We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scottish Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Scottish Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

Staff is friendly, bathrooms are very small and need a complete update and renovation, room is OK and clean but no closets, breakfast is very basic and there was just enough coffee but maybe some guests might have had bad luck and found an empty pot. Pool was not open yet, but this isn't mentioned on the website. Good for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johan D
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

Comfortable and clean room. Very nice staff. Motorcycle friendly as every place in the area is. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to anyone. Very pleasantly surprised with this location. Thumbs up.

Helpful?
Thank William L
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

This Motel is not worth the price you pay per night. Ended up booking this motel since there were no other vacancies available in Maggie Valley. The pros: fast check in and close to I-40, TV, and small refrigerator. The cons: very run down room, the pillows were very small and the cases were dingy ( wife covered hers with... More 

Helpful?
Thank von b

Travelers are raving about these Maggie Valley hotels

College Park, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful reception by Sam and Nikki. Cute little hotel enough for what friends needed. Very short drive from the Cherokee Casino. Breakfast was OK. Wi-Fi was good. Good enough stay I would highly recommend this place. The morning view is breathtaking. The only downside was it is cold in the mountains

Helpful?
Thank RnRalwayz
Edgewater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

Everything.. beds, sheets, walls, floors, furniture, bathroom.. everything is filthy, dirty and disgusting. GROSS! The office staff do not speak very good English. I would not reccomend this roach motel to anyone. EVER!

Helpful?
4 Thank JacFid
SImanager35, General Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review for our motel. I am extremely SORRY that you didn't enjoy your stay here. However I would like to inform you that we don't have roaches in any of our rooms or anywhere in the motel. The room that you stayed in is one of our best. The sheets... More 

Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Accidentally booked a smoking a room online; no rooms left by the time we got there late in the evening. Room was in poor condition. Woke up with a headache. Hosts switched us the next evening. Non-smoking room was in better condition, but still consider this to be a last resort motel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
SImanager35, General Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment of your precious time to write a review about your stay at our motel. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here. We had put you in smoking room because that's what you had reserved and we didn't have any non smoking available for that night but we did our best and... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015 via mobile

Our room was clean, roomy and comfortable. Our stay was enjoyable, no noisy neighbors! I would definitely suggest the Scottish Inn if you are looking for a clean room and comfortable bed without a lot of costly extras!

Helpful?
Thank vic_deans
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Our stay at Scottish Inn was wonderful period! Sam and his wife Nicki were the most friendly host that would go out of their way to help you with anything you asked for. We stayed 4 nights slept like babies in clean and well maintained rooms! Our cont. breakfast was always waiting at 8 am sharp and while we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

I stayed for two separate weeks for a very reasonable rate & found the motel very pleasant. Simple accomadations, but the super nice, helpful staff made me feel like I was at the Ritz. I had read some negative reviews, but thought I would give it a try anyway. Glad I did! The managing staff seem to genuinely care about... More 

Helpful?
Thank jcpphoto
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Found an open room here for a reasonable price. Front of the building a little run down. Room was comfortable. Neighboring room a little noisy during the night. Same room in. Cherokee would have cost double.

Helpful?
3 Thank JimPatrick
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
1.3 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#10 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#4 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Maggie Valley
2.9 mi away
Travelowes Motel
Travelowes Motel
#22 of 27 in Maggie Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Address: 178 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9662
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Price Range: $58 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay