We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ned Kelly's Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ned Kelly\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2016

Stayed here numerous times over the years - NEVER AGAIN 3 people - 2 smokers - 1 non smoker - Paid $99.00 for the room and deducted a further $100 from our credit card accusing us of smoking in the room! Seat and ashtrays provided directly outside of room entry ( very smart) - If you dont want the smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robina R
Jade W, General Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this review

Hi John, in response to your review, despite allowing people to smoke nearby outside their rooms, we have actually never had an issue with this making the rooms smell so full of smoke, as it did after your stay, and we have owned this motel for many years. If you thought it was silly to put an ashtray and a...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in on of the cabin out the back, which was not made clearance booking. Not a motel room. No 24 hour reception. Phone and a key box. TV was on in room and key didn't work leading me to believe someone already had the room. Toilet had tiny bugs in it, show had what looked like mold. TV cut...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Jade W, General Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this review

Hi David, I am sorry to hear you didn't have a pleasant stay. You are correct, we do not have a 24 hour reception, but we do have 24 hour check in available. There are a few maintenance concerns with your room by the sounds of it, I hope you notified our manager. I will contact them to see if...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

The room was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was simply somewhere to sleep for the night and it covered that at a bargain price. The maintenance is at odds with itself. For instance the AC was fairly new and it operated quietly and was effective at warming the room. Conversely, the shower head came off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Jade W, General Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this review

Hi John, thanks for you review. I hope you reported the shower head to our onsite manager, if not, please email us with which room you stayed in so we can sort it out. Thanks again, Jade.

Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed June 5, 2016

So when we walking into the place it all looked good. Until we did a further inspection and found little things wrong. The toilet was leaking from behind it. There was big marks of paint missing on the walls. There was no smoke alarm fitted which is a major safety feature that needs to be fixed. The manager came out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
Jade W, General Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this review

Hi Danielle, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. Dana (our manager) has taken action to resolve these already. We hope to see you back sometime. Jade

landsborough
Reviewed May 8, 2015

Worst motel we have ever stayed in, while the price was definately cheap, the rest was bad, dirty bloody tissue found in my sons bed, a vallium under the bed, we stayed over a week due to work commitments, lucky it is only for sleeping.the motel was dirty and never saw the owners, but when I did complain they did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona K
Jade W, General Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this review

Hi Fiona, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you had been given a room that was not up to standard. I am glad Tristan managed to sort it out for you when you brought it to his attention. I am having a meeting with him this week to put better procedures in place for checking the cleanliness of...

Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

We stayed there on the night of the 25th april 2015 If we weren't so tired and being near midnight when we picked up key .would have gone elsewhere Carpet not clean Hair in shower drain Hair in basin drain Loofer and a glove hanging in shower Hair dye over bathroom mirror Hole in ceiling Broken Remnants of 2 smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mick R
Jade W, General Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this review

HI Mick, Thank you for letting us know of the trouble you had. It sounds like our Manager there may have accidentally booked you in to a room that wasn't clean. I will have a talk with him regarding this and make sure he has a good system in place to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. If you...

Queensland
Reviewed December 29, 2014

We had prebooked as we were travelling and needing to stay on Boxing Day whilst driving through. The Hotel is a long way out of town which is inconvenient as there is nowhere nearby to eat. We arrived a little early and our room was ready which was nice. But that was about it. The bed was uncomfortable, the TV...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MagneticFriend
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed December 26, 2014

We stayed here on a whim when passing though Maryborough, and although we had our expectations set relatively low, we were pleasantly surprised. The last minute decision allowed us to negotiate a great rate for a cabin which turned out to be clean and have good facilities including A/C, microwave, kettle, fridge and strong hot water in the (surprisingly clean)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael11298
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed September 15, 2014

After Driving for close to 10 hrs was good to arrive at a nice well kept Motel room was clean tidy nice hot shower location good But Bed was a little noisy as i tend to move around during the night but overall would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David O
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Ned Kelly Motel in Maryborough at the end of August on the way home to Sydney, and it is worth reporting a place where the people who run this motel care for their customers. Reasonably priced at $79 for two and included a nice continental breaky, the beds were comfortable, the room was nice, modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 335Bob
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maryborough hotels
2.6 mi away
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Cara Motel
Cara Motel
#1 of 12 in Maryborough
232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arkana Motel
Arkana Motel
#8 of 12 in Maryborough
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Blue Shades Motel
Blue Shades Motel
#4 of 12 in Maryborough
76 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kimba Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ned Kelly's Motel, Family friendly with 23 Motel rooms and 30 + 2 bed room cabins, renovations are in progress with freshly painted rooms NEW Beds and Mattresses for that great night sleep on the road. NEW MANAGERS DOUG AND VERNA, are here to assist you!! just ask! Pool at complex and child friendly play center next door. All you need for that stop over or break away!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ned Kelly's Motel

Address: 148 Gympie Rd, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Price Range: $48 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ned Kelly's Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ned Kelly's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ned Kelly's Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room at the back of the property as it is on a main road.”
 of 5 bubbles 959danieller, Jun 5, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid at all costs, pay a little more at the Westside Tavern/motel, and enjoy your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles fionak487, May 8, 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay unless you really have to.”
 of 5 bubbles MagneticFriend, Dec 29, 2014 | Read review
“If looking for a budget good value Motel then you cant go wrong with this 1”
 of 5 bubbles F9558IMdavido, Sep 15, 2014 | Read review
“Rooms on the high side appear larger.”
 of 5 bubbles 335Bob, Sep 1, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay