We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Americas Best Value Inn Shelby

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I agree with other reviewers "Great place to stay for the price". We will be in town for our daughters wedding and have stayed once already for wedding planning meeting. We recommended to all of our out of town guests as the 'best budget friendly option'. Rooms are clean, staff is extremely friendly and the location is great for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christi B
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

Great place to stay for the price, front desk staff was awesome an th rooms were very clean an comfortable. I will be staying here again when I visit Shelby nc.... great location for food an shopping. very quite an relaxing place to stay....

Helpful?
1 Thank dhappysmith
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

There are no pros for this motel. It advertised a whirlpool room so we checked in. To our dismay, as we entered the room there was a bad cigarette smell, carpet was filthy, comforter had cigarette holes, bathroom floor need to be replaced. I was scared to approach the whirlpool but had to do it, and there it was... tile... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mujergitana28

Travelers are raving about these Shelby hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

Quite honestly one of the worst places I have ever stayed! Not even the cheap rate was worth it. Bathroom door had a hole in it, the bathroom sink was falling off the wall an unstable. There were four of us in a room that was only supplied with two sets of towels, thread bare I should add, when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karinaaron
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Karinaaron, On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally apologize for the issues you experienced while staying with us. Although we do have alot of construction workers staying with us, we do our best to prevent any issues from occurring. Although we cannot control the actions of others, we do handle any situations which may... More 

Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The room smelled like stale cigarettes and wet carpet. The bathroom floor was really dirty. I booked the room online for 4 people. At check-in, I was told that they had assigned me a king room. I was charged $20 more to get the room with two double beds. For that price, I could have stayed down the road at... More 

Helpful?
Thank floydfamily2202
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear floydfamily2202, We appreciate your feedback regarding your visit. I am concerned about the issues you had experienced with housekeeping. We do take all complaints seriously and appropriate action taken. We will be sure to address these issues so that future guests are not affected. We pride ourselves in maintaining a clean and affordable facility. Gary-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby,... More 

Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

So the outside appearance of the motel was fine. The kids were thrilled there was a pool, since temps were soaring into the high 90s. The room had two double beds. The bedding looked clean. We had our own pillows. The room smelled a little musty and took a long time to cool down. The laundry facilities were in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina J
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Tina J, Your feedback is very important to us. It helps us to determine what we are doing right and which areas we can improve. We feel that we offer an affordable rate which includes complimentary breakfast which can be much higher at many other hotel chains. We try and control our costs without affecting our room rates. Our... More 

Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
214 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

I was glad we brought some pillows along for the trip because the ones provided had blood stains (what it looks like anyway) on them. They were also extremely flat. The room itself was ok, everything appears up to date. Continental breakfast was lacking. There was no batter for waffles. I also found shell casings in the parking lot, not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rain Y
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Rain Y, Thank you for providing us with your review of our location. My apologies for the issues with the pillow cases. We will be sure to address the issue with our housekeeping department. We do offer a limited breakfast in order to keep our rates affordable. We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future. Gary-Manager... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

This place is pretty terrible, I work at a hotel in Greensboro NC and I've stayed at several hotels/motels. As far as being the worst I've ever stayed in? This one easily takes the cake. Internet is awful, doesn't work half the time, it literally stops working for hours, not just gets slow but doesn't even work. Corners of room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Robert H, I am concerned about the issues you had mentioned in your review. We have updated our WiFi at our property which should address any issues we were having. Our rooms are clean and affordable, so I am not sure if you brought these issues to our attention during your visit? We would have gladly resolved the matter.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week and enjoyed every minute of it.The staff is caring and they try their best to help with whatever you need help with. The rooms are spacious and clean. Me and my husband felt safe and secure. The hotel is quiet and peaceful. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

Helpful?
Thank charlestaylor1984199
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I had originally requested 2 nights. However, after entering the room I found the bed comforter with white spots on it leaving nothing to the imagination. I also found hair and the smell of men's cologne on the sheets. I felt the room had not been properly cleaned. I slept in a chair. Also, the rim of the bathtub had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Shelby
Days Inn Shelby
#3 of 7 in Shelby
3.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#4 of 7 in Shelby
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
5.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling Springs - Gardner Webb University
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling...
#1 of 1 in Boiling Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
2.0 mi away
Affordable Suites Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn - Shelby. We are conveniently located off exit 10B (Highway 74 W) via I-85 S. Our hotel just 8 miles from Gardner-Webb University and Ambassador Baptist College. Popular attractions like Kings Mountain National Military Park, Cleveland County Historical Museum, and the Historic Shelby Foundation Inc are minutes away. The small-town atmosphere and friendliness of Shelby is certain to charm guests. Be sure to take the kids to Shelby's City Park carousel, one of a very few year-round carousels in a traditional park location. Golfers will love being close to the Royster Memorial Golf Course. Located on the way to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, we are near several restaurants including Mi Pueblito Mexican Restaurant, Fatz Cafe, Golden Corral, and the Sagebrush Steak House. Americas Best Value Inn - Shelby features 50 spacious rooms. All guest rooms are generously equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access, micro-wave, mini-fridge, cable TV with Showtime, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, and complimentary local calls. All of our guests are invited to enjoy a variety of amenities, including complimentary continental breakfast, fax/copy services, vending machines, and ice machines. The hotel also features an outdoor pool. There is a spacious meeting room available to accommodate most events and business functions. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Americas Best Value Inn - Shelby provides friendly customer service, superior accommodations, and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Shelby area. Stop in to see us the next time you travel our way. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Shelby

Address: 825 W Dixon Blvd, Shelby, NC 28152-5123 (Formerly EconoLodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Price Range: $60 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Shelby 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Shelby
Shelby Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay