We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V6965GZalicec
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

I loved my little room at Howard Johnson Express Inn. It has two queen sized beds, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, cute circle shaped mirrors, everything you need to be comfortable. The only draw back is it smells like this room was recently converted from a smoking room to a non-smoking room. I have horrible allergies to smoke so I've been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear Robin G, Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. I am so sorry that you smelled smoke in your room and I want to assure you that we do our best to ensure that smokers do not smoke in our non-smoking rooms; and when a situation like...

New York City, New York
Reviewed October 27, 2016

I was looking for a cheaper rate for my one night stay and I got my money's worth. Overwhelming musty smell and a night's sleep on top of the covers and one of my shirts covered the pillows.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bwm943
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed October 26, 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E9170MKrobinp
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Everything was wonderful except the breakfast! Good customer service.. The room was beautiful well put together... Can't wait to visit again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saramceachin
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with us. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Mebane, North Carolina
Reviewed October 4, 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip C
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Mebane, North Carolina
Reviewed September 25, 2016

My husband and I had been trying to get back to the beach since August! Finally made a quick one night 2-day trip to Kure Beach but stayed in Wilmington. Didn't want to spend much money since it was just one night. Big mistake! By far the worst place we have ever stayed at in Wilmington. The minute we opened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank memecoble
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear memecoble, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable,...

Concord
Reviewed September 21, 2016

The toilet was plugged when we got there. When we called the desk the clerk expected me to come get the plunger and fix it myself. I got very angry. She did find "someone". I think he didn't want to come down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington Hotel , your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. I do apologize for the problem our staff has caused you regarding with the toilet . We look forward for a general orientation soon so we can better our services to our customers. We also promise to resolve the...

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewed August 30, 2016

From the time I made my reservations until the time I checked in. The Hospitality was great. They even offered me a king size bed instead twin beds at no extra charge. I appreciate the quality service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z4103OCcathyd
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you again for your feedback! Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition. It means so much to us to hear of the success of our staff efforts to provide a comfortable and accommodating experience. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to...

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed August 30, 2016

For 100 bucks a night I felt that this hotel is in the Motel 6 category. The location had a few folks loitering around the premise which made me felt unsafe. The interior room looks like they were just remodel but done in a cheap and poor way..where I come from it's call "slap up job". If I paid below...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doann663
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced with our internet connection, We already informed the management about this already as we see this a serious matter. We promise to be more careful soon as we believe that our customer's convenience are at...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#32 of 45 in Wilmington
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#35 of 45 in Wilmington
127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
#41 of 45 in Wilmington
222 reviews
2.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#24 of 45 in Wilmington
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Address: 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403-1403
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Price Range: $50 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Wilmington
Wilmington Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms were street level.”
 of 5 bubbles memecoble, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are comfortable and you are able to park right in front of room.”
 of 5 bubbles jameseleeper, Apr 22, 2016 | Read review
“Go Somewhere Else!”
 of 5 bubbles 582chuckp, Jul 2, 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a room close to the lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles WeBJamman, May 26, 2015 | Read review
“Don't get one at all.”
 of 5 bubbles KatieS7877, May 11, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay