We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Save
Share
1511 N Howe St, Southport, NC 28461-2608
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$161
Wyndham$161
Priceline$161
Hotels.com$161
Booking.com$161
Lol.travel$170
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (50)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (7)

About

#3 of 6 in Southport
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
Located only minutes from Southport's Waterfront Walkway, shopping, dining , only 7 minutes from Oak Island and 45 minutes from Fort Fisher Aquarium in Kure Beach NC
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
1153Reviews5Q+A61Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 460
  • 338
  • 194
  • 95
  • 66
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
skeeter3200 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Flop House in a great location, find a better hotel. Rooms are initially cleaned but sheets are never changed, bathroom are stinky and dirty. The desk staff doesn't care. I will not recommend this place, ever.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Responded Apr 1, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us and the feedback. Our apologies for all the issues and the unsatisfactory stay. We shall definitely work on your observations. You can expect a further improved stay next time. Please visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
hjahn865564 wrote a review Mar 2022
Summerville, South Carolina1 contribution
Check in was easy and quick the staff is very friendly The room was neat and clean There is plenty of parking There is plenty of parking And it's close to nearby businesses and eateries. It was worth our stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Responded Apr 1, 2022
Hello Jahn, I am happy to read that you had a nice time during your stay with us. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and experience has always been our mission. We truly value the opinions of our customers. I look forward to seeing you back again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
joshana4 wrote a review Mar 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina1 contribution1 helpful vote
Room was dirty. There were stains on the walls, rug and fingerprints and dirt on the doors. The bathroom tub walls were dirty and there was masking tape holding up the edge of the tile. The sink was plugged up, also. It was incredible, unhealthy, and unsanitary. We had to stay the night cause there were no rooms available at other hotels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Dear Joshana, I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in a several areas. My apologies for all the inconveniences. We take our guest comments very seriously. Our team have taken note of the issues and are working to improve the problems areas mentioned by you. Despite your disappointment, we hope you will return to stay with us again. You can be assured of our very best attention. Sincerely Hotel Manager.
Read more
Amy T wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I reserved a handicapped accessible room and, upon arrival, was told those rooms were overbooked. We were placed in a regular room. This should NEVER have happened and I will not be returning to this property.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Responded Jan 11, 2022
Dear Amy, I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our team for review. My apologies for the inconveniences howsoever. All required steps are being initiated to ensure that these are resolved to the optimum standards. Despite your disappointment, we hope you will return to stay with us again. Request your understanding and future consideration for visit. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
cutler357 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had to purchase wash cloths and towels due to faulty equipment. That's what was relayed to us. After purchasing our own toiletry items, we ask how would we be compensated. The reply was to contact mgmt.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Dear Guest, Thanks for the recent stay at our property. I am sorry to learn about all the inconvenience you had to endure. Our sincere apologies. We care about your experience and I realize no words can change your feelings of disappointment or the inconveniences you experienced. We have taken serious note of your observations. The entire points will be investigated to take appropriate actions. You will have a nice stay next time. Request your understanding. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
bfletc339885 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
My wife and I booked a weekend here for a last-minute get-away. Not only was Southport very charming, but the Wingate by Wyndham was a very clean, modern, well-appointed, and economical choice for our stay. The property is five minutes from the waterfront and only ten minutes from the beaches. We would most definitely stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Responded Sep 2, 2021
Dear Guest, Thanks for your nice comments. I’m so pleased that you would stay with us again, and I hope you have the opportunity to do that soon. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. I’m glad we could satisfy you, as we do so many others each day. Thanks again for your pleasant feedback. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
sbrust899438 wrote a review Aug 2021
Greensboro, North Carolina1 contribution
Very good location and clean and friendly staff. Restaurants in walking distance and shopping and fishing near by. Very pleased with staff and cleanliness of hotel and friendliness of everyone I came in contact with.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Responded Aug 22, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive comments. Having a very positive experience with us during your stay is an impressive accomplishment. We take pride in doing what’s right to ensure the best possible guest experience, and I hope you will be able to stay with us frequently in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
jjohnson63 wrote a review Jul 2021
Southport, North Carolina1 contribution
Ill keep this short and sweet. Our A/C would not drop below 73 degrees or enough to control the humidity. The staff had to provide a fan for air circulation in the room. The Bed was hard as a rock. The splash page would not load to connect to the internet. I tried on several devices - Computers, iPad and an iPhone.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Dear Guest, I am sorry to learn about all the inconvenience you had to endure. Our sincere apologies. We care about your experience and I realize no words can change your feelings of disappointment or the inconveniences you experienced. We have taken serious note of your observations. The entire points will be investigated to take appropriate actions. You will have a nice stay next time. Request your understanding. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Dave M wrote a review Jul 2021
Durham, North Carolina4 contributions1 helpful vote
For $300/night, I expected a lot more. I wouldn’t recommend staying here. We had mildew in the shower, a funky oder, the bathroom door wouldn’t shut and a fist sized hole in the closet door. Breakfast was very weak as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Responded Jul 22, 2021
Hello Dave, It is disappointing to note that your stay was not satisfactory. We regret the inconvenience due to many unfortunate reasons. Our team will check where we went wrong and will take corrective actions for maximum betterment. We shall appreciate your kind understanding and request a rethinking to visit. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
csteul803762 wrote a review Jul 2021
Graham, North Carolina1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was disappointed to find black mold in our shower. I was so uncomfortable with it I didn't use the shower during our trip. The pool was satisfying after being out in the baking sun all day. I would however, not recommend this location to our family and friends. There are so many places to choose from, next time in town we will try a different establishment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Responded Jul 22, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us and the feedback. Our apologies for all the issues and the unsatisfactory stay. We shall definitely work on your observations. You can expect a further improved stay next time. Please visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wingate by wyndham southport hotel southport
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastSouthport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Which popular attractions are close to Wingate by Wyndham Southport?
Nearby attractions include Artshak Studio and Gallery (0.7 miles), Olde Southport Village Shoppes (0.4 miles), and Emmi Lu's (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Wingate by Wyndham Southport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Wingate by Wyndham Southport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Wingate by Wyndham Southport?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Wingate by Wyndham Southport?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wingate by Wyndham Southport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burneys Bakery & Ice Cream, Southport Smokehouse, and Local's Family Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wingate by Wyndham Southport?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Wingate by Wyndham Southport?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Wingate by Wyndham Southport offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Wingate by Wyndham Southport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Wingate by Wyndham Southport?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bald Head Island Lighthouse (4.6 miles).