We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Winston Salem Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 218: English reviews
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I come to Winston-Salem a lot and have stayed in several different hotels. This is absolutely the best value. My room was super clean and comfortable, and there is a good complimentary breakfast that includes hot items like eggs, waffles, etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is right down the street from Wake Forest University, so if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan V
Fitzroy G, General Manager at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Susan V Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent visit to The Winston Salem area, we are delighted that you enjoy your stay and we could meet your needs. As we discussed brifely we will be undergoing renovations with all rooms and public space and we look forward to your continual support F.Grizzle General Manager More 

Rural Hall NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here before but am starting to see some changes for the better. At least i can see the hotel from the road now that the bushes have been cut. The front desk gentleman states the hotel is under new ownership and a renovation is forthcoming. I cant wait to visit Wake Forest Again and stay there in the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diquelo
Fitzroy G, General Manager at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Diquelo We are very excited at what is going on at Winston Salem Hotel and more to what is coming. I am apart of a management team that is very passionate about our hotels and we have very high standards that we are implementing not only to our staff but for all guest to come and make our hotel... More 

Zebulon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arrival we were greeted by the most courteous, resourceful, and quick lady. Since we had a party of six, her first question was do we want adjoining rooms. She gave excellent recommendations on restaurants and travel information. Our rooms were very clean as were the lobby and hallways. We had all the amenities from towels, lotions, shampoo and conditioners... More 

Helpful?
Thank dswarren1012
Fitzroy G, General Manager at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dswarren1012 Thank you so much for taking time to write about your previous experience with The Winston Salem Hotel, my staff and I take great pride in our hotel and we appreciate you taking time to notice our hard work. An intensive renovation of the entire complex will be starting soon and we hope that you will join us... More 

Peru, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff was very nice and the room floor was clean such is a biggie for me would go there again. Now I have to add 200 chararers gjfhchfgfhfhchfgf fvcfcfvdvxvcvcvcccvccvxc CV dxxccxxc cc hghhhhhh DJ tr ft didn't fcghcfvgvvgcvcvccvvvvvxcvvg gcc VC cc cc CCC gchhhfhh

Helpful?
Thank raven614
Fitzroy G, General Manager at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Raven 614 Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent visit to the Winston Salem area, for a new management team that that just took over this historical hotel we have so many great things planned for this hotel. The renovations has you might have been informed are very close to starting and we hope that... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had made a long drive from New Jersey, I arrived early in the morning, the staff were very accommodating, the room w/spa tub was very spacious, very nice. I enjoyed the pool, and the free breakfast was definitely the icing on the cake, I will return and would definitely recommend this establishment. Kudos to an awesome management team☺

Helpful?
Thank David H
Fitzroy G, General Manager at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you so much for completing the survey has you promise, it was really a pleasure meeting you and your beautiful wife. We really hope you will return soon and enjoy our hotel as we go through renovations to improve on the existing product. Its also good to see you made it hope very safe! Again I want... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Paid for a 3 adult room, and they gave us a king sized bed. When we inquired, they said they'd "try to find a roll away" rather than giving us the 2 bed room we paid for. They brought up an uncomfortable roll away with one dirty sheet and one thin blanket that had black specks in it. Mold on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank holm3588
Fitzroy G, General Manager at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Holm3588 First let me apologies on behalf of my self and hard working staff, our goal is always to ensure that of our guest has a memorable stay and cant wait to return for their next stay. We would really like a second opportunity to prove to you that we are among Winston Salem top hotels. Please give me... More 

Travelers are raving about these Winston Salem hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

The staff, Karen, Delacie and Quinton front desk clerk were wonderful and helpful. They all show patient loving kindness concern for people, There job are very timely they work very hard in helping visitor. I been staying at this hotel since 2007 once a year to present with different staff many problems but it all were taken care. I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank terric0ggins
Fitzroy G, General Manager at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear terric0ggins It was really a pleasure meeting you and we are very happy that we were able to make your stay very accommodating, I really want to thank you for taking time to post your positive experience and and we are all excited about all the upgrades that are coming to our hotel. I look forward to your return... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

We stayed overnight recently and couldn't wait to leave. It sounded like they were at maximum occupancy and we were one of the last rooms to book. The amenities were lacking such as, no internet access and ice machine out of order. I called the attendant and he said to reboot my computer and the wifi would connect. It didn't.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne d
Fitzroy G, General Manager at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne D I want to apologies on behalf of myself and my team for not exceeding your expectations on your recent stay, we are a new management team that are aware of the issues that you mention and we just took over less than a month a go and we are working very diligently to get these issues resolved... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

My new job requires a lot of traveling so I had to go to NC this past week. Not only were the staff courteous and friendly the manager went above and beyond to ensure I had information about the area as I pointed out I had never been to NC. My room although dated was very clean and everything worked... More 

Helpful?
Thank fowlerkalia
Fitzroy G, General Manager at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear fowlerkalia Thanks for taking the time from your busy work schedule to post your recent experience why you were in the Winston Salem area on business, as a new management team your review has shown us that we are on the correct path and we have so much more exciting and new things to offer on your next visit.... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

I was very disappointed in my stay here. The website doesn't show what you actually are staying in; I stayed here in the beginning of May & had to have my room changed 3 times. The staff weren't courteous, the rooms were outdated, bathroom was not clean, TV only had certain channels that would work. If I had an option... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sweetcheekz30
JonathanWSH, Manager at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am so sorry about the experience you had at the hotel. I believe you must have stayed at the hotel before it was bought by the New Management Team. We understand the experience you had and since we purchased the hotel in late May have been starting the process of cleaning things up and getting everything in working order.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#10 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#26 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Winston Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax and leave the details to us at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, minutes from Interstate 40 and walking distance from Wake Forest University, the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum Complex, the Dixie Classic Fairgrounds, Ernie Shore Field, shopping and dining. Our lovely boutique-style Inn is pet-friendly and close to cultural attractions such as the Reynolda House Museum of American Art, as well as hiking, fishing and local wineries. The Winston Salem Hotel & Spa features a refreshing day spa and onsite restaurant and lounge as well as free Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel and free continental breakfast. Our spacious guest rooms include Microwave, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel TV, and free high-speed Wi-Fi. Soak up the sun in the outdoor pool and work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winston Salem Hotel & Spa

Address: 3050 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4230 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range: $82 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winston Salem Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Winston Salem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Plaza Hotel Winston Salem
Sundance Plaza Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winston Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay