We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sunset Farm Cabins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Sunset Farm Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016

My husband and I chose the Opposum cabin after looking at a ton of rentals, inns and hotels. I met our needs for staying in the Fontana Lake, Bryson City, Great Smoky Mtn Natl Park area. The cabin was simple, clean and comfortable. The futon was a comfortable couch each night to relax and the queen bed was comfortable. To... More 

Helpful?
Thank FamilyRI
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

First and foremost, the property manager was very accommodating and pleasant during our booking and our request to change cabins. This review is intended as feedback to the property owner as well as non-biased representation to those considering a future stay. For the Potential Patron: I feel the photos on Sunset Farm Cabins do not fully embody the property in... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnnymoz2016
MichelleSFC, Manager at Sunset Farm Cabins, responded to this review

We see you stayed in the Bear cabin on a Friday night. I remember booking the stay last minute and we only had 2 bedroom cabins left. The Bear is a well appointed two bedroom cabin - the views from the front porch of are the wooded hillside and camp fire area we have on our 5.5 acre property. On... More 

Bellaire Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

If you are looking for a lush modern cabin this is not the place for you BUT if you like rustic cabin or camping this is great. Usually we pull our campers and spend a week friend/family camping but this year decided not to pull thru the mountains, Husband and I stayed in opossum. The cabin was just the right... More 

Helpful?
Thank cjpbellaireohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

Such a great find tucked away in the smokey mountains of the carolinas. The grounds were very well kept. Plenty of cut fire wood for your use to build a fire. There are two hot tubs shared amongst the cabins and one was always available. The bed was very comfortable!!!! It's quiet and nice to get away! Only 10 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greatdanemom90
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I spent several weeks researching cabins in the Bryson City/Whittier area, when we came upon Sunset Farms Cabins. We chose the Fox cabin. My wife handled the booking. While there were issues with this, it wasn't the fault of the owners. Having graduated school in this area and having family in this area, Internet is spotty at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We stayed in the Bear Cabin for spring break with our 9 and 15 year old. There was no sound but the silence of the middle of nowhere...which we loved! The cabin is spacious, and very clean. The deck is the perfect place for meals or just to relax. Perfect in the morning or evening! It is a very quiet... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Court k
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The cabin was small, homey, and clean. The view was beautiful. I didn't like the tip envelope for the housekeeper left on the table because the housekeeper was the owner. $130 per night is pushing it- I wouldn't pay a penny more! But overall good experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank GAfureys
Michelle K, Manager at Sunset Farm Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your review. We just wanted to let you know that the housekeeper is not the Owner. The business is actually run by an LLC and maintains 4 employees that are compensated hourly. 2 of these employees live on-site, Michelle and Steven. We also wanted to let other know the accommodations you received for $130/ weekend night: This was... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have been traveling many years both with my pet & with spouse or alone. This was probably THE worst experience of my life. I arrived after driving 8 hours & was ready for a quiet retreat. I had to leave at first light the next morning. The place was at the edge of a hill overlooking the highway &... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank OliviaJoyS
Michelle K, Manager at Sunset Farm Cabins, responded to this review

We can't begin to respond to this as it is completely inaccurate. This customer actually never spent the night and was asked to leave shortly after she arrived due to inappropriate behavior that was bothering other guests. She was never charged for any part of her stay by our establishment. We managed to re-rent the cabin and had no complaints... More 

Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
196 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We usually stay in hotels when traveling. I used to camp some but most of the family doesn't enjoy that so much so this time we decided to try a cabin. On relatively short notice, I was able to get the Raccoon cabin for the weekend. I thought there would be only 3-4 of us but less than a week... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nittanydave
Seven Mile Ford, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I Loved this place! We visited the area in the fall and loved it, We took the Great Smokey Mountain railroad trip which is just down the road a bit in Bryson city. We stayed in the "Raccoon" and loved it, The cabin was clean and nice! The owners are great and very helpful! I Loved Loved Loved the Outdoor... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mechele P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
4.8 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
4.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
4.4 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#9 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Six rental cabins snuggled in the hills of Western, NC. We have two one-bedroom cabins and four two-bedroom cabins with both King and Queen size accommodations. We have two hot tubs on property, a fire pit (firewood provided), and a common green with lawn games and ample seating. Each cabin has a covered picnic table and charcoal grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Farm Cabins

Address: 68 Vacation Dr, Whittier, NC 28789-6892
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Price Range: $97 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Farm Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Farm Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay