We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Blue Shades Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Blue Shades Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location opposite the real old Queenslander Hotel 🍻🍷The Lemington. Very friendly and obliging owners Harry & Glevervive. We had a one bedroom suite in the "Business Class" block 👍🏿 very clean and tidy - the only thing missing was a kitchen sink 😹. We enjoyed this motel so much and the history of Maryborough we extended a further day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimmo4411
Genevieve K, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Robert for taking the time to tell us ,and other travelers , that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Shades. We do try very hard to make sure that all is good here for our guests I seem to remember that we had a bit of fun didn't we ? Happy Travels !

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed October 13, 2016

The motel is over priced for the age of the place, it is past it prime, but it is still a nice small tidy place. Is a little overpriced for the size and condition of the rooms, but its location close to the Bruce Highway is it's draw card making it a good choice for an overnight staff when travelling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cosie C
Genevieve K, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your Review Cosie Firstly we are NOT a small motel .We have 36 rooms - Executive Rooms, Business Class Rooms ,Family Rooms sleeping up to 7 people, and Standard rooms that sleep either two or three people. You have stayed with us twice Cosie ,so when you speak of "the motel" ,you are speaking of your experience...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Firstly hats off to Harry and the team. It was great to arrive late from Brisbane and everything being set just to collapse into bed at the lat hour. Nothing was too hard Really appreciated the room upgrade and to be able to see the boys at play in the pool without even leaving the room. We had a Family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QLDTravelGuru
Genevieve K, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review

Hello Qld Travel Guru Thanks very much for giving us this feedback Its really very important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable, and actually the best part of having this business ,is meeting so many great people,and seeing that they are enjoying their stay See you next time - but book early for those pool rooms And...

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Great motel! very nice people, and everything seemed clean. They offer breakfasts (not included), and have a laundry room and pool (did not see it, though). I have not walked around the town. Totally recommended for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank germolinal
Genevieve K, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Andres and family. Thank you for staying here at the Blue Shades Motel in Maryborough, and thank you also for this Review I hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey in Australia I enjoyed meeting such a lovely family,and I very much look forward to seeing you all in Santiago in 2017

Hue, Vietnam
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We happened upon the Blue Shades on our way from Brisbane to Rockhampton to visit family. Reception was well-organised and the staff very informative and helpful. Thanks Genevieve for telling us about the Heritage District and Port area. We need another day and will certainly be back. Our Standard Room 5 was perfect- clean and comfy, and we had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NarnC
Genevieve K, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Narn for your kind Review Yes we have a great City here in Maryborough, and at the Blue Shades we do not like to let our visitors miss out on seeing whats here And yes ,I love Room 5 too ! We look forward to your return

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

We Stayed here in Maryborough on an over nite business trip, great clean comfortable hotel and in a good location. Jen the owner was lovely and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and quiet. Definitely worth your time and money when I'm town. Check out their new website for pics and info.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skye84
Bernie681, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review

Hey Skye Thank you so very much for taking the time to tell everyone that you were happy with your stay here at Blue Shades Yes the best part of our work here is hearing that our guests appreciate what we all do. Looking forward to seeing you next time around Genevieve, Harry,Nicole and Sastie

Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

If anyone is staying Maryborough i highly recommend you avoid this hotel at all costs. A rude and drunk owner threw abuse at the 5 of us staying there. Tried to order room service for 5 men got abused because it was too late although the restaurant was still open and had many patrons. After the initial trouble of ordering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
Genevieve K, Manager at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review

Hello Joel Thank you for your interesting review .We have made a change on it's account. A Few Facts for you Joel My husband Basil is a Teetotler - a complete non drinker , he is in his seventies, has peripheral and night vision problems, and when he stumbled and dropped a meal, he was delivering food orders into your...

Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed May 19, 2016

very close to town and food establishments .exceptional tidy comfy room with microvave and complimentary tea and coffee realy had an enjoyable overnite stay and the service was second to none they went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and wanted also they had full undercover parking for our showcar

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterceola
Genevieve K, Manager at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review

Hello Peter Thanks for going to the trouble to write this We were so proud to have your Show Car on display . What a beauty Yes its important to us here that our guests have everything they need during their stay Look forward to seeing you and that great car next time

Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed May 19, 2016

The room was spacious and very clean.Genevieve was more than helpful with our stay and we will be staying there again in the future.Plenty of undercover parking and security cameras made our stay easier. The motel is quiet and close to food shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank speedygal65
Genevieve K, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review

Oh thanks Speedy Gal for taking the time to tell us how much you appreciated our motel,and all of its features Look forward to seeing you the next time around

Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended. The most friendliest staff and management. Especially the manager Genevieve, she bent over backwards to accommodate our early book In . Very friendly and welcoming. Clean, tidy, with all amenities that we needed. Well done Blue shades. Will be recommending to everyone and will be back soon.. Cheers Layton

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lay74thompson
Genevieve K, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Layton for your generous feedback. You all certainly had a bit of fun that weekend. Your crew were great Book early for a pool room next year, as they sleep up to seven ! Maybe we will even see you before then

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maryborough hotels
1.8 mi away
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
#7 of 12 in Maryborough
40 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cara Motel
Cara Motel
#1 of 12 in Maryborough
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kimba Lodge Motel
1.0 mi away
McNevins Maryborough Motel
McNevins Maryborough Motel
#3 of 12 in Maryborough
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Shades Motel has 35 rooms ranging from Standard to Executive. We offer 4 star rated rooms. The motel is on the southern side of Maryborough on the main approach into the city and only 300 metres to the majestic Mary River. There are 7 family rooms to choose from sleeping 4-7. Dining options are available 7 days a week and breakfasts can be served to your room. We are a family owned business and take supreme pride on providing our guests with a wonderful experience. We would love to have you stay over at our place, your home away from home. Come and see what makes us special! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Shades Motel

Address: 35 Ferry St, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Price Range: $88 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Shades Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Shades Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Maryborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Shades Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Good for an overnight staff on a long drive, handy to the Bruce Highway”
 of 5 bubbles c0siec, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“hope no one ever whinges about this motel or service (if they did they should be banned from motels state wide”
 of 5 bubbles peterceola, May 19, 2016 | Read review
“Main entrance has security cameras”
 of 5 bubbles speedygal65, May 19, 2016 | Read review
“Room 36 or similar are 2 room, exeuctive rooms (not flash but large & very quiet loction)”
 of 5 bubbles DamonM384, Jul 10, 2015 | Read review
“Extra space in executive rooms nice for stay longer than one night.”
 of 5 bubbles 716aaronm, Jul 7, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay