Pilot Knob Inn

361 New Pilot Knob Ln, Pilot Mountain, NC 27043-9507
Tobacco Cabin Suite
Traveler (419)
Cozy Cabins (850 sq ft ea)
Room & Suite (106)
breakfast with view of pool area and Pilot Mountain
Dining (17)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 B&Bs in Pilot Mountain
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Cabins & Honeymoon suites, Jacuzzi's and Hot tubs! Romantic Retreat at the base of Pilot Mountain State Park!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Breakfast available
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Gift shop
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
405Reviews5Q+A93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 332
  • 49
  • 11
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Theresa R wrote a review Jun 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Returned home from a 2 night stay in the Pilot Knob Suite feeling relaxed and serene. Pilot Knob Inn is one of the most relaxing places I have ever visited. Breakfast is cooked to order with multiple options, and the dining area looks out on Pilot Mountain. Pilot Mountain State Park and a nearby lake provide a chance to experience nature. Nearby Mt Airy offers cute shops, wineries, and restaurants. It is a great little getaway for singles or couples looking for a respite from the fast pace of modern life. Rooms and cabins include small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, wine glasses/corkscrew, Direct TV, and many have fireplaces, hot tubs or whirlpool tubs. Everything is super clean and thoughtful touches include cozy throw blankets, fluffy towels, and locally made soaps and lotions.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Allen, Owner at Pilot Knob Inn
Responded Oct 21, 2021
So glad you enjoyed the amenities and your stay! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review! Hope to see you soon! Thanks so much!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kirbyskorner wrote a review Nov 2021
Supply, North Carolina4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I made a last minute escape to the NC mountains and how fortunate we were to have found Pilot Knob Inn!! This B&B was a peaceful setting in God's magnificent mountains at the foot of Pilot Mountain, NC. The renovated tobacco barn cabin was spotless, The ownerJennifer and her sidekick Kathy were so friendly, breakfast was hot and delicious. My husband was thrilled to get his salty country ham. Only in the south!!. We enjoyed our walks to the lake with the colorful autumn leaves falling around us, our talks in the rocking chairs on front porch with our favorite beverages and listening to the gentle breeze. We were so blessed to find this gem of a get away and we will definitely be back. Thanks for creating this setting and sharing your cabins, food and wonderful conversations at breakfast. So hospitable, trully s southern get away!!
.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
INTrvlGy wrote a review Jun 2021
INDIANAPOLIS53 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stumbled on their website while looking for a place to stay not too far off the Blue Ridge Parkway that was not a chain place (more B&B style). Their website looked great, and the reviews were all pretty good, so I decided to book a night there. You'll wonder where you are headed when you find a long gravel road leading back to the property, but it is a great place. The pictures are accurate (at least for the Cottage, which I stayed in, and the public areas). The cottage was clean comfortable, with welcoming lights left on for my arrival. The bed was very comfortable for me (if you don't care for a softer bed, then this one isn't for you). Everything I used in the space worked well and I had a very nice stay.
Breakfast is fairly basic, but there was lots of fresh fruit (that actually tasted good!) and breads/pastries. The hot food is cooked to order, so it was fresh and good as well. Staff were super friendly and welcoming, which I appreciated.
I didn't spend much time on the property, but it all looked like a very relaxing place to base while exploring the area. And I was far enough back from Hwy 52 that I never heard any road noise. Everything is very secluded and great for a getaway alone or with someone.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Allen, Owner at Pilot Knob Inn
Responded Oct 24, 2021
Thanks so much for your stay and your review! We are glad you enjoyed it and we met your expectations & truly hope you return in the near future! Yes this one is a firm mattress with a pillow topper to make a good mix between firm yet comfy too! Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brian g wrote a review Oct 2021
Mount Airy, North Carolina11 contributions
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hot breakfast! Lots of options.

Beautiful place with a lake and view of the Pilot Mountain Knob. The room was dated but roomy. Some light bulbs were burned out. Room was oddly lit making it either too bright it too dim.

The hot tub, which was our main reason for booking this place, was chlorinated so much that it was unusable. We tried it, but it caused us to cough a lot and leave a rash on skin. Could see a thick ring of chlorine on the hot tub, but was told that had been there for "20 years". If that's true, then proper cleaning is not happening in the tub and is concerning.

The lake was nice but there was nowhere to sit unless you wanted to sit on the ground. No place for chairs as it's on a hill. Paddle boats were advertised on the website but there were no paddle boats. They had a couple of small boats and oars, but no oar holders, so that would have been difficult.

No kitchen to cook dinner and mini fridge was too small to store much food. Be prepared to dine out for lunch and dinner.

Operators were nice, treated you like a good friend.

Bathroom ceiling had brown marks on it, and some dirty grout in tiles. Needs some cleaning.

Road noise was a concern. It's very close to highway 52 and you can feel and hear trucks rolling by constantly. This was a problem indeed.

If you're looking for a place to stay where you won't be there much while you hike the mountain and tour the area, this is acceptable. However if you need a quiet place to stay mainly on property with things to see or do, this isn't it.

Don't count on the hot tub, it was a major disappointment. We were given a small discount, but not enough to make us risk the same issues again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Allen, Owner at Pilot Knob Inn
Responded Oct 21, 2021
As a 21 year owner/operator, we always want our guest to have a great stay. I am sorry that you weren't satisfied with yours. We are monitored by our county Health Dept concerning our hot tubs. The chlorine level in them is per their recommendation. I can assure you the tub isn't 20 years old. There is a stain on the tub from chemicals, although we clean daily it seems to be permanant. As far as the lake, you are more than welcome to sit on our dock, either the dock itself or in a chair. All the rowboats have a place made into the boat to hold the oars. This is something that cannot be removed as it is part of the boat structure. The road noise is probably most apparent in the room you chose due to it being the closest to the highway. Unfortunately, it is the price we pay for being convenient and easy acess! We do offer two rooms that have kitchen/cooking facilies yours was not one of them. We only advertise a small refrigerator, coffee maker & micorwave in our suites as they are not set up for cooking! Again I am sorry your stay was not what you expected. I was under the impression that you were satisfied when we adjusted your rate to try to make you happy. I am sorry that was not the case. Have a great day! Thanks Jennifer
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
victoriagrace23 wrote a review Sep 2020
Norfolk, Virginia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I recently traveled to the Pilot Knob Inn for a quick overnight getaway. We were interested in relaxing and getting in a little hiking and sightseeing. The checkin process was incredibly easy and contactless (which is lovely in the time of COVID). There were clear instructions on how to get to our room. When we arrived the room was gorgeous and in pristine condition. We stayed in the Castle Room - the pictures don't do it justice! The room is beautiful, the woodwork is amazing, and the amenities (private sauna and jacuzzi) were perfect after a long day of traveling and hiking. In the evening we took a short stroll down to the lake and did a bit of fishing. What a beautiful view! So serene. After dinner, we made our way back down to the lake and did some stargazing (even managed to catch a spot a few shooting stars). We were also able to get a quick early morning hike in at Pilot Knob Mountain (it's about five to ten minutes away by car) before breakfast at the Inn. Kathy made a delicious breakfast and Jennifer made sure we were taken care of. All in all, I couldn't recommend the Pilot Knob Inn more enthusiastically. We hope to come back again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DME wrote a review Nov 2022
Greenville, South Carolina324 contributions185 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Accommodations are cozy and comfortable. Cabins have what you need including comfortable beds, plush towels and great water pressure for the shower. There is an in room coffee maker, microwave and small refrigerator. The log cabins are not new and include plenty of character that fit their age. Kathy is the housekeeper and breakfast attendant/cook and she is delightful. The owner, Jennifer, is welcoming, helpful and accommodating. Located vey close to Pilot Mountain State Park. There is some road noise from the nearby highway but that did not bother me. Like most B&B properties, this one comes with a lot of character that fits the setting and locale. And its very comfortable. If you seek a contemporary hotel experience this may not be for you. Pilot Knob Inn is and place to relax and get a respite from a day of outdoor activities, shopping or sightseeing. I will return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Very dark if you arrive late at night but easy to self check in. The leave the lights on.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Need4relaxation wrote a review Jun 2021
Denton, North Carolina40 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is such a pleasant surprise. Tucked away adjacent to Pilot Mtn. State Park, it offers full amenities in both the cabins and rooms. We could feel our blood pressure going down the longer we stayed.

The breakfast cooked by Kathy was the best we have ever had at a BandB. We stayed in one of the old tobacco cabins and it was perfect. We look forward to returning in the future.

The reason I say it's a "98% Perfect Getaway" is that you will hear some road noise due to the property's proximity to Hwy 52. It's not distracting, but we did hear the steady sounds of traffic the whole time we were there. We might rent one of the cabins on the property that are further away from the hwy the next time we go.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose cabin 3 or 4 to reduce level of highway noise you will experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Allen, Owner at Pilot Knob Inn
Responded Oct 21, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to review us! We do realize we are very close to the highway even though we are on 100 acres - that is the price we pay for being so convenient! We will always notice it is better in the summer than the winter due to leaves on the trees - Hope you come to visit us again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Godrulesall19 wrote a review Jun 2020
23 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Not far from where we live yet felt a million miles away, so that's a nice get-a-way : ) A very rustic place, in the woods.
Enjoyed a delicious "home-cooked breakfast" which sometimes is hard to find, with excellent service, all while enjoying the scenic view from the deck.
We hope to return to PKIBNB.
p.s. loved the Soap and shampoo!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Crystal G wrote a review Aug 2021
Aynor, South Carolina4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely LOVED staying at this beautiful rustic tobacco barn style cabin! (Cabin 2) The property is very quiet and peaceful. Me and my husband spent one afternoon fishing on the lake located here on the property- row boats, canoe, paddle boats were available for our use at no cost!! (Catch and release only) We we’re able to see some wildlife during our stay.
We enjoyed the cabins deck which was accessible from our bedroom! We slept in both days so we didn’t take advantage of the breakfast included with our stay. Definitely would stay here again!! Only thing we would’ve liked to have was a fire pit! But that wasn’t a deal breaker for us!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Allen, Owner at Pilot Knob Inn
Responded Oct 21, 2021
Thank you so very much!!! We are so glad you were able to enjoy the boats and the property! Sorry you missed the breakfast! I agree a firepit would be awesome unfortunately due to the wooded area we are in our Insurance does not allow outside firepits! Hope to see you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Right below pilot mountain you will find The Pilot knob Inn. If you need an escape from stress or just need a cozy romantic weekend I strongly suggest this bed and breakfast. They have beautiful cabins you can stay in that are extremely well kept. If I'm not mistaken they have suites at the lodge as well. My girlfriend and I stayed in cabin 3. It was amazing! Comfortable cozy living room with a fire place, giant bathroom with a jacuzzi jet tub, stand in shower and the best part, a loft style bedroom upstairs. The beds are very comfortable and there is a balcony with awsome rocking chairs right outside the bedroom. They have awsome home cooked breakfast every morning that you will not want to miss. Kathy and Jennifer make you feel like family, you know you are welcome, they are awsome people. The property is amazing, great for morning strolls or sipping coffee on the front porch. It is very quiet and peaceful. They also have a beautiful lake with a couple of Jon Boats and a canoe that you can use. If you are into fishing like I am the lake is a must. The bass fishing is realy good. Little cove on the left of the lake is a great spot or even just of the bank. Spinner bait, small paddle tails, or black worms work great!
I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a weekend getaway. It is not hard to find and once you are there you will never want to leave! Awsome place! We will definitely be going back many more times to come.
Thank you all at the Pilot knob inn.
-Nick & Jessica
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from sonnystar
pilot mountain6 contributions
Yes always
Cynthia G asked a question Oct 2020
Winston Salem, North Carolina3 contributions
Your pet policy? Thank you!
Answer from Godrulesall19
23 contributions6 helpful votes
As far as we know and remember, no pets : ( We wanted to take ours, as a great place for them and we enjoy bringing them on trips.
blainepatino asked a question Jun 2016
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Any cabins with two bedrooms?
Answer from sonnystar
pilot mountain6 contributions
The cottage is a two bedroom unit with a king and queen bed. This unit is free standing with full kitchen. All of our cabins and suites all are restricted to guest 18 and over. Thank you for your interest.
luvtovaca111 asked a question Mar 2016
Baxter, Tennessee96 contributions52 helpful votes
How close are you to main street in pilot mountain?
Answer from MissPawley
Wilmington, NC75 contributions23 helpful votes
As the other responders have stated, the lodge is about 10 minutes away from the town of Pilot Mountain.
Answer from sonnystar
pilot mountain6 contributions
Hi our breakfast is served in the breakfast room although a lot of guest will come and pick up and bring back to their room we have trays we can fix for you to make it easy to carry. All rooms and cabins are non smoking, but you may smoke outside. Our closest restaurant is in Pilot Mountain the town 5 min away we have Mountain view, Soppers,GoodTimes BBQ, and a really good Mexican restaurant and more. Fine dining is about 10 minutes away in pilot if that far to Jolo's and they are alway a winery. Our direct website has a link under extras that goes intones details in Mount Airy there are lots of options and in King these are both close. We would love to have you visit! Thanks Jennifer
TeenTeen321 wrote a tip Dec 2023
North Carolina6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are a few small steps up to the penthouse suite, I had my husband lift my suitcase up those for me :)"
Read full review
Meander780271 wrote a tip Nov 2023
New Bern, North Carolina12 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"It was bright in our room at night, so a cabin is probably darker at night. Definitely get breakfast!"
Read full review
Hope J wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a peaceful , rustic country vacation this is your hidden paradise. Friendly staff and the cottage was spotless. "
Read full review
FloridaRD-13 wrote a tip Sep 2023
Ft. Lauderdale, FL34 contributions80 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a make up mirror Choose Room 11 Bring cat treats, they have a cute cat that walks around "
Read full review
Bruce M wrote a tip Sep 2023
Seymour, Tennessee9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't skip the breakfast - best I have ever had at any B&B."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pilot Mountain area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
pilot knob hotel pilot mountain
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaPilot Mountain
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PILOT KNOB INN - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Pilot Knob Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Pilot Knob Inn?
Nearby attractions include Pilot Mountain State Park (0.4 miles), Mount Pilot Antique Mall (2.7 miles), and Mount Pilot Country Store (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pilot Knob Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Pilot Knob Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Pilot Knob Inn?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pilot Knob Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pilot Knob Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include End Posts at JOLO Winery, Tlaquepaque, and The Tilted Ladder.
Are pets allowed at Pilot Knob Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Pilot Knob Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Horne Creek Living Historical Farm (5.6 miles) and Colonel Jack Martin Rock House (6.7 miles).
Does Pilot Knob Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars