We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Devils Marbles Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wauchope
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Devils Marbles Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Start your review of Devils Marbles Hotel
 Click to rate
Bundeena, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night on a powered site. Wanted to visit the Devils Marbles, which were fantastic, I even preferred it to the Olgas. A must visit at sunset. Just like most roadhouses along the Stuart Hwy, lots of dust and basic but clean amenaties. Highlight was the very nice food in the pub. I had the Baramundi which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zel J
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Zel J, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed the barra and the service. Wishing you well on your travels. Cheers Greg

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well done on what you have done with this place. Few years ago I called in it was a terrible place. But now we called in going to SA after we seen ads on TV. Truly beautiful and toilets are clean, what a change around we had a lovely cup of real coffee and egg and bacon sandwich absolutely delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hammie R
Greg_Targett123, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Goodonya Hammie, thanks for that. Funny you should talk about the place prior to us purchasing it because according to the grumpy outgoing owner we don't know anything and the place will never be like he had it...pfff... We wish you well on your travels and hope it's not too long before you can visit us again. Cheers..!!

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For a hotel in the middle of nowhere the Devil's Marbles Hotel is a great overnight stop or a destination for a longer stay. The food is great, the drinks cold and the accommodation welcome. The single rooms are basic but adequate for an overnight or longer stay. There is camping available as well as the cabins. The beer garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bulletjeff
Greg_Targett123, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

G'day Bulletjeff, thank you for your wonderful review. I must say it's not the easiest place to maintain being so remote, but it makes it all the more worth it when folk like your good self acknowledge it. We wish you well on the rest of your journey and hope it's not too long before you can visit us again....

Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

Had a flat tyre at the Devils Marbles so had to stay the night earlier than planned. Very surprised. Very clean and excellent showers. The bar and beer garden was lovely. What a gem!!! Loved it. Spent the Dawn Service there on 25 April. Superb.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buffynjack
Greg_Targett123, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Buffynjack, thank you so much for your wonderful review. Sorry it wasn't under better circumstances. Having a flat tyre out here is a real bummer. We wish you well (and better luck) for the rest of your journey. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again. Cheers Greg

Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

We stayed the night, the food, service and reception was as good as it gets. The rooms are ok and clean. All amenities are spotless. This is the best place to stay along the Stuart Highway, I've stayed in them all. It's worth stopping in for a meal if your driving on further. We will be going back there again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

G'day Jeff & Kate, That's one hell of a review and we really appreciate it.. thank you..!! We're so pleased you had a great experience with us. I'm actually taking our chef down to Alice for an industry award he doesn't realise he's getting in a couple of weeks to acknowledge the magnificent job he does. It's even better when...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here instead of Tennent Creek based on a recommendation from another traveler. They said that the food was fabulous- and it really was. Lovely beer garden and bar area just next to the pool. Not sure if it's suitable for tent camping (gravel ground) but fine for campervans etc and seemed to have cabins available too. Facilities were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Greg_Targett123, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Melissa, thank you for your fabulous review. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope it's not too long before you visit us again. Wishing you all the best for the rest of your journey. From all of us at the DMH

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

If I'm honest I was dreading staying over here. There were no pictures of the cabin we were staying in available online. Some of the reviews were mixed. It was brilliant! The pub was lovely with easy friendly staff. The new lady from Scotland was really chatty and friendly. The pool is fab with great chairs around it to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola163
Greg_Targett123, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nicola, thank you for taking the plunge against your gut instinct, We're stoked you had a great time with us. Coincidentally we're installing TV's in those rooms this month. We hope you're enjoying your journey and hope you can stay with us again. Cheers Greg

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed February 16, 2017

If your expecting the Hyatt, this place is not for you, but if you want a clean, comfortable, ultra friendly place to stay that's dead smack in the middle of the outback do yourself a big favour and stay. From when we arrived the manager Annie, her girls Sarah and Maddie could not have been more welcoming or friendly, making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussietom
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Aussietom, yes the girls do a great job.. except for Maddi that is.. she's my daughter and we can't praise her because she has a big enough head already.. Bernie our chef is a ripper too. We wish you well on your journey and hope it's not too long before you visit us again. Cheers Greg

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed January 25, 2017 via mobile

We stopped here on our way through . Stayed in one of 2 new family cabins that could sleep up to 8. It was clean and comfortable. Had drinks and dinner at the bar. Was great to see some other dishes besides the normal pub grub. It was tasty also. The garden was a lovely place to relax and enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pawtella
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Great stuff.. thank you. We thought winning the Gold Plate award in 2015 was a fluke but winning it the second time in 2016 gave us some confidence we're doing something right. Bernie our chef and I have tried hard to offer a bit more variety so it's great when people like your good selves acknowledge it. Thank you once...

Emerald, Australia
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

We spotted here for lunch after visiting Devil's Marbles & were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious! One of us had the smashed avocado while the other had the barra burger. Both were delicious! We sat in the beer garden which was cool thanks to fans & the pool. We would recommend stopping here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkKaren2015
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review..!! Yes, we're very lucky to have Bernie our wonder chef. We wish you well on the rest of your journey and hope it's not too long before we see you again. Cheers Greg

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wauchope
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.0 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.0 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An unexpected oasis in outback Australia. Fine food, wine and beer selection. Beautiful beer garden, spotlessly clean rooms, pool and closest amenity to the Devils Marbles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Devils Marbles Hotel

Address: Stuart Highway | via Alice Springs, Wauchope, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Wauchope
Number of rooms: 13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Devils Marbles Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Devils Marbles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I had an updated cabin”
geoffm604, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“2 de luxe cabins very comfy”
shirleyh45, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“The deluxe rooms would suit a larger group or families, all rooms are fairly basic and overlook the carpark.”
V6190WPamandah, Aug 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ideal positioning of cabins at edge of powered camping sites. Cabins handy to walkway through to beer garden and hotel”
  • Cabin
  • Saying above bed in cabin - love it!
MarkM699, Jul 19, 2016 | Read review
“The wifi isn't great - you have to be near the bar to get service ( it's provided by NT gov not by the pub )”
SGM475, Jun 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question