We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 358: English reviews
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's been yrs since I've stayed at this hotel, was another chain before. Holiday Inn (IHG) has done a great job modernizing this old hotel. Our room was small, but fine. the AC was either HIGH or lame, very cold and bathroom was TINY, but the room was fine. No breakfast offered, but the top floor restaurant was nice. Food... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeJm1093
rossendale
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room okay bed comfortable but the bathroom is just too small. Had to walk round the toilet to close the door and no window so in the hea5 having a shower was just awful. Top floor restaurant was nice,we didn't eat just had drinks reasonable priced. $7 to park overnight which I think is okay. Good location for Downtown.

Helpful?
Thank vikkiuk2006
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear vikkiuk2006, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate our room, bed, and our location among the others. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our bathroom setup. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this issue... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel close to everything downtown. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Would I have preferred the bathroom be a little bigger? Um yeah. You literally have to step beside the toilet to shut the door and if you're a bigger person then forget about it. Why even use the floor mat? It doesn't even fit in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Samantha G, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are pleased to know you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area. On the other hand, we are sorry you were not satisfied with the size of your bathroom and the hours of our restaurant. We take our guest comments very... More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
324 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stay here before, close to Legislative Building and other places. Now the parking is $7.00. The bathroom are very small, but the staff at the front desk are very nice. The bed, TV and the wifi are very good. No mini frige in room. With all the restaurants near by that would be very helpful to put your... More 

Helpful?
Thank woodchop7
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night and we were relatively happy. The room was clean and well maintained but I was disappointed that we had to pay for parking and breakfast wasn't included. Great location near restaurants as well; we would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank ChadR135
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a retro hotel with updated finishes. I thought the building structure was cool, built in the 60's? The finishes appear to have been recently updated, seemed like new to me. It was a great location for walking to show a Red Hat...maybe 10-15 minute walk? Good food at the Flying Saucer next door. The room was good, somewhat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ned L
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Traveled to Raleigh for a nights get a way and loved this hotel. The guy at the front desk was very polite and very helpful with my questions. Stayed on the 19th floor and had a wonderful view of Raleigh. The breakfast buffet was also really good. I must say that all of the employees that I encountered were extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith H
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

During a conference, I stayed at this location. The round hotel is interesting. It is centrally located and within walking distance of attractions and restaurants. The front desk staff was helpful. The hotel is old but the rooms were nice. The bed was comfortable and the sink area was large. The toilet/shower/tub were very small. There is a restaurant on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethabc123
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stay if you like to walk. The building is a little odd but the doors are offset from the hallway. So once we were in the room we never heard a peep from outside and it was a busy weekend. Not a super luxury but nice enough since we spent most of our time exploring downtown. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason C
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed here for 5 days for a family wedding. The rooms were nice and clean the hotel staff was always helpful and friendly they have a restaurant on the top floor with a view of the city rooms were a decent price and the buffet wasn't bad either not a bad hotel to stay at I would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank lonewolves1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raleigh
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#42 of 83 in Raleigh
3.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
1.2 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#35 of 83 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly rebranded to the Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, you will find all of the modern conveniences within our historic building located in the heart of Downtown Raleigh. Just blocks from NC's State Capital, Raleigh's Convention Center, the performing arts, fine dining and nightlife. Our hotel has completed its full renovation including guestrooms, restaurant and lounge, business center, fitness center, exterior entrance and all function space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

Address: 320 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 1786 (Formerly Clarion Hotel State Capital)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Price Range: $122 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Raleigh
Clarion State Capital
Clarion Raleigh
Raleigh Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay