We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Islander Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Islander Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Islander Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 478: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Pros: on the beach, good location, close to everything Staff are friendly and helpful. We also liked the pool area. Nice, relaxed atmosphere at the pool. Cons: The rooms are in very poor shape--probably some of the worst I have encountered in the U.S. Certainly the worst I have encountered at the $200 a night price range. I don't know...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Geographia30
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Dear Valued Guest, We are unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We take your observations very seriously.We do take pride in our hotel and do our best to keep it in the best possible condition.We are sorry that your room was not...

Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This review is also for the wedding package that many will probably be interested in. 1st of all, Ocean Isle beach is a great place if you want to be away from creature comforts and just enjoy clean beaches and great local fare. The Islander Inn is not a resort by any means, but the staff are couteous, the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bvillan
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your wedding experience was a wonderful one.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony. Thank you so much...

North Carolina
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here with 4 of my girlfriends for a wedding. The location is great and has a beautiful view. The room was supposed to sleep 5, but beware it only sleeps 4. You have to pay $15 to check in early and since we were there for a wedding and 5 of us needed to get ready we decided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Appsgirl
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We take your observations seriously.However the room that you had was a room with 2 queen beds,the only rooms that have the pull out sleeper sofa is a room with a single king...

North Carolina
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Islander Inn is a great place to escape to and to avoid the busy tourists season on other nearby beaches in the area. We had our small beach wedding there during Memorial Day 2013 weekend and it was perfect. We could not have plan a perfect wedding without the help of Marnie, the General Manager for The Isles Restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheHardys2013
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very pleased to hear you really enjoyed our great "Tiki Bar".Also happy to hear you enjoyed our wonderful beach.We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful wedding on our beautiful beach...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place must have really gone down hill since some of the favorable reviews. To be fair, there are not a lot of options on the island for short term rentals (less than a week), the Islander is in walking distance to everything, ocean front rooms do have a great view of the water, and there is plenty of parking....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicholas S
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are unhappy to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected it to be at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. As you...

Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

First time stay at The Islander...check in was easy, staff was very nice. Our room was very clean. My only complaint about the room was the beds, the mattresses were way too soft. I did love having the coffee maker in the room. Balcony had a great view of the ocean. The continental breakfast was good, lots of options like...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ripple72
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very pleased to hear you really enjoyed our great "Tiki Bar".Also happy to hear you enjoyed the view from your balcony of our wonderful beach. Thank you so much for taking the time...

Akron, Ohio, United States
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last week, and regretted having to head home. We will most definitely stay here again. Fantastic view and cozy rooms. Continental breakfast was only ok. Could offer something more or have multiple waffle irons. Over all was a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah P
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We take your observations seriously and have added an extra waffle maker to our breakfast room.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view fantastic view of our wonderful beach. Thank you so much...

Belmont, North Carolina
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Islander Inn is on the beach. The staff was pleasant and our room had a nice view of the Atlantic Ocean. The complimentary breakfast was fairly good, although the choices were limited. They had a waffle maker with fresh batter so we could make our own hot waffles which were very good. Although the room was clean, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lstamps
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are always happy to get feedback from guests like yourselves and will take your points very seriously.We have already purchased new furniture for the balconys.We are happy to hear that you did enjoy our...

Rockwell, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice except they only have one elevator in 2nd building. Our room was in 5th building so we had to go through 3 buildings very inconvenient. Lots of walking at this motel. There during off season not alot going on seemed a little to quiet for my taste but overall a nice place. If i stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NinaMoore
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated.Next time you visit we will do our...

Charlotte NC
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A friend and I stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. Rates were good, front desk staff was helpful, breakfast was fine. My only complaint was with Housekeeping. There was only one hand towel when we checked in; when we hung towels up to be environmentally friendly, they replaced them; condiments were replaced rarely and cups not at all....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barbaraD255
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderfull beach from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
617 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
1,321 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
2,110 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
922 reviews
5.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range: $66 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Islander Inn staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Columbia, South Carolina
Goldsboro, North Carolina

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Islander Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Half of the rooms are ocean front, the other half face away.”
 of 5 bubbles ddbutton, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ocean view room is totally worth the price”
 of 5 bubbles C4742EUjosepha, Nov 25, 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly rooms are at the far end.”
 of 5 bubbles , Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“Pets in bldg. 7 only. Be sure you specify ocean view or soundview. All the views are good.”
 of 5 bubbles P6759ADkimb, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for seaside room with balcony. If you need it, ask for a room near the one elevator or you will have to climb stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 69oneidam, Sep 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay