We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alexander Cameron Suites

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
23-25 Church Street, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia (Formerly Alexander Cameron Motel & Apartments)
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT.NO EXTRA FEES
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alexander Cameron Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A two night stay to visit Coonawara wineries & Mt Gambier. On arrival we were upgraded to a King Suite which was a pleasant surprise. The room & bathroom were massive! Very clean & tidy. We also had our own little verandah area. A continental breakfast was included. Management were very helpful recommending places to see & eat. All in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for six nights using Alexander Cameron as a base to explore the region. IGA with fantastic cheese and meat deli right next door. Very short walk to the Main Street, restaurants, pubs and shops. Room was huge, (TV even bigger ;-) very clean and with excellent mini-bar. Fantastic continental breakfast included. Very friendly staff, clean, fast and efficient. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank BillD01
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Huge rooms, but with no furniture. Continental breakfast was minimal with what seemed very little effort of thought put into it. Internet was slowest possible. Would make a good place for a family as plenty of space for the bed to fold down but bring you own cereals

Helpful?
Thank Roger D
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello Roger, I'm confused when you said we had no furniture? I had to go back into Suite 6 just to make sure no one had stripped us of the couch and coffee table and desk for one to work from that was in your room. The continental breakfast which is complimentary by the way, I believe would be adequate... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For years my mate and l have been driving across from Melbourne to Adelaide for the Tour Down Under. And we break the journey around about here. We found this place excellent. Spacious rooms, generous breakfast supplies in the room, friendly staff. And they recommended a very good local restaurant, reviewed elsewhere. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank AustraliaAnthony
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hi Anthony, Thank you for your kind review recently. We are glad you liked our hospitality here at the Alexander Cameron Suites and we look forward to accommodating you both again on your way through Penola. Nanette & the Team. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We'd pre-booked and after an easy drive from Dunkeld, Vic, we overnighted in Penola on our way home to Adelaide. It was reassuring to find that the reviews on TripAdviser were totally reliable. Our Room 14 was on the end of a block leading away from the road, surrounded by gum studded paddocks and no traffic noise as most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay M
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kay, Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast we supplied and it was enough to start you day with. We look forward to having you stay with us another time. Best wishes, Nanette & the Team. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was very clean, which was wonderful! Also, the rooms were HUGE! Such a treat for motel style accommodation. The breakfast provisions were continental style and more than adequate. The IGA is pretty much next door and is huge, so you won't go without anything you might need. The internet was great for leisure (occasionally patchy but most people aren't... More 

Helpful?
Thank LilyMB
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hi Lily, Thank you for your review about out motel recently. It is much appreciated. Glad to hear the soundproofing was good for you! Do let us know if we can accommodate you again in the not too distant future. Nanette & the Team. More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful experience. We stayed two nights while we were passing through the Coonawara and they were excellent! It stands out as the gem on our trip because unlike similar properties in other destinations, they provided free breakfast and they cleaned our room and refreshed our towels daily. It was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina300
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hi Sabrina, Thank you so much for your generous review of late. I am bias I know, but I think the motel is a real gem too, that's why we like working here! We are very happy that you enjoyed yourselves here and we look forward to catching up with you again soon. Nanette & the Team. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

passing through Penola we decided to stay overnight , as we checked trip adviser for hotels Penola the Alexander Cameron Suites came up with excellent reviews and let me tell you the reviews were spot on this Hotel was very clean with quiet large rooms with a Host that was very willing to assist with any questions we may of... More 

Helpful?
Thank casinomelbourne
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello casinomelbourne, Thank you for choosing the Alexander Cameron Suites for your recent stay. We are so happy that you did and we look forward to having you stay again soon. Nanette & the team. More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were really pleased with our accommodation here. A very clean and tidy motel style accommodation for 3 adult couples travelling around SA. The rooms were very roomy with a continental breakfast included. Very good value for money also and a great location for the Coonawarra wineries.

Helpful?
Thank Lancartea
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello Lancartea Thank you for your recent review. Glad you liked the continental breakfast supplied and you were happy with the spacious rooms we have. See you again soon I hope. Nanette & the team More 

Glenelg, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

What a great place after a 7 hour drive from Melbourne in searing heat. Spacious room, very good air-conditioning, and an IGA store next door. We loved the chance to relax, then have a 2-course meal purchased as the IGA and washed down with a beaut wine. The clever breakfast tray offered all we needed for the next stage of... More 

Helpful?
Thank murf2016
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We were so happy to hear that you were able to relax after your long journey from Melbourne and that your breakfast was greatly received. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Nanette & the team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
0.8 mi away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
0.0 mi away
Highbank Winery Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay