We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Save
Share
420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (1)

About

#12 of 42 hotels in Winston Salem
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
486Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 239
  • 146
  • 50
  • 28
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jeff S wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions
Our family was visiting Winston Salem for a wedding. We went to check in the room, and they said they are closed to 2021! Lady at front desk did not care, that nobody notified us, and said I couldn’t talk to anyone else. They decided to close till 2021 with an agreement with the schools, but did not tell the guest that paid in full and had reservations. Do not book!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Dear Guest: It appears there must have been some type of miscommunication here with your incident. Please contact us directly so we can resolve your concerns. You can find our contact details on our website. We look forward to hearing from you so we can discuss your concerns in detail and make things right. Sincerely, GM The Hawthorne
Read more
BeachRydr wrote a review Aug 2020
Virginia Beach, VA18 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel for a few days in early August. Many of the reviews of this hotel mention how dated the place is and that is certainly true. Cleaning was average in the room. Not bad but not particularly good either. Bathroom was well cleaned however. I wiped down the baseboards, surfaces, and walls myself for a noticeably fresher appearance. The Covid 19 bag breakfast given out in place of the hot breakfast was disappointing. A bottle of water and a few packaged snacks. Pool area was nice but no towels available at the time. Be sure to bring your own. Good location within walking distance of downtown. Not a bad hotel for the price but you quickly see why the room rates are on the lower side. I notice the management responds to these reviews and I like that. The only downer I may have on the management response is that most of the flaws in the property are readily apparent and should not take complaints from the guests to address. I'm no expert on hotel construction but it appears to me this hotel could be renovated into something very nice with some investment. The location is good for downtown access. This hotel is about as perfect an example there is for you pay for what you get. Not bad but.......
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Aug 10, 2020
BeachRydr: Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations. But I am glad that overall your stay at the Hawthorne Inn was good. It makes me happy to see that you liked our convenient location in Winston Salem. I am sorry that you found breakfast to be disappointing. We have temporarily stopped certain services like providing hot breakfast daily because of the Coronavirus. Your detailed feedback is certainly appreciated and we will use it to help us improve. I do hope you choose us again the next time you are in Winston Salem. Take care! If you do decide to give us another chance, you can book directly from the official website HawthorneInn.Com where you will get excellent deals and discounts! Kind Regards, The Hawthorne Inn Management
Read more
glenna m wrote a review Jan 2020
Mooresville, North Carolina21 contributions3 helpful votes
We have stayed here several times for my sons surgeries. Last month, Jonathan was there when we arrived and really hit it off with my son ( yes, Jonathan he does look like McCauley Calvin from Home Alone, hahaha!) Jonathan knew he was nervous about his upcoming surgery, engaging him in conversation that took his mind off his worries. The rooms are bright, clean, and comfortable, the restaurant had a wonderful selection, the breakfast buffet was also appreciated. The bartender was outstanding, as well. So when I mentioned to my son that we’re going back for a surgery follow up, he asked if we could come back to stay, and visit the employees. That says a lot! We will see you all again tomorrow afternoon, thanks so much for helping my son have a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Glenna: Awesome Review! It’s a pleasure to know that your son enjoyed his stay with us. Thanks for all the positive comments regarding our hotel and the amenities that we offer. We feel very lucky to have such an amazing hospitality team. They are professional, compassionate, and genuinely love what they do. I hope your next visit is just around the corner so that we can get an opportunity to welcome you again. When you’re ready for the next visit, be sure to reserve your stay directly on our official website HawthorneInn.com where you will get excellent deals and discounts! Once again thanks for choosing to stay with us. Do recommend us to your friends and family! Thank you for choosing us, Kind Regards, The Hawthorne Inn Management
Read more
shrink8 wrote a review Jan 2020
Greenville, South Carolina124 contributions38 helpful votes
We were most recently here Dec 26 thru Jan 2. Every staff member encountered were helpful and generous. Today MIA who was busy opening the bar stopped what she was doing to assist me... not “give me a moment” NO she set about going into storage area to secure me Tonic Water which Alleviates painful muscle cramps and got me orange juice! I recently was blessed by the best Christmas present ever a KIDNEY TRANSPLANT!!! So listen if someone complains about parking and steps go to one of the entrances that don’t involve steps there is generous handicap parking. This facility is accustom to guests here for theirs or family ,friends health issues. I stayed at another facility BUT learned better and did better by being a guest at Hawthorne. They also have Wake Forest medical rates lower! Beds ,linens , flat screen tv, table w/ chairs, an easy chair also, a microwave and refrigerator an sparkling clean bathroom with thick towels changed daily if you wish! Oh forgot complimentary breakfast offering eggs bacon, sausage , grits, oatmeal and biscuits, variety toasts and bagels and pastries, and FRESH FRUIT MIX, AS WELL AS apples, bananas,and whole fresh oranges, variety teas juices and coffee COMPLIMENTARY"...... I have stayed across our great country, Europe, Russia, the islands many hotels some “grand” hotels .... blah blah blah Never treated better than at The Hawthorne in Winston-Salem. This is my home away from home ! Look there is road construction no noise so you made a couple turns to get here WORTH it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from HawthorneInnWS, Front Office Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Hello Shrink8, Thank You for your review; we are humbled by it!! We are pleased to see that Mia went out her of way to accommodate you and are thrilled to hear that you had a successful kidney transplant too!! We are happy to hear that the hotel was clean, the breakfast was great, and the staff friendliness was above par. We look forward to hosting you again soon in the near future!! Thank You, Jonathan B.
Read more
Sally wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
It was difficult to enter the building from the parking lot- the entrance was in the basement. After taking the elevator to the main floor, there were steps to carry luggage up to check in and down to go to the elevator (again) to go to my room. Not convenient. Don't eat in the Grill!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from HawthorneInnWS, Front Office Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Hello Gooten, Thank You for your review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience with us. We would like to speak with you more about these issues and make it right. We look forward to speaking with you soon. Thank You, Jonathan B.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hawthorne hotel winston salem
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaWinston Salem
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Which popular attractions are close to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Nearby attractions include Salem God's Acre Cemetery (0.4 miles), Old Salem Museums & Gardens (0.7 miles), and Truist Stadium (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Di Lisio's Italian Restaurant, Sweet Potatoes, and Winkler Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Salem Museums & Gardens (0.7 miles), Wait Chapel (3.3 miles), and The Talk Of Winston (0.4 miles).
Is Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.