We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Save
Share
420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$89
View deal
Hotels.com
$89
View deal
FindHotel
$69
View deal
Travelocity$89
Priceline$89
Trip.com$75
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (32)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (1)

About

#12 of 42 hotels in Winston Salem
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.4
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
502Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 243
  • 151
  • 53
  • 29
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marie M wrote a review Aug 1
7 contributions
We stayed for just 1 night on our way to and from other destinations, but this was a great hotel! The pool is huge by hotel standards, and kept very clean. The elevator was very fast and there were easily-accessible carts to help transport our luggage. The room was very clean, and the curtains blocked nearly all the light so my kids slept well. I heard footsteps in the hallway a few times but it was otherwise very quiet. Breakfeast was basic with prepackaged muffins, bagels, and fruit. Great value!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: My room faced the pool and was very quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Guest, We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests about their stays with us, and we are delighted with your POSITIVE score rating. In addition, we are happy you enjoyed and had fun utilizing our on-site amenities, such as the pool. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique and comfortable experience for all our guests, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.  We look forward to hosting you again soon for another enriching stay on your next trip to Winston-Salem. Best Regards, Hawthorne Inn Management P.S. For fantastic offers and the best prices on our accommodations, book directly on: hawthorneinn.com.
Read more
Molly D wrote a review Jul 2022
Springfield, Ohio4 contributions
After a horrid experience with the first hotel we had booked, we chose this hotel on a whim. I am so glad we did! In the 15 minutes it took me to book the room and for us to arrive at the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised to find our room was already prepared/ready when we arrived! The woman who checked me in was so friendly and empathetic when I told her how we had wound up there. Our room was in the back area of the hotel which is one of the reasons I gave this only four stars- even wearing earplugs I could hear the motorcycles roaring by in our room. The walls were thin and there were some minor cosmetic flaws. Breakfast wasn’t anything fancy, but our son was thrilled with a bagel and fruit! Also only 1/2 cards were activated, but not a huge issue. Everything else was amazing! There were luggage carts right at the door once you walked in by the elevator. We didn’t know this, but utilized them this morning. The room featured two queen sized beds, plenty of places to plug in devices to charge, had quick Wi-Fi, and fluffy pillows. There was a nice sized mini fridge and even a Keurig style coffee maker (we don’t drink coffee, but it was a nice modern touch!) Shower pressure was AMAZING! Water was plenty warm and the shower had shampoo and Bodywash pumps inside! We did have to go down to the front desk for extra pillows/towels, but did not mind this. I wish we would have had time to check out the amazing pool! Checkout went smoothly and the morning front desk lady was very friendly and pleasant. We will most definitely be returning next time we’re on vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Guest, Thank you for giving us a valuable rating for your stay with us in Winston-Salem. We are happy you enjoyed and had fun utilizing our on-site amenities, such as the pool. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique and comfortable experience for all our guests, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We always want our guests to have a memorable stay with us, so we hope to see you again soon and earn a perfect score. Warm Regards, Hawthorne Inn Management P.S. Remember to book directly on hawthorneinn.com to get the LOWEST PRICES and save!
Read more
Luke wrote a review Jul 2022
Bournemouth, United Kingdom131 contributions13 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. Cheap and cheerful. Staff were all nice and helpful. Rooms were huge with a big bed. Hotel is little outdated but you get what you pay for. The only slight let down for me was the breakfast which wasn't that nice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Hello Lukew, Thank You very much for giving your stay at The Hawthorne Inn & Conference Center a POSITIVE SCORE rating. I do apologize for not meeting your breakfast expectations. We are working hard to improve our breakfast menu options. Our entire staff works hard to deliver clean rooms, offer excellent customer service, and ensure a fantastic stay at The Hawthorne Inn & Conference Center.  I hope you choose us again on your next vacation to Winston-Salem. Best Regards, Hawthorne Inn Management P.S. Be sure to book directly at hawthorneinn.com to find the lowest available rates for our property.
Read more
Lisa F wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I needed a place close to the hospital and my daughters college for her surgery. Hawthorne was the closest to both, almost within walking distance to both. I reserved our room for our stay in advance, in which I received an early bird discount. We also received another discount since we were there for the main purpose of the hospital. Due to other circumstances, the day before we were to check in, I needed to check in a day early. They were very understanding and accommodating and still gave me the same rate. The day of her surgery, we realized that our room was not going to be as accessible as we thought, so we needed to change rooms. Again, Hawthorne was very understanding and accommodating and moved us into a more comfortable room for her with no questions asked. On day of check out, we needed a late check out due to having to wait on our transportation, and again, very understanding and accommodating, no questions asked. The entire staff from Check In all the way to Maintenance were AMAZING! They went above and beyond to meet our needs, help us with my daughter and her wheelchair, and made us feel so welcome. The room was spacious, extremely clean (the entire facility was immaculate), and the beds were very comfortable. The pool area was beautiful, although closed for the season. Due to Covid, they did not have the Continental Breakfast as listed on their website, but did have a "Grab and Go" bag with coffee and afternoon tea in the lobby area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Feb 17, 2022
Dear Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to leave a rating. We hope your daughter's surgery went well and she has recovered fully. We are always glad to help accommodate our guests in any way, thank you so much for appreciating our efforts. We are so happy that you had a wonderful time during your stay. Our staff was pleased to host you and fulfill your needs. Best Regards, Hawthorne Inn Management P.S. If you ever need to stay with us again remember to book directly on hawthorneinn.com to get the best deals online.
Read more
Danielle P wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Mrs. Bridgette and Mrs. Julia were very sweet and helpful in all of my calls and questions. I really liked the room. It felt like an upgraded room for a crazy reasonable price. It had a very large excecuative desk, a comfy chair, and a kitchen table. It was clean with a comfortable bed and pillows.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Jan 19, 2022
Dear Danielle, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for the POSITIVE SCORE. We are so glad you enjoyed our nice rooms and friendly service. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are always happy to provide the best service possible to our guests. We hope you choose us again for your next trip to Winston-Salem. Do recommend us to others! Thank you and Regards, The Hawthorne Inn Management P.S. Remember to book directly on hawthorneinn.com to get the best deals online.
Read more
Murdock32 wrote a review Jan 2022
Conway, South Carolina35 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed here with my mother-in-law who is in a clinical trial at the hospital. This place scared us. When checking in, although the receptionist was very nice, she was slow and explained nothing. I had to ask several routine questions. We parked in the back because the sign said not to unload in the front. The back parking lot was very dark. Once inside, the back entrance was odd and dirty. The elevator was very small and rickety. Decor on this hallway was 70s. The bathroom in the room needs updating and the hair dryer did not work. I went downstairs and the front desk gave me a new one to use. I didn’t want to chance waiting for someone to bring it as we were short on time. The gentleman I dealt with was very nice and helped me right a way. I did notice that there are areas of the hotel that seem much nicer than where we were placed. The people were nice but I won’t choose to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Jan 18, 2022
Hello Murdock, We are happy that you noticed the friendliness of our front desk and will make sure they get the recognition that you have given. We hope you will give us another try in the future and thank you for staying with us. Regards, The Hawthorne Inn Management
Read more
Pinballnut wrote a review Oct 2021
Near Phila103 contributions51 helpful votes
I like this place. The prices are lower, the rooms are clean with a fridge. Unfortunately, they have closed off access to their balconies, which is standard in hotels these days. WiFi is fast and strong. It is a 15 minute nice walk to downtown and the restaurants. I also like their substantial free breakfast. But during this last visit, it was closed because they cannot hire anyone to staff it. The 'bag' breakfast was a joke of a water bottle and energy bars. In the meantime, it would not be hard to stock a fridge with juices, milk and cereal and make coffee, but I realize that in these times, being short-staffed is an issue. But they should remove 'free breakfast' from their website and put a note on the door to the dining room so people like me don't show up for breakfast in the morning and become disappointed. I will likely return, but next time plan in advance for someplace to eat in the morning, or bring my own.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Oct 27, 2021
Dear Guest, First, we would like to thank you for the precious feedback on your stay with us at Hawthorne Inn. Thank you for acknowledging our in-room amenities, convenient location, and clean surroundings. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the unavailability of breakfast. We will endeavor all your comments and make sure to update our website. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better stay in the future. Thank you for choosing us to stay! Sincerely, The Hawthorne Inn Management P.S. Next time, book directly on hawthorneinn.com/ to get the LOWEST PRICES!
