We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge

2 Springs Road | 1770, north of Bundaberg, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677 , Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 197: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What can I say about this place, my title says it all! Cool Bananas is without a doubt the best hostel on the East Coast. This is due to the great, upbeat and homely atmosphere; the cleanliness; the abundance and quality of facilities; the friendly and helpful staff; and the amazing food. I really wish every hostel throughout my travels... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harriet H
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing environment, atmosphere, staff, food and really clean! Couldn't fault anything about the hostel- not a lot to do in the area if there for a few days (surf lessons, beach, 1770 and bikes). The hostel is so good you are more than happy to stay for a few days and can truly enjoy your experience!!

Helpful?
Thank ladiesthatlunch122
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Cool bananas felt like home to me. The dorms are basic, but nice. The common area is amazing. Plenty of couches and sockets to chill, really inviting atmosphere to talk with fellow backpackers. Would stay in Agnes Water just for this hostel! Every night they offer meal deals and crepes for $4! (Def recommend those!). If you want to learn... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angelique H
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

I don't usually write reviews but Cool Bananas seems to be an undiscovered gem on the East coast. It is by far the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in, excellently equipped, spacious rooms, beautiful eating and chill out areas. FREE tea & coffee, body boards, games, movies and wifi. You really get the feeling the people here really care and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan B
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two weeks and it really Is the best hostel we have ever stayed at, we have stayed in over 25 hostels and this Is by far the cleanest hands down and offers so much like free tea and coffee, surf lessons for $20 which are very professional or If You wanted really good... More 

Helpful?
Thank jakeythesnakey21
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

I loved there.... If possible I really want to go back there. Staff is kind. Owner is always...always always help me!!! Ok now write down for Japanese!! 本当に最高でした。結構バッパーは回ってきたので分かるのですが、とにかくキッチンがきれい!!このポイントは大きいですよ!夜は広いリラックスルームでみんな一緒に映画鑑賞。アジア人が全くいないので海外を感じられると思います。サーファーの人なんか特に、そうでない方にも有料ですがレッスンがあります。ぜひローカルならではの雰囲気があるバッパーで休日を。。

Helpful?
Thank mnippy0825
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Such a lovely hostel, a real family atmosphere. You feel completely comfortable with leaving the room door open because everyone is so chilled and friendly! Although there is a safe if you need. The kitchen is really spacious and there's a meal and crepes cooked every night which are amazing!! Within walking distance of everything you need, and there's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethan W
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

One of my favourite hostels I've ever stayed at. Clean, spacious rooms, nice showers, well equipped kitchen, lots of space to sit outside or in the common room. Good atmosphere and friendly staff, they really had some great tips on what to do in the area. Agnes Water isn't a very exciting town, but Cool Bananas is a great hostel... More 

Helpful?
Thank ManonPlatje
cool B, Duty Manager at Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review :) ... we're so pleased you appreciate the cleanliness and chilled atmosphere! Agnes Water may not be an "exciting" town, yet there is still so much to do here, or you can do nothing at all and just enjoy a break from all the partying on Fraser Island, in Noosa/Rainbow Beach, and on sailing trips... More 

Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

So clean and comfortable, spacious with lots of places to hang out. Chilled vibes. We had a tent and could pitch it up the back, was brilliant with use of all facilities. A cook cooks a mean every night for $7 we had kangaroo burgers and chips with crepes for dessert it was awesome. Really recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Courtsharp11
cool B, Duty Manager at Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed the facilities, especially the World Famous crepes!!! More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile

The old man who seemed to be in charge was absolutely in the wrong job constantly shouting at staff rude to guests everytime I left my room he seemed to be moaning at someone new no manners what so ever at one point he was nearly screaming at one staff member for "using the wrong dustpan and brush" he was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keelan A
cool B, Duty Manager at Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we value all comments (both good and not-so-good) as such comments help us to maintain and improve the service we offer to guests. We're sorry the Owner left a bad impression with you, but so pleased that you have a good impression of Cool Bananas overall :) He built the Hostel 14 years... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
1.3 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers at 1770
Backpackers at 1770
#1 of 17 in Agnes Water
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachside Backpacker 1770
Beachside Backpacker 1770
#10 of 17 in Agnes Water
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
#11 of 17 in Agnes Water
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#3 of 17 in Agnes Water
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge

Address: 2 Springs Road | 1770, north of Bundaberg, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Price Range: $20 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay