We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley

Save
Share
127 Cherokee Trl, Sapphire, NC 28774-9603
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (77)
Room & Suite (43)
Pool & Beach (7)

About

#1 of 4 in Sapphire
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.5
The city of Cashiers, home of the Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley mountain resort is nestled on a wooded mountainside in the southernmost part of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Considered a mecca for recreational pursuits, the Sapphire Valley offers a wide array of activities from the most relaxed to the most rigorous, including skiing on North Carolina Mountains and golfing on the Blue Ridge. Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley offers spacious suites featuring full kitchens, whirlpool tub, fireplace, washer and dryer and more. While at this resort in North Carolina’s Sapphire Valley, enjoy the scenic wonder of the tree-studded mountains, lakes and streams as you fish, golf, boat, hike the landscape that surrounds you. The Foxhunt Resort is your perfect destination for North Carolina travel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
129Reviews19Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 67
  • 39
  • 13
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lynn and Ron P wrote a review Jan 2022
Riceboro, Georgia51 contributions22 helpful votes
We spent 5 relaxing, wonderful days here and watched our beloved University of Georgia Dawgs win the National Football Championship as we cozied up next to the fireplace! Nice condo— a bit dated—but clean and well furnished. Comfy bed!! Lots of storage, well stocked kitchen which we loved because lots of restaurants were closed for the season. It’s a tri-level condo with the entrance on the second level ( which was street level). A few steps up was the living room and kitchen and a few steps down was the master suite. Big decks overlooking the lake. We will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Kimsey, Other at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Responded Jan 24, 2022
So glad you had a great experience, Lynn. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Jennifer T wrote a review Jan 2022
Melbourne, Florida67 contributions31 helpful votes
A fantastic hideaway in Sapphire Valley. We had snow in January several days with safe roads. We were able to enjoy their indoor pool and hot tub (plus a few warm-up minutes in the sauna to thaw!) several days, but the best was the jacuzzi in our room! The view was on each level on the unit into the woods-simply perfect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Kimsey, General Manager at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Responded Jan 24, 2022
Jennifer, we’re so happy to hear you had a good experience. Hope you come back to visit again soon. Maybe in the summer, when our lake amenities are available.
Read more
Jayne E wrote a review Nov 2021
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina1 contribution1 helpful vote
Great unit size w fireplace we used every night. Gym/hot tub/sauna also great and staff very helpful. Many hiking trails easy to access. Just a note: these are mountain roads and very twisty so allow time for travel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
wendypD2706VG wrote a review Oct 2021
Georgia4 contributions1 helpful vote
First the amenities are not near the actual condos (about a mile away). They do have quite a few but most need upgrading. Condo itself is large and has two small flights of stairs - there are stairs to the condos too (if you have walking issues I would consider this). Kitchen was upgraded but bathrooms were not in condo we were in - area is great - lots to see and do outdoors - currently difficult to find restaurants that are open (and their days open and hours open are all over the place) - Ingles near buy for food shopping.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Gainey, General Manager at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Responded Oct 4, 2021
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed staying in the area. You definitely do need transportation as our resort is 5000 acres. The restaurants are experiencing some staff shortages causing changes in hours of operation however they try and alternate off days. We hope you can come back and visit us soon!
Read more
Sharon T wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
This place was difficult to find. The check in is not clearly marked. We arrived on September 11th around 7.30 pm. Drove everywhere trying to find the checking. Finally got to our unit. It was musty and sour smelling. We opened it up to air it out, to tired to complain. Went to bed. Made coffee in the morning ,We then saw the notice about the contaminated water , don't worry it only contains uranium, more than any acceptable amount. Spit my coffee right out. This place is dark and depressing on top of it. Went to take a shower in the uranium water but the tub wouldn't drain. I had to clean out the old hair in the drain. I almost puked. You can see the tub hadn't drained in a long time. The jets on the tub were black with mold. So I can imagine it was never really cleaned, or they would have known the tub didn't drain. Back to the kitchen the carpet on the floor was wet. I pulled it up and you could see water leaking out of the bottom of the frig. We left to go to the store. My husband who has asthma started having trouble breathing . We went back to the unit. By the that night he was feeling really bad. The next morning we packed up and left. Headed up to Gatlinburg. We found a place to stay here, no more breathing problems. We couldn't get out of that place fast enough. RCI refuses to give me any compensation, but you couldn't pay me to have stayed there another day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Gainey, General Manager at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Responded Oct 4, 2021
We hate to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Foxhunt. We did inspect the unit after your departure and we did not detect any odor in the unit, or find any mold issues. We did go ahead and do a deep clean to make sure the unit was brought back online clean and disinfected. The local water treatment plant did have a trace amount of uranium in one of the 11 wells that feed the property but that problem has been repaired and there is no longer any water advisory in the units. We do appreciate your feedback and have used this information as an opportunity to improve in the areas mentioned. Thank you.
Read more
RenAndStimpy45 wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
The staff at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley were great. We had a 2bd2ba unit that was very large and it had a great view of a pond and the mountains. The unit was well supplied and clean. The kitchen looked new, but the rest of the unit furnishings were old but clean.There were two decks, one that was off of the master bedroom on the lower level and one on the upper level that could be accessed from the living room and the dining room. The upper deck was heavily bird bombed and was sticky from sap from a large pine tree that was next to it. This could have been due to a storm that had come through the previous week. Hopefully they will pressure wash it ASAP. We did not use it for this reason. However, the view could be seen from the living room. The screen door to this deck was also broken due to damage on the frame. Even with these problems, we enjoyed the unit and the view. We hung out on the lower deck which was clean. The jacuzzi tub in the master bath is huge! Overall, we enjoyed our stay, enjoyed the many off-site amenities, and have already booked at this resort for the same time next year. If you are willing to drive around in the smokey mountains, you will find so many things to do, you will not be able to do them all in a weeks time!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Gainey, General Manager at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Responded Oct 4, 2021
Thank you for your feedback! We did have some storm cleanup and have since been able to get the decks cleaned and the screen repaired. We hope you can make it back to the mountains soon.
Read more
msgsc wrote a review Aug 2021
sc91 contributions37 helpful votes
We arrived on Sunday and told that the office was closed, so we had to go to the police station to check in. Ok, interesting...it took quite a while to find the place. It seems there are different units scattered around the area. The condo was clean, and spacious. If you want quiet, this is the place. There is nothing at all in the area of the condo. You must get in your car and drive down the road about a mile to the Community Center, nature trails, rec area and pool. Not the place if you have children, nothing for them to do unless you drive down the road. We decided to cut our visit short, when calling to check out, we found the phone did not work. Called the number we were given and was told to call another number. Ended up having to drop the keys off at the police station. Another waste of time, since we had to drive in a different direction than we were going. Customer service is not good here at all, they act ho hum, like you are doing them a favor for staying here. I know things are different with covid and we understand, but really..not happy with this Wyndham place at all.Thank goodness the condo was clean. No welcome packet, just the very basics. We did not really feel welcome, especially with the run around about checking in. WI-FI was not the best either.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Gainey, General Manager at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Responded Oct 4, 2021
Hello. I am sorry to hear of the issues you had during your stay at Foxhunt. All of our check-in and check-out instructions are located in your welcome packet and it seems you did not receive that upon checking in. Please know this is not the typical response from our guests and we do hope you come back and try us again in the future. Thank you.
Read more
William D wrote a review Aug 2021
Savannah, Georgia52 contributions40 helpful votes
I really tried to like this place. It wasn’t dirty but it wasn’t clean. You know what I mean? It is showing it’s age, a little warn on the edges. I felt the pricing was good value so you get what you pay for. We enjoyed the fireplace and the quiet setting
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Request a lake view.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Gainey, General Manager at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Hi William, we appreciate your honest review. We are a rustic setting in the mountains and a quiet retreat for those wishing to relax and revitalize.
Read more
Chris D wrote a review Jul 2021
Brick, New Jersey9 contributions1 helpful vote
This is a great townhome. Very spacious and well maintained. The area, however, was not what we expected. It is literally IN the mountain so getting around is very difficult. To get to the amenities you need to take a 10 min drive. There was roadwork when we were there so it became a 30 min drive. If you like golf clubs and art galleries, this is for you. We have 2 teen boys and to do anything fun, outside of the lake, we had to travel 30-45 min away. It rained a lot and there is nothing to do inside. No movie theater or indoor activities for teens. There is an indoor pool and video games for the little ones. The biggest problem is the labor shortage in the area. The lake was closed on one of the few beautiful days because there was no one to work. I could tell the the workers at the resort were stressed and sometimes it comes out as being rude. The restaurants are short staffed and short on supplies. Most of the wait staff were very nice. It's a shame that some of the restaurants were closed throughout the week because of this. Overall we had a nice time and it is a beautiful area. I just wouldn't bring active teens.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Gainey, General Manager at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Hi Chris. Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Staffing shortages are a problem for some of our local businesses and the resort. We appreciate your patience as we wade through our onboarding process and we will use this feedback as a tool to improve.
Read more
Stephanie G wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
Will never stay here again! Our townhome was very stinky and musty. The beds and the sofa were very uncomfortable. Our bathtub shower curtain was covered in mildew as was the ceiling and the caulking around the tub. Very outdated and dark and dank.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Gainey, General Manager at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Responded Jul 21, 2021
Hi Stephanie. Thank you for the feedback. We will absolutely address your concerns with our staff and use this information as a tool to improve. Staffing has been challenging for us and some corners were cut and for that, I apologize. If you ever visit Sapphire Valley in the future give me a call at 828-743-7667 and I will personally make sure you have a better experience.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
foxhunt at sapphire valley hotel cashiers
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsJackson CountySapphire
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Which popular attractions are close to Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley?
Nearby attractions include Silver Run Falls (3.9 miles), Cashiers Farmers Market (1.7 miles), and The Village Green (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn, Cashiers Farmers Market, and Slab Town Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.