We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pippies Beachhouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pippies Beachhouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 263: English reviews
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The beds were awful and the cooking space was tiny, also it isn't there fault but people were too loud so late which stopped not just us but others sleeping. The staff are helpful which makes up for some of it.

Helpful?
Thank jakeythesnakey21
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decent hostel, I think most people stay here when doing the fraser island tour (like we were). I slept here for 2 nights, one night was in a mixed dorm which was fine - standard for a hostel, although could do with more plug sockets and the mattresses on the beds were incredibly squeaky and pretty uncomfortable. Second night I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annabel L
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Pippies before and after a Fraser Island tour, as other reviews have said it could do with updating a little bit but it had a good location and the staff were great. Katie in particular was really helpful! After breaking my phone the night before check out she gave me instructions how to get to Brisbane without... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

This hostel is absolutely fine for a night or two and the staff were really nice. It is in a good location, near the bus stop and the beach and the beautiful sandblow. However it is quite basic and could probably do with updating. Our room, the female dorm, was right by the TV room and the TV was on... More 

Helpful?
Thank 675rose123
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

We stayed at Pippies for 4 nights total, before and after we went to Fraser Island and we enjoyed our stay. We got a double room so that we weren't sharing a dorm room. The double rooms (I believe there are 2 of them) are upstairs in a building towards the back to the property. Only the 2 double rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank fife_4
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

The hostel does need a bit of updating and we were staying in a glorified tent! BUT it was kind of cute, you also had a heater do it wasn't cold at all. We had a little decking area outside our room which was cool. Staff were quite nice, and the tour of Fraser Island was amazing!!! I had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BONBONSXX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

Fraser Island is really gorgeous and a tour is the way to go if you're not familiar with 4x4 driving or you don't know the area. We went with Pippie's because they were recommended to us by our travel agent. They were very accommodating when we had to reschedule. There was also tons of food available for our group. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiCricket85
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

I've been travelling and living in hostels for over a year and this is the worst experience I've had. We were booked in here for 2 nights either side of our Fraser Island tour (we were not on the Pippes Fraser tour, we chose Cool Dingoes) and both nights were awful. On the first night we were greeted with one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zara B
pippies, Front Office Manager at Pippies Beachhouse, responded to this review

Hello Zara, Thank you for your review and we apologise for the experience you had staying with us - this is definitely not what we aim for! We did have problems with the guest you are referring to and tried to manage it as best we could, without hindering other guests. The cancellation of your room was a mistake on... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rainbow Beach hotels

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

I accidentally booked to stay with Dingos (neighbouring hostel&tour) when I booked onto the Pippies tour. However, unlike Dingo's, Pippies were very welcoming and friendly towards me despite my mistake and allowed me to stay at the hostel on my return trip from Pippies Fraser Island tour...which was fantastic!! The guide was superb-fun&knowledgeable. The tour was fun and visited many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy-Rose96
pippies, Front Office Manager at Pippies Beachhouse, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is greatly appreciated and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your tour. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Regards Pippies More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

The hostel is near to the bus stop which was a positive. We booked into the double room of the 'unit' which was a little walk from the main hostel. This was good as it was quiet (we are not the party types), but the whole place had a weird smell and the bathroom was damp, mouldy and with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rainbow Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#8 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
#2 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pippies Beachhouse Backpackers is centrally located in the Heart of Rainbow beach just 200m walk to the beach, opposite the bus stop. We are the smallest hostel in Rainbow Beach with no bar, so have a relaxed atmosphere where you can swim in the pool, or relax in a hammock with your own glass of wine if you like. We have a variety of adventure activities for you in Rainbow Beach as well as our Famous 3 Day 2 Night Guided Tag-Along Tour to Fraser Island where you can drive your own 4wd or hop in with one of our experienced guides to show you a camping adventure of a life-time!! We have our base camp at Cathedrals with hot showers & toilet facilities, camp fire each night and best of all a permanent camping area, so it is ready for you when you arrive!! No setting up and packing up! Now with FREE WIFI & Breakfast for every guest! We also offer boomerang workshops, with lessons :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pippies Beachhouse

Address: 22 Spectrum Ave, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Price Range: $45 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pippies Beachhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pippies Beachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay