We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sunset Inn

Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Sunset Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 463: English reviews
Start your review of The Sunset Inn
 Click to rate
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a weekend while in town for a half marathon. I've stayed at a lot of different hotels and this place takes the cake. The staff were wonderfully helpful and attentive. Upon arrival they walked me to my room, explained everything I would need to know, and made me feel right at home. My room was spotless!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth K
Kodiak, Alaska
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My sister and I went to Sunset Beach for a long-awaited reunion! We just wanted a quiet place to get away and relax and The Sunset Inn was the perfect place! Our room was beautifully decorated and we really enjoyed relaxing and bird-watching on the screen porch and the delicious breakfasts each morning. We reserved the Bike or Hike Package...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candelmore
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have been going to the Sunset Inn for years. Due to family caregiving responsibilities we have not been able to go over the past 4 years. We finally returned to the inn last week and were thrilled to find the same hospitality and staff, who we now consider friends. I always look forward to the breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deliusgirl
TheSunsetInn, Guest Relations Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your most gracious review of The Sunset Inn and welcome back! We enjoyed your presence here and are so thankful that you found it just like you remembered. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I researched before booking, as always, and chose the Sunset Inn based on what I found. However, even after my research, I was still surprised with the level of personalized service, amenities, and surprise bonuses that abounded. The free movie rentals from the local shop, a surprise bottle of champagne for my wife and I who were celebrating our anniversary,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Just WOW! How refreshing to read your kind comments and know that you had the type of experience that we wish for all of our guests. We love our Inn and believe it is truly "one of a kind". Thank you for taking the time to submit such a gleaming review. We hope that it will not be long before...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Got here late after traveling all day. If ur looking for the quitest B&B ever with nothing to do at all this is the place for u. I think there are 40 rooms and maybe 18 parking places. That makes a lot of sense. I got a note on my car and wasn't even here 10 hours. I dunno where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riva9129
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Had it not been for other information that you included in this review I would have thought you were speaking of another place. We have 14 rooms (a far cry from the 40 you mentioned) and 17 parking spaces. Not sure about a note left on your car but if you were in our parking area there were no notes...

san francisco
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was in town for a funeral and was charged with printing the speeches and poems to be read at church. asked if I could print 13 pages at the front desk and was told no. Offered to pay for it. Was told no, that the owner counts sheets of papers used and paying for it wouldn't help. Why give your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank justinegSanFrancisco
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review

We regret that your experience at The Sunset Inn did not meet your expectations. In our defense you failed to mention that our front desk person gave you the address to a public library which was very close to the location where you were going and insured that they were indeed open and able to print the needed copies. On...

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Sunset Inn for a couple of days while trying to find housing for my upcoming move to the area. There is so many good aspects of this bed and breakfast! First, the staff was very professional, helpful and kind. Andrea always welcomed us at breakfast each morning, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer such a kind review of The Sunset Inn. It sounds like you had just the kind of experience that we wish for each of our guests. Don't forget us when you have guests visiting who need a special place to stay. Welcome to our area. I am sure that you will LOVE...

New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are no words! Absolutely beautiful! Beautiful,room! Breathtaking view of the marshes and out to the intercostal! Beautiful furniture! Bright cheery room for breakfast! Beyond immaculate! Andrea, Ramona and Cynthia were all totally awesome and went above and beyond! This place is a must! Can't wait to go back! So so peaceful! Beautiful large hanging baskets of fresh flowers everywhere!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juneabonner54
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your awesome review of The Sunset Inn. We are excited that you found it just as special as we do. It was a real pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us. We hope our paths cross again.

Reviewed April 3, 2017

We enjoyed our weekend stay at your establishment. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was nicely clean and decorated. We was looking for a nice quiet beach vacation spot and we found it at here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Utica C
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review

So thankful that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our Inn the perfect place for a getaway. We appreciate your compliments and your taking the time to post a review. We hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Raleigh, NC
Reviewed March 30, 2017

My husband wanted a quiet place to visit before he had surgery the following week and I immediately thought of the Sunset Inn. This was our first visit to the Sunset Inn and to Sunset Beach as well. When we checked in we were met with a friendly young woman who gave us a tour of the inn and escorted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bemlwmtravelers
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your gracious review of The Sunset Inn. We are always thrilled when we hear that our Inn, our Staff and our Island has made someone happy. Best of wishes to your husband for a speedy recovery. Now that you have found our Inn, we hope you will come again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (102)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
4.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
683 reviews
3.9 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
498 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,672 reviews
8.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
63 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sunset Inn opened its doors to the beauty of the saltwater marsh and island life in June 2000. The honey-colored wood floors in the entrance and living area shine softly in the light that filters through the large windows. The Inn is not your typical B&B; it is larger with 14 rooms but still has that cozy atmosphere that makes folks feel right at home. An expanded continental breakfast is served each morning buffet style. You may choose to have your morning meal in the breakfast room or in the privacy of your own room. Each room has a different theme and decor with a king-size bed, wet bar, refrigerator, love seat and private screened porch with rockers. The four grand rooms each have a jetted tub plus a larger corner porch with rockers & porch swings, robes and IPod docks. Come experience the quiet comfort for yourself. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Address: 9 N Shore Dr, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4145
Location: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Price Range: $99 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Sunset Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Sunset Inn staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Sunset Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A room on the 2nd floor may be better.....no upstairs neighbors.”
308bethk, 4 days ago | Read review
“All rooms have good views. Grand rooms have jetted tubs and bigger private porches.”
deliusgirl, 1 week ago | Read review
“Loved the overall warmth and cheeriness of the Bald Island Room. Corner porch view of the sunset over the intracoastal marsh was stunning.”
T8759OAscottc, 1 week ago | Read review
“Loved my beautiful Smithville room!”
juneabonner54, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms on top floor are best. Great 2-person jacuzzis tub in each.”
NCGolfer, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
CheapTickets
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates