We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
134 N Washington St, Rutherfordton, NC 28139-2402
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Lol.travel
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (44)
Room & Suite (14)
Videos (1)

About

#2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherfordton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in historic downtown Rutherfordton, the 1925 City Hall and Firehouse has been entirely renovated, and now offers European elegance and urban atmosphere in a friendly, relaxed setting. We also offer beautiful indoor and outdoor meeting, wedding, party/event spaces!
Read more
Room & Suite (14)14
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
81Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 71
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Charles C wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions
Great. Inn was spotless clean and very comfortable. Stayed in room #1, the Firehouse Suite, which was the biggest room. King bed, jetted tub, large separate shower with two shower heads on opposite walls, huge walkin closet. Room was perfect. Owner/manager, Kitty, was super. Very frendly and you could tell she cares about her guests. We rarely saw her, but she was very quick to respond to our needs, which were few. I think the biggest asset was Donna, the chef. She was there every morning to prepare an amazing breakfast at 8:30. No getting up early for breakfast unless you needed to be. Another guest needed to eat about 7:00 due to work. So she fixed his breakfast then and then breakfast at 8:30 for us. Different and origional every morning. Good food and plenty of it. Donna was wonderful, both as a chef and as a friend to talk with during breakfast. Our room was right across the hall from the kitchen and you could smell the food cooking each morning. I woke up to those smellsl and would tell my wife, "wake up. Donna is in the kitchen". The entire visit was amazing. They made us feel like we were staying with friends or family.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Great restaurant, Copper Penny right across the street to walk to for dinner. Never needed lunch...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
joe S wrote a review Sep 2019
Denver, North Carolina31 contributions8 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
The Inn was everything we were told it would be and more. From our friendly reception, great room, service, and outstanding breakfast to reasonable rates, it was over the top in every respect..We even had a walk in safe in our room. We are telling all we know that its one of the greatest B & B we have ever stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but the one with the walk in safe, Huge tub and shower is really NEAT
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from kittym715, Owner at The Firehouse Inn
Responded Sep 22, 2019
Thanks so much for your kind words. We hope you will come back to see us very soon.
Read more
DD84 wrote a review Jun 2020
Austin, TX5 contributions
I was in Forest City on business for two weeks. I needed to bring my two dogs and the Firehouse is pet friendly! The rate was very reasonable. The rooms are lovely, the breakfast is sensational. Donna will feed you very well. You will not need lunch. The living and dining area is very inviting. I am staying two weeks in July and this place is now my home away from home! Top notch management and staff. They cater to every need! I WILL BE BACK! BTW the courtyard in the back is a lovely place to hang out and relax. Dean Dresser
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Room 2 has Queen bed and desk so if on biz it is great. Also right next to the dining room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
BroonsBane wrote a review Mar 2020
Winchester, Virginia231 contributions51 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here one night and it was ok but nothing special in my opinion. The staff was very friendly and all was clean and comfortable. But, the room was quite small - not unexpected given the age of the building. The one thing that we didn’t care for was that breakfast is served starting at 8:30 am. After mentioning that we had to depart no later than 8:00 am because of scheduled appointments, the proprietor stayed she would ask the chef if she could come in earlier. No word back on that even after asking her twice. So, no breakfast for us. This information is not found on their website that I could find. So, somewhat disappointing since we were celebrating the purchase of our home.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from FirehouseInn, Owner at The Firehouse Inn
Responded Mar 17, 2020
I am so sorry that you were disappointed. It looks like we had some miscommunication. In fact, I DID get in touch with the chef and she DID come in early to accommodate you. Unfortunately, when I could not locate you in the Inn, I responded to you by email that evening in place of telling you personally. ( We had previously communicated successfully in that manner so I felt safe that you would receive the message.) Donna, our chef said she heard movement at the end of the hallway, but you never came down to the dining room. This is very unfortunate because she prepares a very nice breakfast. Please accept our sincere apology. You did book our smallest room, but it is my personal favorite, since all the walls are hand painted. Again, I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Kitty McCammon
Read more
Paul F wrote a review Mar 2020
Ridgewood, New Jersey4 contributions
The staff is wonderful and so thoughtful. Donna came in early to make sure we had breakfast. Tileah Make sure our room was perfect. Kitty always checks to make sure out next visit is scheduled. We love staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from FirehouseInn, Owner at The Firehouse Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your kind words. Donna and Tileah are jewels. Kitty McCammon
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$146 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsRutherfordton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Firehouse Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Firehouse Inn?
Nearby attractions include Kidsenses (0.09 miles), Bechtler House (0.3 miles), and Rutherford County Visual Arts Center Gallery (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Firehouse Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Firehouse Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Firehouse Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Firehouse Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Firehouse Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rutherford Thai, The Olive Tree, and Mi Pueblito Mexican Restaurant.
Is The Firehouse Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Rutherfordton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Firehouse Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bechtler House (0.3 miles).