We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 773: English reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Did not get a 130pm checkin. Was advised to return at 245pm. I was in town for a sailing class. Was given a very musty room. The front desk said there was high humidity. The bath had heavy dust on the hair dryer and bathroom vent. Also there was a hair on the shower wall. I advised the front desk... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank U5790JWsandrap
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We want to apologize for the concerns that you had during your stay here with us, our normal check in time is at 3 pm and we do try to honor early check ins when the rooms are ready and have been inspected by a supervisor but we can not do that all of the time especially when... More 

Tarboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay overall. The room and rest of the hotel was clean. The walls seem to be thin as we could hear other guests. Our view was terrible. We didn't expect a view, but I would expect something better than a pile of cinder blocks to look at out my window. The pool was clean and an ample... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Eugene M
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for your high rating of our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience! It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and convenient experience. We are overjoyed to hear that you had a great time with us and... More 

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very clean room and very roomy. Had a king size bed with desk and two occasional chairs, plus night stands on both sides of the bed. The staff were very friendly, but the phone rang off the hook. Could have used another person at the desk sometimes. Nice problem to have. Loved all the help with what to do in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coleen W
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. Your five star review means a lot to us, and we thank you for taking... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We were a bit disappointed in this hotel- here's why. Room felt damp- nothing I could explain but clothes felt it as did the rug . Iron spewed water all over my blouse- had to get another ( iron) ironing board was crooked and didn't stand up nor was the cover clean. Asked and received another. No room darkening curtains-... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy B
Rockingham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very Clean Rooms, convenient, and breakfast was good, We had a pleasant stay. Staff was not very friendly, but that was okay with us. It is located to Provision (which is my favorite place to eat) and close to beach.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your five star rating of our hotel It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to give you a great experience, filled with hospitality, comfort and convenience have been successful. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back... More 

Sumner, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at this motel for over a week and was very happy with our accommodations. Everything was clean, staff and housekeeping were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good and the staff kept the food containers full.We will stay at this motel again and recommend it highly.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank barbaraj996
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments to our staff, hospitality and breakfast layout. I have shared your compliments with our staff and thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize them for a job well done! We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your five star review, and we can't wait to serve you again. More 

Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean and nice hotel. Was looking for a room late on Friday night and they still had rooms. Initially had a room for just one night but the lady on duty at the front desk (Crystal) worked it out for two nights in about 15 - minutes. The breakfast bar in the mornings was most gracious with plenty of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Grainger S
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. Your five star review means a lot to us, and we thank you for taking... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 5 in Southport
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
9.5 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 45 minutes from Fort Fisher Aquarium in Kure Beach NC ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Address: 1511 North Howe Street, Southport, NC 28461
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Price Range: $100 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Southport Hotel Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay