We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7111 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (147)
Pool & Beach (53)
Room & Suite (29)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 11/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sea Foam Motel
Updated 11/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
See why so many travelers make Sea Foam Motel their motel of choice when visiting Nags Head. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Rooms at Sea Foam Hotel offer air conditioning and a refrigerator providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. A pool will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Sea Foam Hotel, free parking is available. During your visit, be sure to check out Jennette's Pier (0.2 mi), which is a popular attraction within walking distance of the motel We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Sea Foam Motel as you experience all of the things Nags Head has to offer. Check in is at 4PM Check Out is at 11AM
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Outdoor dining area
Badminton
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Wifi
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness classes
Vending machine
Bicycles available
Hiking
Snorkeling
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Family
Languages Spoken
English
264Reviews9Q+A87Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 97
  • 94
  • 24
  • 22
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
L D wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Let me just just say this was everything we were looking for! We decided to take a last minute trip a couple hours away for an event in the area. We found this place online and called. Not only was the staff member who answered extremely nice, she then told us to call back because we had specific requests that she said she was sure the manager could help us with. We did, and the manager who we talked to was beyond cool!! We of course book the room and then show up. WOW! I couldn’t have fallen more in love with this place! They hold onto all the nostalgia of old OBX, with the matchbooks, coffee cups, and accommodations! The manager is SO nice!! The property is how we like it Vintage but loved! My kids had a blast there as well. Highly recommend! My husband said let’s make this our place, let’s go here for very year! We love Sea Foam!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
1260LLF wrote a review Aug 2022
Murfreesboro, NC15 contributions7 helpful votes
In all honesty, I was reluctant to stay at this hotel. I was accustomed to staying at one of the chain hotels in Kitty Hawk with all the amenities you need. However, I was in for a very pleasant surprise. The room was very clean and very neat. I felt like I had gone back in time when I walked inside. It is not modernized like all the fancy hotels but is definitely nostalgic. It was comfortable and relaxing with the beach just a short walk away. Our 8 year old found a new friend and enjoyed himself thoroughly. The hotel staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. Our family will definitely stay at The Sea Foam again. It was a pleasantly surprising visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scott D wrote a review Sep 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1/5 This is not a place I would recommend! Dark, drabby, and dingy is how I would describe this place! We made this reservation a month in advance, read the reviews, some good some bad, but for the time of year, it was the only thing available ocean front that was less than $200/night. Yes, it was described as "retro motel", and retro it was! When we walked in to our room, we truly felt as though we had stepped back in time....but not in a good way! The room smelled terrible...it was a cross between musty-moldy and soured towels. The ceiling tiles were rusty and looked as though they were about to fall. The screen door going out on the porch barely hanging on and the screen was coming apart. The shower was "dirty"or "faded" or peeling. The walls were so thin, we could hear the couple in the adjoining room.The only positive was the cute tiny "retro" fridge in the room. Maybe that is where the "retro" description was applied. As you can see from the photos, the room was in terrible shape. We read several reviews about how this was a nice place to stay...so I have one question for those doing the reviews....what kind of hotels are you accustomed to staying? I realize this was not a Ritz Carlton or the Waldorf, but for $145/night (plus tax and fees, it equaled $163/night), I would expect better than this! Needless to say, we did not stay. There was no refund, I get it, there is a no-refund policy, but we had to get out of there. We did find a room back in Manteo, we really wanted to stay on the beach, but for last minute, that is what we had left available to us. After paying $490.47 for 3 nights, we were unable to speak to anyone in the office due to "contact-less check-in/check-out, we left the keys and the signed receipt in the drop box outside the office. On the back of the receipt was a list of our issues with the room. We received an email with our digital receipt, but no comments or apologies or anything about our concerns or why we left. The hotel we found was not ocean front, it was a few miles away, but was way less expensive and 100% better, and the staff was phenomenal. Our vacation wasn't totally wrecked, but it did put a damper on things. So again, I would not recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room was nasty and smelled terrible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Lilly, General Manager at Sea Foam Motel
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Hi scottd6371, I am so truly sorry you did not enjoy your time while in our care. In your room and on all of your paperwork there were 2 numbers to call (even if it was after hours). I wish you would have called and given us a chance to address your concerns. I would have been more than happy to move you to another room (including upgrading you) Unfortunately with you leaving without saying a word we were not given a chance to make things better for you. I'm truly sorry you were unhappy. I wish you would call me to discuss this so I can try to make things right with you. Your happiness honestly DOES matter to me. Take care
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
catlade54 wrote a review Sep 2021
Disputanta, Virginia107 contributions82 helpful votes
Pros - Wonderful view of the ocean from second floor rooms. Cons - Everything else. Decided to stay here because of the price, knowing that the place is old and not expecting anything fancy. Also had read many positive reviews. I was truly shocked at how awful our room was ! (Room 32). Mattresses felt like they were 50 years old. The screen door wouldn’t close and had a 2 inch gap at the top to let all the bugs in. Bathroom was tiny and the shower was so nasty we didn’t get in it (see picture). Ceiling tiles were coming loose and paint peeling off of everything. Had coffee maker and filters but no coffee ! We had to leave a day early because of a health problem but the manager refused to refund any of our money. Said she would give me a credit on a future stay - I would sleep on the beach before staying here again !!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Lilly, General Manager at Sea Foam Motel
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Hi Catlade54, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are preparing to go under some pretty significant renovations during our off season and I really hope you will come back to see what all we have accomplished since you stayed with us. I am really happy to hear you enjoyed the view (it is spectacular) but I truly am saddened to hear that your stay was not a fully happy one. We strive to help our guests make wonderful memories while in our care. I do hope you will give us another try in the future. Have a GREAT day and take care.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scootervol wrote a review Aug 2021
Knoxville, Tennessee182 contributions59 helpful votes
Location was great (beachside). Staff was very friendly. Pet friendly motel. I liked the charm of its history (on National Register of Historic Places), so obviously it’s an older motel. It’s not the Ritz-Carlton, so don’t expect it. There is no continental breakfast, but it’s a beachside hotel & there’s plenty of restaurants nearby. The bathrooms were built in the 50s, so showers aren’t huge but they’re serviceable & we had no trouble with any water issues. Our room had a ceiling fan & a window A/C unit that kept it quite cool. Old school keys (not key cards). Near Jeanette’s Pier, tons of restaurants, the outlet mall. Highly recommend it! If you want fancy, or want privacy, rent a cottage.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Lilly, General Manager at Sea Foam Motel
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Hi scootervol, Thank you so much for writing such a thoughtful and accurate review. You touched on so many of the small details about the Sea Foam that some people really have fallen in love with, yet to some it falls short of their expectations. This is a factual review of what to expect at the Sea Foam during a guest's stay. So thank you so much!!! We hope to see you again soon (we would love for you to see the upgrades were are currently doing...we think you will love them) Take care
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Austin A wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
My fiancé and I recently stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. I have been coming to Nags Head every year for the last 20 or so but since it was just the two of us, we got a small room as opposed to the normal large family cottages. The place has that old school retro beach feel, something you think of in a 80's movie. That's not a bad thing either. If you are staying longer than a ew days, I can see where the vibe might wear out, but for a quick trip it was just what we needed. As far as location, it's pretty perfect. You are right on the beach and in a perfect spot for some local dives for food etc. Being right by the pier and the outlet malls you also have a few locations to walk to that can fill some of the extra time if you like. The showers were a little small but you only have some much space in general on the island. The room did have a little mildew smell, but there was an dehumidifier in the room that quickly took car of that. It is also a older beachfront motel, so you kind of expect of little of that anyway. Could it use a face lift sure, but if you are looking to get away for a weekend, and need something fairly priced and convenient this is your place. Nothing mind blowing but also nothing really bad either, it is a good little spot to hang your head.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Lilly, General Manager at Sea Foam Motel
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Hi austina268, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a thoughtful review. I wanted to let you know that we have done a lot of upgrading to the Sea Foam since your stay with us. (and we are about to do a WHOLE LOT MORE) I think you will be pleased (we are keeping the charm and magic while addressing the issues) I truly hope you will come back soon and see all of the amazing things we have and are doing. Have a GREAT day and we hope to see you again soon!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brittiejo wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
It is with a heavy heart that I leave this negative review. My family had been coming here for decades, I have wonderful childhood memories of this place, but that’s where it ends. They still have the same bedspreads as they did in the 80’s. I get keeping the retro/nostalgia vibe, but the same bedspreads for 40 years?! The hotel has a great location but is dirty, and needs major renovations. The beds are uncomfortable, the towels and sheets are stained and dingy, I had to Clorox wipe everything in my efficiency when I arrived and it was filthy. The shower broke while we were there. We didn’t sleep at all with the awful beds and hearing the people in the room above us. When you don’t feel clean after you shower, that when you know it’s time to find other accommodations. My little nephew said this should be renamed to the sea scum!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Lilly, General Manager at Sea Foam Motel
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Hi brittiejo, I am truly sorry for your experience while in our care. We are still undergoing big renovations and we have a whole new staff that truly cares about helping our guests smile and creating happy memories. I hope you will one day give us another chance to show you all of the spectacular changes we are making. Have a GREAT day and we hope to see you again soon!! Take Care
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lovebug813 wrote a review Jul 2021
Glen Burnie, Maryland6 contributions4 helpful votes
Stay here year over year and I'm done. For the past 10 years they have said they're getting new beds. Well whatever, tired of waiting. The beds are hard and falling apart, you can feel the springs. Worst sleep in 3 days I ever had. Checked out day early because I couldn't sleep on the uncomfortable bed. I went to the office and informed them about the beds, and oh I'm sorry was the response. I know it's busy season, but I'm sure I could have been moved. Don't stay, Room 33 never stay. Also, room smelled of mold and mildew and felt very dirty. Then I went back into office and the lady mentioned well we have been working on stuff and we have moved beds. Well, you need to get NEW BEDS!!. Everywhere you turn there was someone smoking, yuck. The place is not good and it's not worth the money. The only nice thing is the view, but how can one enjoy, when someone is always smoking near by. Left day early because I was too tired and very irritable and un-relaxed. You go on vacation to have a nice time, well not worth my time or money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Lilly, General Manager at Sea Foam Motel
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Hello lovebug813, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wanted to address a few of your concerns. The scent in your room was actually the scent from the chemicals we use to deep clean the rooms after every guest leaves. Your health and safety are of the utmost importance to us. I didn't tell you we "moved" the beds around I told you we had upgraded many of our beds. Unfortunately people's preferences in beds and their comforts are very individual with some liking extra firm and some preferring plush so we try to meet in the middle. We were sold out during the time you stayed with us so there was no where else for me to move you (otherwise I definitely would have) I am really happy to hear you enjoyed the view (it is spectacular) but I truly am saddened to hear that your stay was not a fully happy one. We strive to help our guests make wonderful memories while in our care. I do hope you will give us another try in the future. Have a GREAT day and take care.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EMC wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a 4 night reservation starting in 7/5 (which was made on 5/10). I received a call from Lisa on 7/4 (we had already left home) at 6pm saying they forgot to cancel our reservation due to a hotel fire on 6/12. Two hours later she called back and stated she had a room for us. Needless to say we were extremely happy. However the room was only for 2 nights (cost more than original room) and the other two nights we would have to switch rooms. Ok fine but we had to pack up all our bags put in car and by 2pm our room was still not ready the girl said to me “technically check in is at 4 , this is peak season and I don’t know when it will be ready”. At that point I lost my patience and told her technically we shouldn’t have to check out if we had a 4 night reservation. I was so disappointed by her attitude, our family decided to cut our vacation short. I have emailed Lisa at the hotel and have yet heard back a response. It’s a nice location but how I was treated was very disheartening. So if you are going on a road trip I would recommend checking to make sure your room is available at this motel. Mrs. C
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Lilly, General Manager at Sea Foam Motel
Responded Jul 15, 2021
Dear Mrs. C, You are absolutely right, you should not have had the experience that you did. I take full responsibility. I let you down and for that I am truly sorry. If there is any chance that you would be willing to come back and try us again I would like to make it up to you and show you the experience you were supposed to have. It literally hurts my heart knowing we failed you as bad as we did. It's not normal and I would really like to rectify this so you can count on if you come and stay with us you will be able to create happy memories while in our care. I would again like to apologize. I truly am sorry.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lara in DC wrote a review Jul 2021
9 contributions
If you want to be right on the beach and can't organize a group for a giant Nag's Head beach house, this is a great option. The Sea Foam is clean, well maintained, and super friendly. The pool is lovely; there's a gazebo on the beach where you can have coffee and relax. And it's close to everything. As others have said, this isn't a luxury resort; it's a mid-20th century motel with basic amenities. But you can have a wonderful vacation there with no fuss.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Pet friendly room =/= directly on the beach. The 2nd floor oceanfront rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Lilly, General Manager at Sea Foam Motel
Responded Jul 6, 2021
Hi LaraInDC, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a kind and thoughtful review! I am so happy to hear that you were pleased while in our care. It is the MOST important thing to us that we took good care of you. We hope to see you again soon!! Have a GREAT day!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
sea foam hotel nags head, sea foam nags head
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksNags Head
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sea Foam Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Sea Foam Motel?
Nearby attractions include Jennette's Pier (0.2 miles), Outlets Nags Head (0.2 miles), and Outer Banks Olive (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sea Foam Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sea Foam Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sea Foam Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Sea Foam Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sea Foam Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Owens' Restaurant, The Dunes Restaurant, and Sam & Omie's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sea Foam Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Sea Foam Motel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Island Farm (3.9 miles), USS HURON Wreck (0.3 miles), and Roanoke Island Maritime Museum (4.0 miles).
Does Sea Foam Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.