tub worked entire time we were there Nov 23 to Nov 26. families seemed to really enjoy this time with their children. Maid staff excellent, each call promptly met by staff. Breakfast was a 10 and omelet bar chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaJudy1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

958 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (333)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
117 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
15.6 mi away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
16.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 19 in Carolina Beach
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $132 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travelers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“all of the rooms have an ocean view and well appointed kitchens !”
 of 5 bubbles kingtutNorthCarolina, 4 days ago | Read review
“Maybe higher than 2nd floor for better views”
 of 5 bubbles WI_Muskego, 1 week ago | Read review
“book elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles CJS1958, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms have an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MammaTraveler, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“We requested floor on higher level for the view. Staff accommodated our last minute request.”
  • Watched sunrise each morning from room
 of 5 bubbles GrandmaJudy1, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay