We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Abbotsford Country House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Abbotsford Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night midweek and Julian and Jane could not have been more accommodating. The room was glorious and comfortable, had a great heater, the bathroom was just lovely and the breakfast magnificent. Peace, quiet and rolling hills. We appreciated that the room had no TV, the little touches like chocolates and fresh lavender and the quality of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The accommodation was clean and had a country feel to it. The views from the property are spectacular. The hosts were very hospitable and even lit a fire for us in the main house for us to enjoy before we headed out for dinner. There is no TV in the room which we didnt mind but good to know for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaxxxm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

It was a wonderful break away from the pressures of life to just be able to relax and unpack your cares at Abbotsford Country Cottage. From the warm welcome from Julian as we arrived to the wonderful interaction with other guests around the fire at night. We can't thank Julian, Jane and Sophie enough for the care to detail that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pacola1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

We had a excellent weekend staying at Abbotsford. From the moment we arrived our hosts could not do enough for us. When quizzed they have an in depth knowledge of the community which really added colour to our daily adventures. The accommodation was warm, inviting and nicely appointed and clean. One of the highlights was sitting around the fire in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger C
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

While this place was clean and comfortable, it represented the worst value for accommodation we have experienced anywhere in the world. We have stayed at hundreds of hotels around the world and for the price charged, it is appalling value, even at its slightly discounted online rates. Unless you are prepared to pay over $450 per night, the room is... More 

Helpful?
Thank wilandale
Cannonvale, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Abbotsford recently and the entire experience was amazing. The property itself is magnificent and hosts are great especially janes great breakfasts....nothing is too much to ask. Enjoyed having a wine and cheese around the open fire place as well as chatting with other guests. Could not recommend any higher and will be back when next at barossa.

Helpful?
Thank Jon K
Stepney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

Terrible service, rude, arrogant and misleading - I would never recommend Abbotsford Country House to anyone. I was greeted by the owner after driving an hour and half from Adelaide, who then said I was lucky to have a bed??? After seeing I had a child, he then went on to tell me they do not accomodate children, although it... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn G
AbbotsfordHouse, Owner at Abbotsford Country House, responded to this review

This guest arrived quite late and we made a point of greeting them whilst they were in their car to ask their name. We do this because there is another accommodation provider next door to us and people confuse our driveways. So rather than them getting out of their car and coming into the guesthouse, we greet them at their... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

We had the most wonderful stay at Abbotsford's. The hosts Julian and Jane are absolutely delightful. From the nip of port and fudges on arrival, to the lovely cooked breakfasts, the wonderful advice on wineries and restaurants to visit it made our stay amazing. The location is very close to Lyndoch on a homestead a couple of kilometers down a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kestrel B
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Loved this beautiful place! Loved the cattle and the rolling hills! Loved the double showers and the beautiful hostess who cooks you amazing breakfasts. Can't recommend this enough to people to try! We had two nights here and we would tell anyone to visit! Love the couch, the fairy lights and the port in the room! Don't expect to watch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

A real disappointment - a rude owner, a tired faciiity, no WIFI, no TV (let alone pay TV), miles from nowhere. 1990s decor. We arrived at 12pm - a couple of hours early on Friday, Owner has his ute across the driveway watering a garden bed. He proceeded to tell us that we were early and could not check in.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hymie01
AbbotsfordHouse, Owner at Abbotsford Country House, responded to this review

Here is the response we posted on another site this guest chose to post on. It addresses part of his comments. "This guest’s post is a classic example of one’s reluctance to take responsibility for ones own actions. Booked by the guest through Booking.com six weeks ago. The site states clearly when booking, in black and white the following: 1.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndoch
3.5 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
1.3 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 3 in Marananga
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
6.9 mi away
Stonewell Cottages
Stonewell Cottages
#1 of 10 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lodge Country House
The Lodge Country House
#1 of 1 in Seppeltsfield
5.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in the Barossa at award-winning Abbotsford Country House. Enjoying breathtaking views and well-placed location to tour the Adelaide Hills and Clare wine regions. This fully hosted, Colonial Georgian guesthouse hotel has 8 beautifully appointed suites, each with substantial ensuites. Abbotsford promises an intimate stay and personalized service dedicated to a truly memorable Barossan food and wine experience. Includes: Full breakfast daily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbotsford Country House

Address: 219 Yaldara Dr, Lyndoch, Barossa Valley, South Australia 5351, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Lyndoch
Price Range: $212 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbotsford Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbotsford Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Country House Hotel Lyndoch
Abbotsford Country Hotel
Abbotsford Country House Lyndoch, Barossa Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay