We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Baggy Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Baggy Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Baggys surf lodge for 4 nights and we couldn't be happier with the service we received! We stayed in the 'Oysters' room, which was beautifully furnished, the bathroom was very modern and very clean through out. The house rules we felt were not unreasonable at all, and if anything made you feel like you were staying somewhere... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulalouise1987
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016

My fiancé and I stayed one night in the Mavericks room @ £110 per night. The room interior was really lovely, spotlessly clean and has a very comfortable bed. All room furniture is of a very high standard and the overall interior selections were superb. The shower room is also done really well, with fantastic interiors - however there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leesa Jayne B
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Jayne. I am glad you appreciated our accommodation. Sorry about the room being "cold". The heating does come on in the afternoon automatically (it is not on all day as we are a B&B, not a hotel), but there does seem to have been an issue, which is now resolved. I hate house rules too, and... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

Stayed here as competition winners. According to our taxi driver the place had been recently refurbished... WOW! He was right. It's furnished, decorated to a very high standard. We stayed in the nicest of the three double rooms as it had the sea view, but having ad the opportunity to nosy around all three they were all pretty amazing with... More 

Helpful?
Thank DZ27
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review DZ27. Hope to see you again soon. Mike x More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

As surf accomodations go, this place is one of the best I've been to. The attention to detail (of the room), as well a the quality of the rental materials was excellent. Breakfast is simple, some toast, coffee and cereals. Only minor nitpick was the lunch, didn't really like it. Too bland.

Helpful?
Thank Bernd V
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Bernd V, thanks for your review. If you let me know what you had for lunch, I will try and un-bland it. Cheers Mike x More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

We arrived at Baggy Lodge to a very friendly, helpful Mike who was always in good spirits, even after falling out of the loft!! Gorgeous setting with a fabulous view across Croyde Bay. Lovely animals kicking about including Bagpuss the cat and Norman the sheep, both very affectionate and harmless. The surfing instructors themselves gave really good feedback on our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna M
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Anna. Hope to see you again soon. Mike x More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch before walking the coastal path to woolacombe. Two sandwiches, a beer and a wine came to over £20 which was a little steep I thought. Nice food though and friendly service. Could do with one more person serving though as, if someone orders a few coffees, the will be tied up for ages at the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFussyBristol
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review MrsFuzzyBristol, Glad you enjoyed most of it. A Beer a glass of wine and two kids sandwiches (we don't do adult size sandwiches) comes to £14.90. So it sounds like you were overcharged. If you would like to pop back in with you reciept we will refund you. Sorry, not sure what happened there. We always... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

I don't need to Write a review, just look at the way he(mike) responds to people that have stayed and given baggys constructive criticism. (Constructive criticism- is the process of offering valid and well-reasoned opinions about the work of others, usually involving both positive and negative comments, in a friendly manner rather than an oppositional one. The purpose of constructive... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank alexK7188YF
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Dear alexK7188YF, Sorry I am a bit confused! Is this review of our facilities or the service we offer? Or is it a rant about my method of responding on trip advisor? Perhaps there should be a separate review site for that activity. Hey! Also sorry that you accidentally parked right in front of our "NO PARKING - This access... More 

Worcester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

excellent budget (£33) accomodation a very short walk to the north end of the beach which apart from the bunk beds could be confused for a much more expensive hotel / B&B. In the day the properly doubles as a beach cafe, and has a view over the beach. Refurbished by the owner this has been finished to a high... More 

Helpful?
Thank cmoggy
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Cmoggy We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Mike x More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

Booked last minute here not knowing what to expect. The lodge itself is part of the main house and very clean and tidy. We had the Oyster Double room with ensuite which was idea. Tastefully decorated, gorgeous bathroom and very friendly staff. Made for a great weekend for me and the girlfriend. Make sure you say hello to Norman the... More 

Helpful?
Thank UncleTravelingMap
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Hi UncleTravellingMap, Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon Mike x More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We stayed in the double room (Sunset) for a weekend. Room was modern but with nice authentic features. Location was great being 5 minutes from beach and lovely view overlooking the bay. We can't fault the service and the family run atmosphere was inviting. The on site surf school made for a seamless trip. Would recommend to those looking for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luke R
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for you review Luke, Hopefully we will see you again soon. Mike x More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
3.3 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
2.6 mi away
The Gallery Lodges
The Gallery Lodges
#9 of 17 in Braunton
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
B&B Accommodation with en-suite double rooms and shared bunk rooms. Also a day time cafe and evening bistro. On-site surf school (Lyndon Wake) and surf equipment hire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baggy Lodge

Address: Croyde Bay, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Price Range: $33 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Baggy Lodge Croyde, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing