We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Traveler (308)
Room & Suite (132)
Pool & Beach (15)
Overview
Visit hotel website
100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
3.5 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit hotel website
Offers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Special Offer:Double Points, Every Stay
Hotel deals
About
Description
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from More the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Hotel Style
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Style
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
170
Price range
$102 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront
Also Known As
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
,
Sheraton New Bern
,
New Bern Sheraton
Location
United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Courtyard New Bern
353 reviews
.27 miles away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
620 reviews
.33 miles away
Palace Motel
6 reviews
1.53 miles away
Comfort Suites New Bern
244 reviews
1.63 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 182 nearby restaurants
Bay Leaf
589 reviews
.25 miles away
Morgan's Tavern & Grill
1,576 reviews
.19 miles away
Cow Cafe
418 reviews
.30 miles away
Bakers Kitchen
957 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 72 nearby attractions
North Carolina History Center - Tryon Palace
820 reviews
.20 miles away
Carolina Creations Fine Art & Contemporary Gallery
114 reviews
.21 miles away
New Bern Farmers Market
51 reviews
.15 miles away
New Bern Riverfront Convention Center
35 reviews
.13 miles away
Reviews & more
1,325Reviews
337Photos
5Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 382
  • 339
  • 268
  • 193
  • 143
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
The hotel is poorly maintained and disgusting. The rooms smell and we found trash leftover from previous guests in our room. Upon moving us to a different room, the situation did not improve as we encountered dirty torn headboards and mold in the bathroom. The hallways are filthy
Read more
Response from Miri L, on behalf of management at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Carol W I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserved during your recent stay with us. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience as your satisfaction is very important to us. We try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us again soon so we may have the opportunity to make it right. Thank you, Miri L.
Read more
This is the place to stay. Right near the convention center and river walk. Fantastic town. Rooms somewhat dated, but friendly staff and spacioius rooms. Always enjoy the chocolate chip cookies upon registration. We also ate at the restaurant on site -- very good.
Read more
The hotel was located in a great spot in New Bern ... on the River Front. You can park the car and walk to most places. The cleanliness of the room was poor. The breakfast service was almost non-existent. We checked in around 4:30 p.m. and had to wait because the room we were ass
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Response from Denise-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Responded Sep 19, 2018
Dear MommaJane61, Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Read more
My family decided to try to visit the coast for Labor Day at the last second. To my surprise, we were able to score a room here with points at an amazing rate. True, it’s still about 40 minuets from here to the coastal beaches, but that’s do-able given our last second planning.
Read more
Location on the marina is excellent. But hotel needs real updating. The mattresses were uncomfortable. The water pressure was terrible. The lamp shades were cracked and ragged. Just watched the sunset, walked around the city and couldn't wait to check out.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Response from Calvin P, on behalf of management at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Responded Sep 12, 2018
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Center & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Example of room condition.
Previous
Are there microwaves in the rooms?
Yes. We had a microwave in our room in addition to a fridge and a coffee maker. We stayed in a riverfront corner suite which is larger than the standard rooms and included free, made to order breakfast. Extremely nice accommodations. Would highly recommend staying there.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi - what do the French doors lead to? A balcony? a window? a sitting room? do all the rooms have balconies and/or french doors? and are the whirlpool tubs large enough for someone 5’11”, or are they just standard tub-sized with added jets? Also, when you make a reservation, how do you know what building you’ll be in? are all the whirlpool rooms in the “Inn” building? thanks..
It appeared that all of the rooms had Juliette balconies. The glass doors were sliding doors, not French doors. The balcony was wide enough to stand on, but not large enough to place a chair. The room we stayed in did not have a Whirlpool tub, so I believe that is something you would need to request.
0 votes
Show all answers
I would like to book this hotel for a weekend. I have a Labradoodle and a Chihuahua ( very disciplined and clean). What are your prices and regulations for pets?
According to their website there is a $50 dep. and 50 lb weight limit. I'm not sure how strict they are with the weight limit, we have 2 Goldendoodles - 65 & 75 lbs. but didn't take them with us.
0 votes
Show all answers
I would like to know about any good seafood restaurants near the hotel and waterfront.
Good Morning I would first like to say that we have an excellent restaurant on property and on Friday nights we do a Seafood Exploration that our Chef is in the restaurant preparing a special fish of the day to order and also offers steamed clams and steamed shrimp and comes will all the side fixings. Our Chef Sonny does an amazing job. But we also have several other restaurants in the downtown area that are very good.
0 votes
hi I would like to know how big is the whirlpool in the king suite? and I was also wondering why I can't find pictures of the whirlpool anywhere
I'm sorry, but I honestly don't know. We didn't have a room with a whirlpool.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Forget it, do not book this hotel."
"Get a room with an ocean view."
"Outdoor bar on weekend nights can get loud. Ask for high floor. Also, ask if they have taken care of their ROACH problem on the deck."
"5th floor has balconies"
"On the waterfront. Beautiful view of the river."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing