We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nation's Inn

107 Beaver Creek School Rd, West Jefferson, NC 28694
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nation\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

Most friendly staff and very clean rooms. Highly recommended. They offer a great breakfast as well. Room have a awesome view of the mountains as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The location is very close to many restaurants grocery stores and gas stations.

Helpful?
Thank Shayne W
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

The worst ever. NO wi fi even after I asked the attendant. The coffee pot was dirty as was the bathtub. Breakfast was ok. No microwave but they don't advertise it. We. Stayed because they are pet friendly. The fee was $20 per pet per night. Location was 12 miles from Boone with grocery and gas across the street

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry the wi fi was not working the night you stayed. We cannot control the times that the ISP takes down the internet for updates and upgrades on their end. I'll speak to housekeeping about the tubs and coffee pots, those should be clean. We do hope you'll give us another chance and yes we charge extra for pets. More 

Travelers are raving about these West Jefferson hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Stayed here through the years because of price and location and consistent rooms. Age may have have caught up with them because they could use some upgrades/repairs and a bit more focus on room cleaning. Desk staff friendly and accommadating when a room change needed and location is great for travelers heading North or South.

Helpful?
Thank jonnyrob50
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review

We are in the process of doing some renovations. Right now we have a man working on replacing the carpets in the rooms, we will also be redoing some tile work, and we are looking to make other updates in the coming weeks. Renovations should be completed by the Spring season. We do hope you'll come again soon. More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

This hotel falls into that category. There is nothing really bad about it-nor is there anything really great either. We stayed a couple of nights while we waited for our homeaway cabin to be available. There are very limited choices in this area so the price for what you get is a little out of whack. The old supply/demand thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cynoman
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We do hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

We were able to secure the last room on a spontaneous trip to see the leaves. Desk attendant was very friendly and welcoming (Matthew?). Room was clean. Older hotel that could use some updating. We were able to hear our neighbors so we used the fan as white noise.

Helpful?
Thank LorraineCasto
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad that the room was clean and the staff accommodating. I'm glad that it helped you enjoy your mountain trip. I do hope you visit again soon. More 

Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

I was given a non-smoking room and when I walked in it nearly knocked me over with the smell of smoke. The bed was not very comfortable. It was close to West Jefferson which was convenient. I will only stay here again if it is the only place left in West Jefferson.

Helpful?
Thank GilDoug
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review

I've double checked you did stay on Oct 3rd and the room you were in is a nonsmoking room. Did you inform the staff you were unhappy with the room after you opened the door? If you had we probably could have moved you to another room. The side you stayed on does have some smoking rooms farther down from... More 

Wauchula, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We walked in the room and there was a odor, luckily we had a can of Ozium in the car and sprayed the room. Also there were stains on the walls and crayon writing. The beds box springs didn't have tops you could see the springs. I would recommend finding another hotel before staying here. There are other hotels in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank monkeycrazee3
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that housekeeping overlooked the crayon marks, I've never had such reported to me so it must be fairly recent. As for an odor in the room if it was a pet or smoking room that is of course normal. With your name hidden as it is I have no way of knowing which room you stayed in. I... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel with my wife. We had a great time! The staff was amazing. This was the perfect hotel for our quite weekend trip to the mountains. Not many people post positive reviews on small places like this but we will most certainly be back!

Helpful?
Thank jason g
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your business and look forward to your return. We thank you for the time you took to fill this out. More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

My parents used to live in the area & wanted to return to visit family & friends. We got 2 rooms. I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but at least a clean basic room. OK, this place needs some serious help. The carpet is disgusting. There are odd stains on the walls of the bathroom and vanity area. There is mold... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank nctraveller5
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review

This property has no rooms with Queen beds in it. I believe therefore you have reviewed the wrong property. In the event someone has a problem with a room they should notify the front desk within 15 min of check in so that we can take steps to correct any issues. If someone waits hours to report any issues we... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

This place is a dump. It smells awful. We were greeted by a variety of both living and deceased bugs in our room. The a/c wheezes out damp, dank (but sort of cold) air. There was a puddle around the toilet. There were perhaps 5 light fixtures between the bed & bath areas, and 3 worked. We spent a grand... More 

Helpful?
Thank sara f
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review

I've tried to search our guest history but cannot find a Sara F that stayed in the last 9 months, though I suppose it could of been in the name of your traveling partner. I also checked for Philadelphia finding no one with a Philadelphia address checked in in the last 12 months perhaps you moved or your address on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Jefferson
0.3 mi away
The Hotel of West Jefferson
The Hotel of West Jefferson
#1 of 4 in West Jefferson
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
14.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Super 8 Boone
Super 8 Boone
#12 of 19 in Boone
3.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
16.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 19 in Boone
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
15.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay