We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kanapitsa Mare Hotel

Save
Share
PO box155, Kanapitsa 370 02 Greece
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
lovevacations
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (271)
360
Panoramas (52)
Room & Suite (234)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sapphire waters, emerald pine trees and topaz blue skies are just a few of the images that come to mind when one thinks of Kanapitsa Mare Hotel. Ideally situated on a picturesque pine and olive hillside and above the magnificent sandy beach of Tzaneria (approximately 200 meters away) in the Kanapitsa peninsula, it offers spectacular panoramic sea-view from all rooms (select rooms offer mountain view) and lounges. Kanapitsa Mare Hotel is a family run hotel, designed to offer a great, relaxing holiday experience to all visitors of Skiathos during their stay. Within our hotel, guests can enjoy friendly service, WI-FI internet access, a fully stocked pool bar, various snacks served by the pool, top views and much more. If you are considering to get married in Skiathos (or to renew your wedding vows) Kanapitsa Mare Hotel is the ideal, romantic spot in Skiathos.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Hiking
Skiing
Snorkeling
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Fax / photocopying
Photo copier / fax In business center
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Greek, Italian

Location

Full view
50Car recommended
Grade: 50 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
6Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
360Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 112
  • 124
  • 59
  • 33
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dave Knapp wrote a review Sep 10
Swindon, United Kingdom31 contributions7 helpful votes
Shocking experience in this very shabby and run down hotel. Staff were miserable and facilities poor. Tired and dated, this hotel should be avoided at all costs. This beautiful island is let down by hotels like this horror show.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Panos Andritsopoulos, General Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear David K, One wonders, how is it that you have in 2020 such a bad opinion for our hotel that has not opened for business in 2020 due to COVID 19?
Read more
Debell wrote a review Oct 2019
Garstang, United Kingdom33 contributions28 helpful votes
We had a lovely holiday at this hotel. Good room with amazing views from the balcony. Room clean and spacious with a good bathroom. The pool area was spotless at all times with a great pool bar with delicious, good value snacks during the day. Beach was less than five minutes away, nice beach but the beach restaurant was quite pricey. Johnny's restaurant is fantastic but you do need to book even if only the day before. The bus stop is 2 minutes walk away and buses run every 15 minutes both ways and only1.6 euros anywhere. Beautiful island, can't wait to go back and I would stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from kanapitsahotels2017Q, General Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel
Responded Oct 11, 2019
Dear Debell Thank you for choosing our hotel and enjoying your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you with us; we look forward to seeing guy again soon!
Read more
ATM_12 wrote a review Sep 2019
Cheshunt, United Kingdom333 contributions81 helpful votes
Stayed here for 5 days with family. Room overlooking the pool with a balcony and a beautiful view. Great sunrises. Good size room with a little fridge but disappointed there was NO kettle. Good buffet breakfast with indoor and outdoor seating. Great pool bar - Happy Hour cocktails by amazing barman Mario !!! Staff were so helpful especially Irene on Reception.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from kanapitsahotels2017Q, General Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel
Responded Sep 30, 2019
Dear ATM_12 Thank you for staying inner hotel-we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the kettle we apologise but it is not a service offered in our hotel. Once again thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon
Read more
JanetteB2404 wrote a review Sep 2019
Egham, United Kingdom42 contributions29 helpful votes
Having read previous reviews my expectations were not high for Kanapitsa Mare and sadly this was confirmed during our stay. This was our 5th trip to beautiful Skiathos and we have stayed in a variety of self catering and hotel accommodation in different parts of the Island so these are what I am comparing Mare with. My purpose with my reviews is always to be fair and as informative as possible for future guests. Of course all opinions are subjective. The Hotel has so much potential because of it’s enviable position which affords beautiful views. The very large terrace and pool area make the most of these. Most of the other public areas are attractive but some of the faded dirty pictures add to the feeling of a lack of care. This is most obvious in the garden troughs that surround the terrace and edge of the balconies - they are sparsely filled with very dry earth and dead looking plants which on the room balcony just obscure the view! Other parts of the gardens were well managed and cared for. I had booked a sea view double and had asked for a high floor. We were given a room on the 2nd floor (lowest accommodation level) above the breakfast room. Extremely dated and tatty fitted units for clothes and fridge. Ancient safe which we found impossible to programme - it didn’t seem to bear any similarity to the instructions! Very small bathroom with bath and shower but no bath plug. Toiletries supplied on arrival but not replenished during stay. Bedroom area adequate size with extremely firm/hard mattresses. We asked for extra pillows and they arrived very promptly. Balcony good size with a nice view slightly obliterated by some trees and the aforementioned foliage in the trough. Free A/C worked well with none of the issues that others have mentioned. Cleaned well and towels changed when required. Breakfast was good, completely self service. On our 2nd evening we returned to the hotel about 2230 for a coffee and a night cap only to be told very rudely that the coffee machine is turned off at 2130 for cleaning so no coffee - the barman seemed to think it was strange that I didn’t know this. Needless to say we didn’t use the bar again after this. Personally I found the staff I met as being pleasant but perfunctory. Usually my pathetic attempts to practice my limited Greek illicit a friendly response but not here. This is best demonstrated by the day we left - usually when you hand your key in you expect an expression of thanks for choosing the hotel and something along the lines of ‘we hope you enjoyed your stay’, the Receptionist merely said ‘thank you, goodbye’ just like we’d bought a pint of milk in the supermarket! We travelled with TUI and whilst it was not an issue for us it is worth noting, especially for first time visitors, that there are no Rep visits at this accommodation and the Welcome meeting is held elsewhere. Locally there is a handy Supermarket, Johnny’s Taverna and bar (pre-booking recommended) with lovely staff and food. The local beach, Nostos, is nice and where the water taxi to Skiathos Town leaves from - a lovely way to arrive in Town! One end of the beach is served by a rather posy beach bar where the sun beds looked rammed in and in order to enjoy the front row you had to fork out 20€!! Not sure if this bar was open for food in the evening. The other sun beds there and the few at the other (quieter) side of the beach were 10€. Elsewhere we still paid 8€. It is a short walk to the bus stops. One other thing that hadn’t occurred to me before booking on this side of the Kanapitsa peninsular was the direction of the sun. The aspect is NE. If like me you are a sun lover be aware that at the hotel in September the sun would probably be gone by 1630 by pool and on the local beach by 1830 and also requires turning your back to the sea if you want to face the sun!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Higher the better for views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from kanapitsahotels2017Q, General Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel
Responded Sep 14, 2019
Dear guests, Thank you for choosing our hotel. In reading through your thoughts I will agree with you that all opinions are purely subjective but one wonders how is it that you choose to focus on the negative review and disregard the positive reviews. Now in order to be objective, one needs to keep in mind that we have been experiencing the hottest summer of the decade; as a result many of the plants have been damaged many fo which have been replaced more than once during the season. You note that you "asked" for a high floor room; a request is not guaranteed but the staff makes every effort to accommodate based on availability. If you had trouble operating the safe which is far from "ancient" you could have informed the front desk-support would have gladly assisted. We are glad that the room was up to your expectations; breakfast is buffet service, self-service. Regarding the bar, coffee is not served after 21.30 and the bartender informed very professionaly you about it-the bartender is a great professional with us for more than 8 years. We apologize if you were not happy with this. In closing, we cannot help but wonder why did you not inform the hotel manager/owner that the staff (bar/reception) was unprofessional to you during your stay, so that the issue could have been settled!! Please note that our company has been offering high quality hospitality services to thousands of island visitors for more than 40yrs. Our goal is offer great holiday experiences to all our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Carol A wrote a review Sep 2019
Sandy, United Kingdom44 contributions41 helpful votes
Hotel a little tired but in a lovely location and staff all very friendly. We had a lovely room with sofa and bath with jets, nice balcony with sea view. Cleaning, although daily, was minimal. Breakfast gave lots of choices, bar meals not very inspiring. Pool was good, although people saved sunbeds by putting towels out before the pool was open, which most good hotels have now put a stop to. Bar open until late, but no coffee available after 9pm.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Go for superior room with lounge seating and jet bath
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from kanapitsahotels2017Q, General Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel
Responded Sep 11, 2019
Dear Carol A It was a pleasure having you with us. We have noted your thoughts and look forward to welcoming you again
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$55 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kanapitsa mare hotel skiathos, kanapitsa mare hotel and spa, kanapitsa mare skiathos
LOCATION
GreeceSporadesSkiathosKanapitsa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kanapitsa Mare Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kanapitsa Mare Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Vromolimnos Beach (0.5 miles), Kolios Beach (0.5 miles), and Kanapitsa Beach (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a mosquito net, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kanapitsa Mare Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Johnny's, Porta Rossa, and Infinity Blue.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Kanapitsa Mare Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kanapitsa Mare Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Kanapitsa Mare Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Papadiamandis House (2.5 miles).
Does Kanapitsa Mare Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.