We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
640 W 4th St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-2730
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/01/22
Courtyard
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$149
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (89)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 07/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown
Updated 07/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#29 of 42 in Winston Salem
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
3.0
Service
2.3
Value
1.0
The Courtyard Marriott Winston-Salem Downtown features Winston-Salem’s first rooftop bar, Top of 4th. Unwind & connect at the hotel's unique outdoor patio space with firepit, or try out The Bistro, open for breakfast, dinner & cocktails. The Bistro also houses an onsite Starbucks, open 24-hours per day. The property has over 1800 square feet of indoor & outdoor meeting space for guests up to 150.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid private parking on-site
Free wifi in the business center
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
16Reviews2Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
A C wrote a review Jun 4
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Terrible experience at this hotel. BELIEVE the bad reviews on this place! Marriott should be ashamed. Upon checking in, I was accosted on the elevator by individuals trying to board the elevator with tons of luggage but no room key. They pushed me into the elevator with a giant luggage cart full of luggage and I could not get out of the elevator. When I told them they needed a room key, they said they did not have one and stared at me. It was extremely uncomfortable. Once the finally got off the elevator I immediately went to my room and called guest services. I have no idea if anything was done about this, no one followed up with me. When I went to take a shower that evening, I discovered WHILE SHOWING that the shower did not drain properly. When I called downstairs, they sent someone up to fix the drain. The man that arrived stepped on the shower mat I had placed on the ground with his shoes and did not offer to replace it. He then stepped into the shower and poured a ton of bleach down the drain. He did not wash the drain or the shower down after doing this and the room was left reeking of bleach for hours. We ended up leaving the room. Later, upon arriving back to the hotel, the fifth floor hallway reeked of burning marijuana, and had permeated the room when we got inside. Before crawling into bed, we noticed the bed sheets had blood stains on them, and the wall next to the bed looked like a soda or dark drink had been thrown on it. It hadn't even been washed off! This was one of the worst experiences I have had at a hotel. Upon checking out, the clerk didn't ask how my stay was at all. BTW-we we’re in town for 24 hours for a family funeral, this hotel made the trip worse! Upon pointing out that we were overcharged $40.00 for valet service that was not used, she informed me there was nothing she could do about it because my card had already been charged! I did not authorize a valet charge on my card, and I have yet to be refunded. I intend on actively dissuading anyone I know from staying at this hotel in the future. The best part-when I left a review on the hotel’s website, someone from the hotel contacted me essentially blaming me for the experience. Just don’t stay here. There are a million better places in Winston to choose for a similar price!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Williams, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Hi acX3709NX, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and provide feedback to our team. We are striving to provide world-class service and will use your notes as we make improvements. I apologize for the events of your stay, especially the cleanliness concerns. Our housekeeping team has been informed and special focus will be implemented based on your comments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again to see our improvements.
Read more
hhmAtlanta wrote a review May 2022
Atlanta, Georgia24 contributions54 helpful votes
The absolute worst customer service. Unprofessional staff, would not answer the phone during my entire stay. Soap and shampoo containers were empty, toilet paper ran out and no way to communicate with them. Every time I went to the front desk there were lines of customers with frowns in their faces. Several people milling around in the office but not professionally dressed so I didn’t know if they were family of an employee or what. I would not recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from James Williams, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear hhmAtlanta, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and provide feedback. I am disappointed to read of your experience and apologize that you did not receive the level of service that we expect. Please know that we are taking your comments very seriously as we work to improve, including reorganizing our staff to ensure we are exceeding standards. I apologize again and hope you'll give us another try in the future as I'm sure you'll notice improvements.
Read more
Chocolvr wrote a review May 2022
Townville, Pennsylvania59 contributions20 helpful votes
All usual amenities you would expect from a Marriott, good service, and exceptional location for walking to arts district! Impressive murals and some fun shopping. Don't miss Mast General Store! Also easy walking distance to King's Crab & Oyster Bar for fantastic local seafood! Great location for walkers!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from James Williams, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Chocolvr - Thank you for staying with us! Glad you had a great experience, and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Read more
Terry wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We paid a lot of points for two nights here. Very sad experience. No toiletries, room is dusty, and have called repeatedly for the previously mentioned toiletries and water to be supplied. Eventually got what we needed, well almost (The wife and I have to split one small bottle of water). This is what a Marriott Rewards Gold Member gets. Hate to see what treatment a non rewards member receives.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Williams, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
TheBrotherTerrance, Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that we were not able to deliver world-class service and cleanliness while you were visiting. We are taking your comments very seriously and making changes to ensure future guests have a better experience. We'd love to have you come back to give us another try when you are back in the area. Thank you again for your comments.
Read more
FamilyGuy016 wrote a review Apr 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina6 contributions7 helpful votes
I have a child who is a student at Wake Forest. I made a confirmed reservation in advance of my travel to Winston Salem. On arrival, I was informed that I did in fact have a confirmed reservation but that the hotel was overbooked. I was left in Winston-Salem at near midnight with no room and no other hotels with availability. I actually slept in my son's dorm room. I have complained to Marriott about this location and sought to speak to "Arnika" the manager to no avail. My advice - just stay away. Thiis location is a disaster.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Williams, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
FamilyGuy016 - Thank you for your review. I apologize for the delay in this response. We've undergone management changes and are under new leadership. I sincerely apologize you had the experience that you did, and I am so sorry you had to sleep in your son's dorm. We expect more from our team and are working diligently to ensure we provide a better experience. Let me know when you come back to visit your son and we'll take good care of you!
Read more
Southern Traveler wrote a review Apr 2022
Hickory, North Carolina437 contributions30 helpful votes
We had booked three rooms for a mother/daughter weekend! We had done a check in on the Marriott app earlier in the day. When it looked like we would be arriving later than what we had said in the check in, I tried calling the hotel for over two hours before someone finally answered. I explained that we would be arriving later, closer to 11pm and wanted to make sure someone would be at the front desk to check us in. I was told that the front desk is open 24 hours and I asked if they could please notate our room(s) that we would be arriving later. The lady told me no problem and she would see us soon. We arrived and parked in the parking desk next to the hotel, grabbed all of luggage and went to check in. We were greeted with a large number of people in the lobby inquiring about when rooms would be ready. Everyone seemed really upset - apparently they all had reservations but were not allowed into their rooms because NONE of the rooms were cleaned. When it was finally my turn at the desk, I told them my name and asked if our rooms were ready - the lady said “No, we literally have no clean rooms right now and we are over sold!” Their was another lady at the desk that must have been having a bad day because she responded with “this is what happens when y’all just walk up and wanting a room!” This is TOTALLY unacceptable everyone in that lobby had a reservation, no one was just walking in trying to get a room. As a Platinum Member with Marriott, I expect better from this brand! We ended up driving to Greensboro and staying there. The hotel was not even trying to located another property for all the guest that they had no rooms for.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: I personally would avoid this hotel - they truly are having issues.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from James Williams, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Natashabolden- I'm very disappointed to read the review of your recent stay. Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I apologize for the poor communication and misinformation in addition to the unconcerned service you received. Our new leadership is working to improve all of our guests' experiences, and I hope you are willing to come back and give us a try when you are back in town. Thank you again for your feedback!
Read more
California wrote a review Apr 2022
20 contributions43 helpful votes
GOOD LUCK WITH THIS PLACE BECAUSE THEY ARE THE WORST!! We had a reservation and when we wanted a room after check-in time they just kept telling us (about 100 times) that they were full the night before and there were no rooms available. And no one working there could even give us approx time of when our room could even possibly be ready. Everyone was just so weird and rude and I can't believe it's an open hotel for business because they literally (I mean, literally) have no clue what they are doing. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and never in my life encountered anything like this. We had to leave and get another room in another city because everything was so terrible. And I know someone from the hotel is going to come here and say "we're so sorry blah blah blah" but keep it, truly! Y'all know the place is trash! Good riddance!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Arnika Addison, Owner at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown
Responded Apr 15, 2022
Dear middlecyclone, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at Courtyard Winston-Salem Downtown. Providing the highest level of service is our top priority and we fell short of that goal. I'm sorry you feel the employees were rude and untrained because that is certainly not the case or the image we want to display. We have a beautiful new property that we take pride in and it is well maintained. It’s disappointing to hear it referred to as trash, however we respect your opinion. I am happy to discuss this further and come to a resolve. Please reach out to the hotel at your convenience. Thank you, Management
Read more
Bernardino wrote a review Mar 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania1 contribution3 helpful votes
When I walked into my room, it had an extraordinarily strong scent of some type of cleaning or deodorizing product. It was overwhelming, but I was only in there for a few minutes before heading back out again, so I didn't think too much of it. When I returned, it became clear that there was an underlying odor of cigarettes, and whatever product the hotel used earlier was meant to mask that. I unfortunately am very sensitive to cigarette smoke. I can't believe in 2022 people are still smoking inside hotel rooms and that hotels aren't managing this problem to prevent it in the first place or properly deodorize it once it has occurred instead of just trying to mask it with another scent. I had a very poor night of sleep as I got congested and irritated eyes from the smell, and eventually developed a migraine headache that made the next day of business very difficult for me. Of course all of my clothes and my coat reek of cigarettes now.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Arnika Addison, Owner at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown
Responded Mar 7, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide the best customer service experience to our guest even in these unpresented times. As you may beware, Marriott is a smoke free environment and we do uphold the guest to those standards to the best of our ability. It is ever our intention to mask a room that has been smoked in but instead to take the proper protocol to clean, disinfect and sanitize it appropriately before re-selling. If ever our accommodations are not to your liking, we are happy to move your room. We sincerely apologize that this was your experience.
Read more
nparry wrote a review Nov 2021
St. Augustine, Florida69 contributions56 helpful votes
All the staff were fantastic. But a special shoutout to CHEF LAURA for the most delicious hot fresh breakfast egg sandwiches. Laura went above and beyond to provide a great food and enabled us to get out early to a college tour - with yummy food to go. Laura is an awesome example of high quality staffing - we are so greatful to her!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
L14M wrote a review Jun 2021
Morristown, New Jersey42 contributions12 helpful votes
Nice hotel with average service but they do not provide housekeeping services unless you stay for a week. They will provide towels as requested. Not a big deal but they should at least tell you when you book your stay or check in!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaWinston Salem
NUMBER OF ROOMS
126
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown?
Nearby attractions include a/perture cinema (0.2 miles), Corks Caps and Taps (0.04 miles), and Small Batch Brewery (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Camino Bakery, Jeffrey-Adams-on-Fourth, and Foothills Brewpub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Courtyard Marriott Winston-salem Downtown?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Salem Museums & Gardens (1.1 miles), Bethabara Park (4.8 miles), and Wait Chapel (2.9 miles).