We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cataloochee Ranch

Save
Share
119 Ranch Dr, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-8509
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (190)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (2)

About

#4 of 22 Specialty lodging in Maggie Valley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set a mile high on Fie Mountain, Cataloochee Ranch offers spectacular views of the Smoky Mountains. We're known for horseback riding for novice to expert riders, along trails of uncommon beauty. Take ambitious hikes or leisurely walks on our 800-acre mountaintop, fish in our trout pond, enjoy a wagon ride, or swim in our heated outdoor pool. We're adjacent to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, which has 500,000 acres to explore. Weekend evenings during spring, summer, and autumn at the Ranch are filled with cookouts, music, storytelling, and other entertainments with a mountain flair. Winter brings skiing and snowboarding at nearby Cataloochee ski area, less than a mile away. Lodging choices include six comfortable rooms in the main Lodge, 12 cabins that sleep from two to eight people, and six rooms in the Silverbell Lodge for larger gatherings. Breakfast is included in the daily rate, and a dinner package is available. Some of our cabins are pet-friendly.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
141Reviews9Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 92
  • 22
  • 11
  • 7
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Eye4Art wrote a review Nov 2019
Fort Myers, Florida28 contributions8 helpful votes
We were excited to book a room at this lovely lodge perched on a beautiful mountaintop as a getaway on a mother/daughter road trip from Florida . We arrived past 8:30pm due to heavy traffic . A kind person called to see if we were still checking in for the evening and to offer directions. They let us know that they were closing and a key at front desk for us upon arrival . When we arrived we found our room which was tidy and with the rustic authenticity we sought. A fire was burning in the main lodge which was really beautiful . It looks like a set from the TV shoe “Heartland”. We could not locate any bottled water . Did not know until we read the rules that this is only offered for sake in gift shop . A kind guest showed us where cups were located to get something to drink and we also used cups in room for water from the tap. Bring your own bottled water. We were exhausted and decided to hit the hay early . When we pulled back the sheets they were really wrinkled and had hair and a very large door colored stain. As the office was closed , we put the top sheet over and slept with a blanket . We were very cold and I figured out how to turn on the walk Discs heater to warm up and we found one more blanket in the drawer . The settings of max and min kept me up every 2-3hiurs to regulate our room temp . Next morning the breakfast was served buffet style . It was fantastic . Went to the front desk to explain about sheets and was told housekeeping could do after 1pm and that was it . Debated about checking out but they offered to wash our clothes also that were soiled in car trip. Super nice . We left and went on a long trail ride with anazing views . This along with pictures of hayrides and live music are the lure to splurge for this ranch experience . Unfurunatejy we are informed that fire outs required an advance reservation and there were no activities at all for us during this off time . As we did pay 216.00 per night we did not consider that reflective off an off time . We enjoyed that the breakfast was included but the riding was an additional 130.09 and a paid activity . Ski slopes wre open but tubing closed . I think a lot of people stay here different times and maybe like it then when things are offered . Unfortunately , we will not go back to try . Disappointed .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
kndra wrote a review Nov 2019
Atlanta4 contributions2 helpful votes
I love Cataloochee so much, in fact, my header is taken from there. I've been visiting since I was a kid and love the ranch and the horseback riding. The lodge is so beautiful and comfortable and the barn and the people that work there is such a wonderful experience. HOWEVER the woman at the front desk, the first person to whom you speak to, is HORRIBLE. She is such a miserable negative person that she has ruined the experience for my family. We are looking to go elsewhere from now on. I hope they make this change but since she has been there for years, I doubt it. It is unbelievable to me that she remains as the first person representative of this amazing place. So sad.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from penny058, Public Relations Manager at The Cataloochee Ranch
Responded Nov 4, 2019
We are very grateful to learn that you love the Ranch lodge and our horseback riding. We love this special place, too, and always appreciate hearing those kinds of compliments. Thank you for your other honest comments. We apologize for the negative experience you had regarding the front desk service. (For what it's worth, the woman at the front desk is retiring this month.) We promise to work on creating a more welcoming experience for our guests -- especially for guests like you, who have been visiting the Ranch since you were a kid.
Read more
Patricia wrote a review Oct 2019
3 contributions
Cataloochie Ranch is an amazing place with gorgeous views of the mountains. Whether you stay in the lodge or cabins its a fun experience as the ambience is true down on the ranch living. The staff is friendly, attentive and they go above and beyond. The food is delish and there is plenty of it.Horse back riding at beginner levels was great with cooperative horses who knew how to handle us beginners. Entertainment in the evenings was very enjoyable. Highly recommend trying Cataloochie Ranch.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Cabins offer a kitchen if you want that. Lodge has rooms only. Check out website which is very good.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Ronald H wrote a review Oct 2019
Piedmont34 contributions8 helpful votes
I had absolutely the worst time booking a horseback riding for my girlfriend and myself. I was attempting to setup horseback riding for October 5th (Saturday). The first time I called was more than a week in advance which I was told "you will have to call the week of the ride, as we don't book that far in advance". So I followed the advice and called on the morning of September 30th (the Monday before). At the time of that call, I was put on a "waiting list" because they didn't know the availability yet. After not hearing any update for a few days, I decided to give them a phone call on the afternoon of October 3rd (Thursday, or 48 hours prior to my anticipated ride) to see if an update could be provided. During that call, the lady I spoke with had no additional information she could provide to me. I then informed her we would be driving from Greenville SC (over 2 hrs away) and would need to schedule a babysitter prior to leaving. Therefore, any information that could be provided sooner rather than later would be greatly appreciated. The lady on the phone acknowledged this importance, stated she would pass along the information and have the person responsible for the horseback riding either give me a call that night or on Friday morning. It was Friday afternoon at 5:00 pm and I still did not receive any phone call, so I again called the ranch to inquire about availability. During this call, I was told there was no update and no update would be given until 9 am on Saturday (the day of the ride) as the hotel guests would be given the option of horseback riding during breakfast. I then mentioned the previous days conversation and how I was expecting to hear something last night or on Friday morning as I previously mentioned the urgency of receiving some clarification. The woman on the phone then had the audacity to say, "I guess you didn't get the call back you were expecting?" To which I replied, "you are correct". And then she stated, "I guess they didn't see the urgency in the situation. I would go ahead and consider the horseback riding unavailable seeing your situation". Thank you very much! This was a highly anticipated weekend between my girlfriend and I, as we wanted to ride horses and look at the leaves/views. If you didn't see the situation working then why not state such on Monday when I initially called? Why not state something on Thursday when I called about the status. No, you wait until it is too late to make other plans. I have worked in finance for over 10 years and needless to say this is the most ridiculous business model I have ever seen or heard about. Turning away paying customers in the ANTICIPATION of customers you do not even have yet. They do not even know if any of their hotel guests will be partaking in this horseback riding, but have no problem turning down other paying customers. It is actually quiet mind boggling. That is like going to a store that only has a single bottle of wine left. And when you try to purchase the wine be told "No, you can't buy that. We have to see if our gold card customers on Saturday will want to purchase it." At which point in time, if there are no gold card customers purchasing the product on Saturday, and you've already turned down my business, then your business just lost money. This makes no sense. Idea alert, how about if you offer the hotel guests this horseback riding at the time they book their room? I feel very confident your guests are not booking a room with less than 24 hour notice, as they are probably booking weeks or up to a month in advance. By doing this, your business would then be able to accurately gauge availability without turning customers away. I want to take a moment to thank everyone at your establishment for ruining my girlfriend and my romantic weekend in the mountains, I appreciate it. Needless to say, save yourself the hassle and just book with someone else, there are plenty of other companies within the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Service
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
DannyKritz wrote a review Jul 2019
Flowery Branch, United States4 contributions
Went up to Cataloochee ski area with My family. The small house lodging is absolutely stunning, went for snowboarding. Really nice place for friends and family, cozy spot in the cabins and amazing ski area for learning to snowboard or ski.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
the cataloochee ranch hotel maggie valley
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsMaggie Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Cataloochee Ranch
Which popular attractions are close to The Cataloochee Ranch?
Nearby attractions include Wheels Through Time Transportation Museum (2.6 miles), Waterrock Knob (4.7 miles), and Soco Falls (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cataloochee Ranch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Cataloochee Ranch?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cataloochee Ranch?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cataloochee Ranch?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joey's Pancake House, Snappy's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria, and Country Vittles.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Cataloochee Ranch?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Cataloochee Ranch?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Cataloochee Ranch have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Cataloochee Ranch accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.