We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spinifex Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 3 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Spinifex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
Start your review of Spinifex Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My Room is self contained and is very comfortable and maintained to a high standard. Meals are devine and very well priced. Great coffee !!! Staff on all levels have been very polite and professional. I highly recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith Q
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate you taking your time to write such a positive review. It is guests like yourself that make what we do worthwhile. Most people in hospitality will agree that at times the job can be very thankless and unfortunately the negative outweighs the positive sometimes So just a small review like this or...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

A disappointing stay. Second night was horrible with drunken female guest screaming obscenities like a rabid banshee from 10.30 ish st night til all hours. Other guests could be heard yelling out for her to shut up so was clearly disturbing for many. Upon check out, receptionist claimed she'd had no complaints and was ambivalent and dismissive of my complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmel P
Trevor B, Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Carmel, Thank you for your review. We do pride ourselves in customer service and we have addressed this issue and apologised via email. As we explained to you at the time of your check out we had not received a complaint. After you had left one other guest did mention the noise but said it was not too...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Spinifex is a friendly pub, it has a generous menu and specials. . Staff are very friendly. Have been there on a course for work and their conference facility is great as well. Nice atmosphere whether it's a night with the girls, or with work or friends . . Safe and fun place for the whole family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne b
Kalbarri, Australia
Reviewed January 31, 2017

The food was amazing at the hotel and the staff couldn't have been more helpful to our requests. Will come back for the steak with chill/garlic butter alone! For breakfast I recommend the Healthy Breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalbarri1979
Trevor B, Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We hope you do come back for a steak we would love to see you again!

Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at the Spinifex about six times now & have always been happy with the accommodation. The one bedroom apartments come with a comfortable bed, good air conditioning, great shower & a kitchenette with a couple of hot plates, toaster, kettle & fridge. There is even a washing machine & a great shower. Unfortunately they don't have wifi in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chathri A
Southbank Victoria
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Spotlessly clean and tidy and well maintained. very new. Lovely welcome night after the red dirt. Laundry facility in the room a fantastic bonus. Best shower head in all of our travels😄 Lovely breakfast however severely under staffed. Centrally located.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FiFiDJ
Perth, Australia
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Nice place to stay, rooms had everything you could need. The rooms are self contained with cooking and laundry facilities. Aircon and tv with a place to sit. Has an onsite bar and restaurant, the meal was good but we did have some issues with the wait staff not getting our order in then being left wait.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K0ZICAN
Perth, Australia
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

Dropped in & had lunch the other day. The pub is spotless & staff are friendly. We ordered the hamburger meal and fish & chips. They were awesome. Hamburger was fresh & tasty as was the fish, very fresh. Well worth the drive from Broome... Will be back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark O
Perth, Australia
Reviewed September 14, 2016

This was a repeat visit with the hotel continuing to provide excellent and spacious rooms which were well maintained, tidy and of a high standard. The staff at the hotel were friendly and were only too willing to help and offer advice if requested. The hotel restaurant was well patronised on the night of my stay with the meals being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimD266
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Place is very clean great lunch wifes dropped on floor on way to table staff very apologetic complimentary drinks for delay will definitely call again ... food great staff better derby is a place you call in for a couple of days and extend your stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
0.1 mi away
Derby Lodge
Derby Lodge
#2 of 9 in Derby
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Derby Boab Inn
Derby Boab Inn
#2 of 3 in Derby
32 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Kimberley Lodge
West Kimberley Lodge
#5 of 9 in Derby
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mt Hart Homestead
Mt Hart Homestead
#417 of 892 in Western Australia
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 3 in Purnululu National Park
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Spinifex Hotel
Spinifex Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Spinifex Hotel

Address: 6 Clarendon St, Derby, Western Australia 6728, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Derby
Price Range: $139 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spinifex Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spinifex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spinifex Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid donga style rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Kalbarri1979, Jan 31, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the larger modern rooms (M prefix) instead of the smaller short stay rooms, notwithstanding the increased cost.”
 of 5 bubbles KimD266, Sep 14, 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose the parmigiana”
 of 5 bubbles jmk4573, Jun 23, 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like stairs check your room is on ground level.”
  • Sunset
 of 5 bubbles herringhead7, Jun 19, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ground level unit.”
 of 5 bubbles holidayms, Jun 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question