Read more
Debra D wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We are sitting here waiting in this freezing room and no one has come up to fix the heat yet. Can't take a shower because it's so cold in here. This is awful. They offered extra blankets but that doesn't help while taking a shower.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Oct 19, 2021
Dear Guest, We apologize you were having challenges with the heat in your room. We have called a commercial company to come out and work with our maintenance department to investigate possible causes. We are so sorry for your inconvenience. Regards, Hawthorne Inn Management
Read more
Diana J wrote a review Sep 2021
Moorestown, New Jersey35 contributions6 helpful votes
I would like to start with the positive. The location is convenient, if you have nearby locations to visit. Many restaurants are within walking distance. The staff were kind and helpful , most of the time. Thats where the postivity stops. This place was terrible. There is NO BREAKFAST. Due to "Covid" They only serve paper bag breakfasts which included a Fruit By the Foot roll and some cereal bars. Very disappointing. The hotel itself is in a terrible location when trying to enter, you need to be very careful with the sharp turn off a ramp. The hotel interior is very run down and old. The entire hotel smells musty. Including the rooms. The windows did NOT open in the room and there was such an awful odor in the room, it made me quite ill. I felt much better when I was outdoors. I ended up getting VERY sick while here. NOt sure if it was the hotel, or other circumstances, but I feel the mold in the bathroom did not help..... There were stains on the carpets, windows did not open. THe smell was awful (Combination of mold, cigarette smoke? Something else) Although it states the rooms are non smoking Our room did not have a trashcan. When I asked for one, I was told that they would TRY To find me one.......which they never did Also, the cleaning services only happen before 9 am, so if you are in your room after that, do not expect your room to get cleaned. Due to covid.....?? I would suggest staying elsewhere. I am not sure where all these 4 star reviews come from....
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Sep 30, 2021
Dear Guest, We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you faced while staying at Hawthorne Inn. This is not the service we are known to deliver. We believe in providing our guests with a warm, comfortable stay; we apologize for all the trouble and will surely look into all of your comments. We have noted all of these maintenance issues and your recommendations and will take the appropriate measures to improve our product and service. However, we are glad that you found our hotel location convenient. Once again, we apologize for not delivering the hospitality we are known for. Take care and Regards, The Hawthorne Inn Management
Read more
Andrew C wrote a review Aug 2021
New Bern, North Carolina161 contributions29 helpful votes
Probably will not stay here again. While the hotel is pet friendly they do charge extra ($50/night). Had that been explained to me when booked I wouldve gone someplace nicer. Hotel has seen better days and what ince was is no more. The building seems to be a converted hospital or something similar. Rooms aren't special, the bathtub drain was extremely slow. Was not given the room promised. Serms to have people living there in residence, not a fan of that at all. Beds were ok, slept well. Restaurant not open so don't believe the breakfast included deal. Location is very good, water pressure in the shower is very good. Overall not a good value when compared to Hilton properties.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Check in early if possible if you don't want them putting you just wherever. Don't expect the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Responded Aug 18, 2021
Dear Andrew, Thank you for leaving us the honest detailed feedback of your stay. We are very sorry to learn about your experience. This is not what we are known for, and we apologize for not delivering the hospitality as per your expectations. With regards to the key cards, we wish you informed our experienced staff; they would have immediately assist you. Furthermore, we apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the unavailability of breakfast due to the ongoing pandemic. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay, and we hope you give us another chance to serve you and regain your trust. Thank You, The Hawthorne Inn Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hawthorne hotel winston salem
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaWinston Salem
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Which popular attractions are close to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Nearby attractions include Salem God's Acre Cemetery (0.4 miles), Old Salem Museums & Gardens (0.6 miles), and Truist Stadium (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Di Lisio's Italian Restaurant, Sweet Potatoes, and Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Salem Museums & Gardens (0.6 miles), Wait Chapel (3.4 miles), and The Talk Of Winston (0.4 miles).