We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 184: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Superb local food and brilliant ambiance.. coming back for sure.. over delivered and sensational wines.. under staffed but they did a great job for being so remote. We came with the family for our first trip to the snow... love it..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed September 11, 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gasp4062
Harry W, General Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

In all areas the hotel needs an overview . Seasonal staff means that the service offered was unreliable - due to staff enthusiasm. Housekeeping was poor - beds made poorly - no vacuuming even after a request - cups not washed etc .. The hotel is well placed and very central - perhaps it was end of season that let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank springs85
Harry W, General Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you felt regarding the state of your room. I will pass this on to our housekeeping manager and insist it is better in future. Kind Regards, Harry Wellborne General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

This place has sure gone down hill since last year! The beds were 3rd class. The trundle was a joke as it still looked like it was going to fold back up when straight! We had to fold the spare blanket up and put it under the mattress! The main bed had lost it springs creating the worst 3 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HKraz
Harry W, General Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. We take all guest feedback very seriously and I will ensure that this feedback is given to the relevant departments. In particular I will pass you comments regarding the food and beverage offering on to the...

Templestowe Lower, Australia
Reviewed September 6, 2016

It's is an awesome location with fantastic facilities. The rooms are not very modern however they are clean and more than adequate. The only complaint we have is that the base temperature of the room was far too hot & we could not leave the window open to cool it down because it blew straight onto the kids fold out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlforster
Harry W, General Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. The heating has always been a little over zealous and we have attempted to reduce the temperatures over the years, however I have come to find that this is a common problem in Alpine Hotels. Kind Regards, Harry Wellborne General Manager,

Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Very good hotel. Neat and tidy. Heater in every room, incl bathroom and closet. Wonderful view. Nice service. In the middle of winter activity around mt. Bulller. Next to some resto, shop, grocery and ski equipment centre, including chairlift station. Breakfast is little below average in term of variety of meals. There's bar and club in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heng Y
Harry W, General Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Harry Wellborne General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Very clean and spacious Staff were very helpful and pleasant The Bar was a fun place to meet friends with a great atmosphere. Great for either a cup of coffee or glass of wine and basic snacks. The only drawback was the breakfast which was adequate and reasonably satisfying except for the scrambled eggs . These were almost inedible (powdered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth4867
Harry W, General Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do take all feedback very seriously and to that end I will forward a copy of your comments to the operator of the Food & Beverage Outlets within the hotel. Kind Regards, Harry Wellborne General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Was disappointed to find that the hotel had leased out the in house restaurant and bar to an outside entity. The bar was closed in the early evening for private events on 2 days out of the 5 we stayed, so we asked to leave the premises on these occasions. It was originally a sports bar and had TVs to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank eveh418
Harry W, General Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sincerely sorry for any disappointment you may feel as a result of having stayed with us. We take all guest feedback very seriously and I will be sure to send your comments through to the operator concerned. Kind Regards, Harry Wellborne General Manager

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed August 18, 2016

The minute you walk out of the hotel is the starting line for the beginner lift. So convenient for the us to start of the day. Comes with sofa bed and kids stay for free. Restaurants and grocery store are just next to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
Harry W, General Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Kid Regards, Harry Wellborne General Manager

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Ideal location and cafe/wine bar nice. Rooms large but dated. Bathroom appliances (shower head) very old. Expensive compared to other ski hotels internationally. Location couldn't be better. Breakfast good with basic hot and cold options. Swimming pool good for the kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackalien4
Harry W, General Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future. Kind Regards, Harry Wellborne General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Buller
0.4 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
139 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Grimus
Hotel Pension Grimus
#4 of 8 in Mount Buller
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
#3 of 8 in Mount Buller
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Retreat
Alpine Retreat
#5 of 8 in Mount Buller
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breathtaker All Suite Hotel
Breathtaker All Suite Hotel
#2 of 8 in Mount Buller
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel and Suites is in a central village location in the Mt Buller alpine resort, 3 hours drive north east of Melbourne. The chalet features 40 rooms, with spectacular views of either the mountains or valley, a restaurant, indoor heated swimming pool, spa, gym and sauna. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites

Address: 5 Summit Rd, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Buller
Price Range: $104 - $1,364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Mt Buller
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Only tried the Bar/café so can't comment”
 of 5 bubbles RobertC117, Jan 30, 2016 | Read review
“Probably stay elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles CharlieD3000, Sep 17, 2015 | Read review
“Good luck, requests don't appear to be observed or addressed”
 of 5 bubbles lovetravelexplore, Sep 13, 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from the reception and restaurant areas.”
 of 5 bubbles Carolinahej, Aug 31, 2015 | Read review
“Stay at another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jacksonm367, Aug 30, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay