We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3895 Mill Creek Rd, Old Fort, NC 28762-7658
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Official Site
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (75)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 06/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Inn on Mill Creek
Updated 06/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
4.7
The Inn on Mill Creek is a nature-inspired Bed & Breakfast and a site on the North Carolina Birding Trail near Black Mountain and Asheville, North Carolina. Situated on more than seven private, wooded acres, two miles inside Pisgah National Forest, the Inn on Mill Creek features five comfortable and spacious guest rooms and full breakfast every morning. Connect with the outdoors and get some nature therapy while enjoying multiple garden spaces, a boardwalk over a half-acre wetland portion of the property, seating on the deck near our small pond, and a walking labyrinth, as well as access to hiking/biking trails and plenty of space indoors and out to relax and take vacation at your own pace.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
158Reviews6Q+A52Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 141
  • 15
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Justin D wrote a review May 7
Anchorage, Alaska136 contributions52 helpful votes
Our experience is obviously the polar opposite of all the other visitors. Just to qualify our review, we have stayed at alot of B&B's across the U.S. and Europe. If you want to stay at a place that is remote, requires a winding dirt road to access it, and hands-off innkeepers, then this place is for you. The reservation was seamless and email communication was very good. They have a digital guide book with helpful information about B&B directions (lack of GPS signal), when you arrive, things to do, etc. We were welcomed by Bridgette, who had us fill out check in form even though we had already completed the self check-in. Not a big deal. She showed us to our room, the Carolina, as well as where the meat & cheese board we purchased was located. It cost $50 but it had alot of meats and cheeses so kudos on the that. Now, for the bad. The size of the room was nice. That was the worst bed I have slept in . The last time I slept in such an uncomfortable bed was the military. This mattress has not been changed out in probably a decade. The left side has this canoe/divot that only comes from multitudes of people sleeping on the exact same spot without turning or rotating the mattress. Then, if you try to roll to the middle, you have an edge to roll up on. Everyone has a preference for firm or soft mattresses, but it was way too firm for me. We weren't offered any other types of pillows other than these standard flat pillows. Another interesting point was they did not even ask us how we slept. They were so unconcerned with our sleep and meal they provided. That brings me to the next negative. Bridgette would call her husband, Chef Dave. He is by no stretch of the imagination a chef. The first morning we were served kielbasa sausages, potates, and unseasoned eggs. I was incredibly surprised for hotel style food to be served here at the rate we were paying. Then next morning we were served a pumpkin spice dutch baby with strawberries and blueberries, unseasoned eggs again, and sausage links. I've never heard of anyone serving pumpkin spice outside of autumn and he never tasted the fruit before serving it. The blueberries were inedible. They were so no ripe they were impossible to eat. If you want coffee, it is only served from 0730 and is not an all day offering. It would appear that after breakfast is served, the coffee only lasts as long as what is in the curafe. The only question we were asked was if the A/C needed to be turned on. As far as I am concerned, for a B&B, they failed on both accounts. I would not return to this place as it gets listed in the most mediocre B&B I have stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Brigette Walters, Owner at Inn on Mill Creek
Responded yesterday
Justin, thanks for your feedback, which we always take seriously. However, being someone who deeply cares about our guests and their comfort, this review stings, especially since we did try to be thoughtful and anticipate your needs when you told us what you were going through before and during your stay. Dave and I wish we could have had the chance to make things better for you while you were here, instead of reading about your unhappiness after the fact. We do our best to adjust to each guest’s preferences while they are here with good communication, and there was clearly a failure here. I’d like to clarify some items – you reserved our room with a split-twin king, which is two twin mattresses (4 years old, in our lowest occupancy room) plus a down-alternative king topper. Additional pillows are available. You were here midweek before our busy season; we could have moved you to another room. I do ask how guests have slept, especially this time of year when the whip-poor-wills sing, but if I somehow forgot, that’s on me and I apologize. Water, sodas and hot tea are available at all times, and we can make fresh coffee available earlier than 7:30 a.m., and in the evening, too. Your first breakfast’s shirred eggs were seasoned with rosemary, and my recollection is that your side egg scramble with the second breakfast had the freshly cut chives from our garden omitted by request when we were told you weren’t feeling well and wanted breakfast in your room. Salt and pepper shakers are a regular part of the breakfast setting, and other condiments are available. I call my husband Chef Dave in a playful manner because guests started calling him that years ago against his modest nature (plus I like to delineate that he is making breakfast, not me as many assume), and because he’s particular about certain things with his breakfasts. I’m sorry if it didn’t come across in the lighthearted way it was intended. I agree with you that your perspective is, as you say, the polar opposite of our other guests, which includes a review left online by a guest who was here at the exact same time. Dave and I are just two regular people trying our best to provide a quiet, comfortable, unpretentious B&B stay. We hope that our 15-year history of good reviews from guests who wanted and had that experience doesn’t create unrealistic expectations.
Read more
Ken K wrote a review May 1
1 contribution
Absolutely one of the best B&B stays we have experienced to date. Private, peaceful, beautiful!! Amazing host couple and a home/estate that will have you saying “WOW” a lot. Cannot wait to go back for another stay. Short trip into one of our favorite little mountain towns… Black Mountain!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Brigette Walters, Owner at Inn on Mill Creek
Responded 2 weeks ago
We're humbled by your kind words! Thank you so much for staying with us! It was truly a delight hosting you both and getting to know you. We are very much looking forward to hosting you the next time you're in our neck of the woods.
Read more
YorkshireTraveller12 wrote a review Mar 2022
Yorkshire, England321 contributions283 helpful votes
Stayed for 3 nights this month purely because of the excellent reviews already on Tripadvisor, we had the Maple Tree Room in the adjacent Deck House as we wanted the use of a kitchen facility and it proved ideal for us. Dave and Brigette are excellent hosts, both chatty and helpful with local information. Especially liked the tasty breakfasts and being able to sit at the large communal table and talk to fellow guests, really enjoyed talking to Joe and Monica. If we are ever in this area again we would certainly stay here in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Brigette Walters, Owner at Inn on Mill Creek
Responded 2 weeks ago
Sending our gratitude to you for staying with us and sharing about your stay. It was so nice to hear great conversation being had at breakfast! You were fantastic guests and we hope to see you again someday.
Read more
Ellen M wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
This is an amazing b&b. Owners are super nice and knowledgeable of the area. The rooms are spacious, clean, and cozy. The shared spaces have lots of options for games, tv watching, or just relaxing. The breakfast each morning was phenomenal. We are definitely planning on returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Brigette Walters, Owner at Inn on Mill Creek
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience - we're so glad you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you any time you are back in our neck of the woods.
Read more
44sailor44 wrote a review Dec 2021
Wilmington, North Carolina1 contribution
The Inn on Mill Creek was a relaxing and peaceful get away. Brigette and Dave were the best hosts and make every guest feel welcome. The breakfasts in the morning were incredible and the room was wonderful and relaxing. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Brigette Walters, Owner at Inn on Mill Creek
Responded 2 weeks ago
A belated thank you for your kind words! I will pass along your breakfast compliments to Innkeeper Dave. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
thomaskV8492TQ wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We were looking for a relaxing home away from home to spend our anniversary, we found it at the Inn on Mill Creek. Owners Bridgett and Dave could not have been any more welcoming or accommodating. The road the inn is on may not be for everyone (a narrow dirt road winding it's way up), but so worth the drive once you arrive - the grounds are secluded, peaceful and healing. We stayed in the Evergreen Room mid-October and enjoyed it's beautiful views of the garden and brilliant colors of the fall foliage - both sitting on the screened porch as well as through the wall of windows while enjoying the warmth and romance of a gas fireplace in our room. Breakfast is truly amazing! A wonderful twist on comfort food that was as much a delight to the eyes as to the pallet. As B&B's go, the Inn on Mill Creek has found the perfect balance of making you feel welcome and at home, at the same time knowing when to step back. Bridgette and Dave have a wealth of information to share from hiking trails to restaurants and were spot on with every suggestion they made. I could not have enjoyed our time more and will definitely be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Charles R wrote a review Sep 2021
Williamsburg, Virginia21 contributions32 helpful votes
My wife and I just spent 4 nights at the Inn on Mill Creek. Owners Brigette and Dave Walters are the ultimate hosts. Having stayed in many B&Bs/Inns, the Inn on Mill Creek is right at the top of the list for first rate hospitality with guest comfort and enjoyment their top priority, The setting is peaceful and so restful. Stay in the Evergreen Green for its views, screened porch and 5 star bathroom! Breakfasts are to die for as are the fresh baked treats put out each day. Do not miss those! You will not find more caring, gracious and friendly hosts who go the extra mile. And be sure and rely on Brigette and Dave's advice on hikes and walks in the area. They were spot on with their suggestions. Be advised that the nearby town of Black Mountain has limited but good restaurant choices. We recommend Bistro and highly suggest Hillmans Brewery in Old Fort. A unique building with a wide array of beers on tap.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Absolutely the Evergreen Room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Anne S. wrote a review Aug 2021
37 contributions13 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed in the Evergreen Room 2 nights toward the end of July. Our vacation focus had been the Blue Ridge Parkway and ending with the Biltmore. Brigitte had lots of tips for the Biltmore visit and both Dave and Brigitte had lots of information to share regarding routes to take, restaurants and the general area. The Evergreen room is spacious and provides a great view of the gardens. We could have stayed in the room and watched the hummingbirds forever! We've never seen so many in one place before. If you enjoy birds and flowers, this place is perfect. Breakfast was delicious, homemade and filling. The inn is spotless!! The only reason I did not rate it as "Excellent", is that the access road is not all paved and sometimes there are blind curves. This was a bit unnerving with bicyclists in the area and wild turkey crossing the road. If you enjoy wine/beer/cocktails, it would be best to enjoy at the inn and not before the drive there. We'd definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The photos provided on website should tell you what room is best for your situation.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kim B wrote a review Jul 2021
Lancaster, South Carolina11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This was my second, Hubby's first, stay at the Inn on Mill Creek. During breakfast on our last day, Hubby was already talking about 'The next time we come . . .' Both stays have been perfect. Both times the Inn has been immaculate. Innkeepers Brigette and Dave are gracious, accommodating hosts who know, and are involved in, the area. This house and Old Fort are their home, so they have a love and connection to both that transfers and is shared with their guests. Brigette's attention to detail is evident in the spacious but cozy, homey rooms and throughout the house. Dave's breakfasts are fabulous - hope you get the bananas when you go! They both take care of the grounds and gardens so there's beauty, color, and wildlife that blends in with the surrounding natural woods and creek. While the Inn is a perfect place to stay and take day trips to nearby Asheville, Old Fort or Black Mountain, the Inn is also a perfect destination on its own. A place to settle in, relax, and listen to the water rush by as you don't rush at all. We can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Lygaff wrote a review Jun 2021
Pensacola, Florida3 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a great stay. The view from our room (Evergreen room)was so pretty. The host were so helpful with restaurants and directions. The grounds are beautiful. The breakfast was outstanding. Thank you Dave and Bridget for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Brigette Walters, Owner at Inn on Mill Creek
Responded Jun 30, 2021
Thanks so much for your kind words - we are always so humbled and happy when guests have a great stay. It was so nice hosting you both and we hope you can make it back sometime!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$191 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsOld Fort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn on Mill Creek
Which popular attractions are close to Inn on Mill Creek?
Nearby attractions include Black Mountain Escape (4.1 miles), Catawba Falls (2.5 miles), and Black Mountain Town Square (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn on Mill Creek?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Inn on Mill Creek?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Inn on Mill Creek?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn on Mill Creek?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn on Mill Creek?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Red Rocker Inn Restaurant, Veranda Cafe & Gift, and Louise's Kitchen.
Are pets allowed at Inn on Mill Creek?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Inn on Mill Creek have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.