We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Baggy Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Baggy Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place. Staff so friendly and hospitable. Perfect location for surf, gorgeous scenery, lovely little communal dining area to relax in. Couldn't ask for more. Thanks for a lovely stay xxxx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Baggys surf lodge for 4 nights and we couldn't be happier with the service we received! We stayed in the 'Oysters' room, which was beautifully furnished, the bathroom was very modern and very clean through out. The house rules we felt were not unreasonable at all, and if anything made you feel like you were staying somewhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulalouise1987
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Dan. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Mike x

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 21, 2016

My fiancé and I stayed one night in the Mavericks room @ £110 per night. The room interior was really lovely, spotlessly clean and has a very comfortable bed. All room furniture is of a very high standard and the overall interior selections were superb. The shower room is also done really well, with fantastic interiors - however there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leesa Jayne B
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Jayne. I am glad you appreciated our accommodation. Sorry about the room being "cold". The heating does come on in the afternoon automatically (it is not on all day as we are a B&B, not a hotel), but there does seem to have been an issue, which is now resolved. I hate house rules too, and...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2015

Stayed here as competition winners. According to our taxi driver the place had been recently refurbished... WOW! He was right. It's furnished, decorated to a very high standard. We stayed in the nicest of the three double rooms as it had the sea view, but having ad the opportunity to nosy around all three they were all pretty amazing with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DZ27
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review DZ27. Hope to see you again soon. Mike x

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed September 24, 2015

As surf accomodations go, this place is one of the best I've been to. The attention to detail (of the room), as well a the quality of the rental materials was excellent. Breakfast is simple, some toast, coffee and cereals. Only minor nitpick was the lunch, didn't really like it. Too bland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernd V
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Bernd V, thanks for your review. If you let me know what you had for lunch, I will try and un-bland it. Cheers Mike x

Reviewed September 7, 2015

We arrived at Baggy Lodge to a very friendly, helpful Mike who was always in good spirits, even after falling out of the loft!! Gorgeous setting with a fabulous view across Croyde Bay. Lovely animals kicking about including Bagpuss the cat and Norman the sheep, both very affectionate and harmless. The surfing instructors themselves gave really good feedback on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Anna. Hope to see you again soon. Mike x

Bristol
Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch before walking the coastal path to woolacombe. Two sandwiches, a beer and a wine came to over £20 which was a little steep I thought. Nice food though and friendly service. Could do with one more person serving though as, if someone orders a few coffees, the will be tied up for ages at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsFussyBristol
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review MrsFuzzyBristol, Glad you enjoyed most of it. A Beer a glass of wine and two kids sandwiches (we don't do adult size sandwiches) comes to £14.90. So it sounds like you were overcharged. If you would like to pop back in with you reciept we will refund you. Sorry, not sure what happened there. We always...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 30, 2015

I don't need to Write a review, just look at the way he(mike) responds to people that have stayed and given baggys constructive criticism. (Constructive criticism- is the process of offering valid and well-reasoned opinions about the work of others, usually involving both positive and negative comments, in a friendly manner rather than an oppositional one. The purpose of constructive...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank alexK7188YF
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Dear alexK7188YF, Sorry I am a bit confused! Is this review of our facilities or the service we offer? Or is it a rant about my method of responding on trip advisor? Perhaps there should be a separate review site for that activity. Hey! Also sorry that you accidentally parked right in front of our "NO PARKING - This access...

Worcester
Reviewed July 28, 2015

excellent budget (£33) accomodation a very short walk to the north end of the beach which apart from the bunk beds could be confused for a much more expensive hotel / B&B. In the day the properly doubles as a beach cafe, and has a view over the beach. Refurbished by the owner this has been finished to a high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmoggy
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Cmoggy We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Mike x

Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

Booked last minute here not knowing what to expect. The lodge itself is part of the main house and very clean and tidy. We had the Oyster Double room with ensuite which was idea. Tastefully decorated, gorgeous bathroom and very friendly staff. Made for a great weekend for me and the girlfriend. Make sure you say hello to Norman the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UncleTravelingMap
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Hi UncleTravellingMap, Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon Mike x

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,589 reviews
3.3 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
685 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
3.0 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#11 of 14 in Woolacombe
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
B&B Accommodation with en-suite double rooms and shared bunk rooms. Also a day time cafe and evening bistro. On-site surf school (Lyndon Wake) and surf equipment hire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baggy Lodge

Address: Croyde Bay, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Price Range: $32 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Baggy Lodge Croyde, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Baggy Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“3 height bunk bed is the main accomodation”
  • kitchen
  • wetsuit outdoor shower area
  • outside cafe dining with view of beach
 of 5 bubbles cmoggy, Jul 28, 2015 | Read review
“Lower rooms noisy due to wooden floors above”
 of 5 bubbles S5252FKjonb, Jun 28, 2015 | Read review
“If you want boutique hotel bling then book the double bedrooms....superstar. Some showers have lambs......”
 of 5 bubbles queenp222, Apr 23, 2015 | Read review
“Oyster room was lovely & spacious if a little noisy but I think honeymooners had the end room.”
 of 5 bubbles JulieSouthorn, Jul 17, 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in the 'Maverick' room which was handily located on the lower level and therefore straight onto the road but does mean hear noise from people walked in room above.”
 of 5 bubbles BeckieL1981, Jul 10, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question