We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pippies Beachhouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pippies Beachhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at Pippies before and after a Fraser Island tour, as other reviews have said it could do with updating a little bit but it had a good location and the staff were great. Katie in particular was really helpful! After breaking my phone the night before check out she gave me instructions how to get to Brisbane without... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is absolutely fine for a night or two and the staff were really nice. It is in a good location, near the bus stop and the beach and the beautiful sandblow. However it is quite basic and could probably do with updating. Our room, the female dorm, was right by the TV room and the TV was on... More 

Helpful?
Thank 675rose123
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Pippies for 4 nights total, before and after we went to Fraser Island and we enjoyed our stay. We got a double room so that we weren't sharing a dorm room. The double rooms (I believe there are 2 of them) are upstairs in a building towards the back to the property. Only the 2 double rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank fife_4
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel does need a bit of updating and we were staying in a glorified tent! BUT it was kind of cute, you also had a heater do it wasn't cold at all. We had a little decking area outside our room which was cool. Staff were quite nice, and the tour of Fraser Island was amazing!!! I had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BONBONSXX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fraser Island is really gorgeous and a tour is the way to go if you're not familiar with 4x4 driving or you don't know the area. We went with Pippie's because they were recommended to us by our travel agent. They were very accommodating when we had to reschedule. There was also tons of food available for our group. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank KiwiCricket85
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

I've been travelling and living in hostels for over a year and this is the worst experience I've had. We were booked in here for 2 nights either side of our Fraser Island tour (we were not on the Pippes Fraser tour, we chose Cool Dingoes) and both nights were awful. On the first night we were greeted with one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zara B
pippies, Front Office Manager at Pippies Beachhouse, responded to this review

Hello Zara, Thank you for your review and we apologise for the experience you had staying with us - this is definitely not what we aim for! We did have problems with the guest you are referring to and tried to manage it as best we could, without hindering other guests. The cancellation of your room was a mistake on... More 

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

I accidentally booked to stay with Dingos (neighbouring hostel&tour) when I booked onto the Pippies tour. However, unlike Dingo's, Pippies were very welcoming and friendly towards me despite my mistake and allowed me to stay at the hostel on my return trip from Pippies Fraser Island tour...which was fantastic!! The guide was superb-fun&knowledgeable. The tour was fun and visited many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy-Rose96
pippies, Front Office Manager at Pippies Beachhouse, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is greatly appreciated and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your tour. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Regards Pippies More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

The hostel is near to the bus stop which was a positive. We booked into the double room of the 'unit' which was a little walk from the main hostel. This was good as it was quiet (we are not the party types), but the whole place had a weird smell and the bathroom was damp, mouldy and with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma M
Colorado
Level Contributor
454 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

I was traveling with my adult daughter and we decided to stay here and it turned out to be very pleasant. There are lots of great things about it, including: it's right across the bus station, conveniently located to town and stores, the staff is very friendly, it's not a party place, it's a nice place to hang out during... More 

Helpful?
Thank ColoTravellers
Pippies22, Manager at Pippies Beachhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your review :) I will check out the heaters in the rooms and see if they maybe need servicing. I will definitely replace the pillows and the go through what is needed in the kitchen, as occasionally things get borrowed from the Kitchen and never returned, Thankyou again for your feedback and for staying with Pippies. More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel before our Fraser Island tour and it was amazing. Wifi was excellent which is hard to come by, and showers and toilets were clean. The staff were super friendly. As for our tour... We had a blast! We went last week with Brett and he was an incredible guide. We had so much fun with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Courtney F
Pippies22, Manager at Pippies Beachhouse, responded to this review

Hi Courtney, Thanks very much for your review :) Its great hearing the positive feedback! I will let Brett know about your comments too :) Safe Travels on the rest of your adventure. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainbow Beach
0.2 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
#2 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#8 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Sea Resort
Rainbow Sea Resort
#6 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pippies Beachhouse Backpackers is centrally located in the Heart of Rainbow beach just 200m walk to the beach, opposite the bus stop. We are the smallest hostel in Rainbow Beach with no bar, so have a relaxed atmosphere where you can swim in the pool, or relax in a hammock with your own glass of wine if you like. We have a variety of adventure activities for you in Rainbow Beach as well as our Famous 3 Day 2 Night Guided Tag-Along Tour to Fraser Island where you can drive your own 4wd or hop in with one of our experienced guides to show you a camping adventure of a life-time!! We have our base camp at Cathedrals with hot showers & toilet facilities, camp fire each night and best of all a permanent camping area, so it is ready for you when you arrive!! No setting up and packing up! Now with FREE WIFI & Breakfast for every guest! We also offer boomerang workshops, with lessons :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pippies Beachhouse

Address: 22 Spectrum Ave, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Price Range: $45 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pippies Beachhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pippies Beachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay