We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
220 Greystone Lane, Lake Toxaway, NC 28747-8560
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$249
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/17/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com$249
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (62)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (38)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from The Greystone Inn
Updated 05/27/20

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
In the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, on the shores of the pristine and privately owned Lake Toxaway, you will find The Greystone Inn. A traditional hotel, gracious and fire-lit with views to take your breath away. Amenities include luxurious accommodations, exceptional dining, intimate spa, golf, tennis, croquet and the quiet beauty and adventure of the lake and mountains.
Read more
Room & Suite (45)45
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Babysitting
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
94Reviews5Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 57
  • 21
  • 9
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
StopSmellRoses wrote a review Feb 18
Saint Paul, Minnesota13 contributions21 helpful votes
This was such a lovely place! Loved our room - beautiful bed, fireplace, lovely view, great sheets! - and staff service was just excellent. Greeted with a glass of champagne at check in - nice touch! But - a single Sunday night stay in the winter ended up costing $450. This seemed a bit steep, partly because the dog fee was $150 - for a single night - and wasn't told the cost in advance. This is several times higher than most luxury hotels. I am happy to pay for any cleaning of any messes, and sign a waiver to promise to do so - but most higher-end places just charge $25 or $30. This was so much more! And of course limited to pet-acceptable rooms, so... just shocked, and wasn't told this dollar amount when making reservations on the phone. Also - food at restaurant was ok, but desert- a molten chocolate cake - was unfortunately inedible. There was no "molten" (liquid) part inside, and was just a mushy, bitter cake. Server did kindly offer to substitute, but declined - other desert choices not so appealing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you ask about all charges in advance - and ask for a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Todd, General Manager at The Greystone Inn
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you loved your room and found our staff to be excellent! We take pride in being a pet friendly hotel; however you are correct, guest services should have informed you of the pet fee. I apologize that did not happen. I have reviewed that with each staff member so it does not happen again. I am terribly sorry that you found the molten chocolate cake inedible and please know this has been addressed with our chef. I hope that you return soon for a longer stay with us. Please let me know if I may be of any assistance. Kindest Regards, Paulette Todd General Manager
Read more
Lovestotravel23 wrote a review Jul 2020
Greensboro, North Carolina181 contributions71 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
There aren’t enough wonderful things to say about this special place! The views, the accommodations, the staff ... from the moment we arrived everything was top notch. The room was beautiful and clean and the beds were insanely cozy! Best sleep ever!!! I have already referred 17 friends and would urge everyone to visit this spectacular place!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TL A wrote a review Jan 2021
11 contributions
+1
The Greystone Inn deserves every bit of their five stars. My daughter and I went here the weekend before Thanksgiving on a girls retreat that we do every year. Every single person that we came in contact with was professional, friendly, and made us feel like we were family! It was the first thing we have done since Covid quarantine including going to a restaurant. We felt so safe and they took every precaution you can imagine. It was an incredible experience and we are already planning a trip back. The food was great in the manner and the Lakeside dining... The salmon avocado toast was incredible along with the sweet potato ravioli at dinner. Again everything we had was yummy! We also did the spa with a couples massage and both ladies were again professional and very cautious. The lavender on our pillow was a great treat and it was just what we needed. Could not of asked for a better experience! We stayed at one of the king fireplace rooms in the Hilltop facing the mountains. It was an end room with a two-sided porch. Just the fireplace, porch, footed soaking tub and room amenities would’ve been vacation enough. To sum it up, the Greystone in spared no expense but yet was one of the most affordable five star vacations we’ve taken! (Again everything was so affordable it was unbelievable. We did the fishing and kayaking of which she just let the front desk know and a nice young man would put the kayak in the water or meet you at the lake with fishing poles and tackle box. Also they would light fire-pits outside along the lake each night. There were so many of them that you had your own personal fire. It was just like you were at home but being taken care of by a five star resort. There will be times that we would not see any other guest for hours!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Todd, General Manager at The Greystone Inn
Responded Jan 9, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Lake Toxaway, our hotel, restaurant and our spa. We are always excited to hear kind words like these and I will pass these along to our employees! Please let me know if there is anything I can do to assist you with your future reservation. We will look forward to having you as our guests again and hopefully it will be in the very near future. Warmest Regards, Paulette Todd General Manager
Read more
Jerry wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
10/25/2020: 50th Anniversary trip & the Mansion room was great for relaxing, room location, amenities, lake views, etc. Fireside seating w/gas logs was great. But, BEWARE of restaurant. Lunch was what should have been a simple pimento cheese sandwich which was pimento cheese between what tasted & consistency of like "cake layers" of something awful. Also a Caesar Salad that looked like a side-salad portion you would get at a fast-food restaurant. Service was super-slow with only ~20% seated. Dinner was ordered as a Trout & a Halibut entree, server brought two Trout orders. Again, service was so slow with about 4-5 tables seated that my wife decided to eat about 1/2 of the trout (not her desire at all) instead of sending back and waiting forever for the correct entree. Terribly disappointing, again!. Then, when I called after our visit to get a final corrected receipt of our stay, they wanted to charge me postage for mailing the final receipt. Are you people serious! Talk about nickel & dime service. 11/03/20: The General Manager responded and understood the restaurant mistakes and graciously made up for our unfortunate dining experiences. Very nice, professional and super customer service. Such a great place and obviously very Classy, we will be back to stay again. Thank You.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Request Lake Views - it's Beautiful!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jessica K wrote a review Oct 2020
10 contributions19 helpful votes
The Greystone Inn is an amazing, relaxing place that is definitely worth a visit! It's tucked away between the prettiest lake and mountain views, and if you're lucky enough to catch the leaves changing, it's simply heavenly. The mansion is cozy and inviting, and we loved that there were many different seating areas all over the property. There were numerous activities if you wanted to do something, but it was so relaxing we didn't usually want to leave. We got engaged while at The Greystone and the staff was exceptional throughout our entire stay, attending to anything we could possibly need! Adam, the Sous Chef, was incredible in designing the perfect, customized menu for our special night. The food he prepared for our private dinner was fantastic, as were the other meals we had at the Lakeside Restaurant. Additionally, Christian, the Restaurant Manager, couldn't have been more helpful and fun. He helped my fiancé plan an amazing surprise proposal and private dinner, picked the perfect red wines, and attended to anything we could've wanted or needed during our engagement night. Christian and Adam really helped to make it a wonderful, memorable night we'll always cherish. I have to add that their recommended photographer, Brent Cline, is truly amazing at what he does. We have the most beautiful pictures and I'm so glad he captured all of it so perfectly! We can't say enough positive things about The Greystone Inn, but suffice it to say, there is a reason most people we met are recurring guests. I know we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Todd, General Manager at The Greystone Inn
Responded Jan 16, 2021
Jessica, Congratulations! It was so nice to have you with us and to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay! Our staff is always happy to hear these compliments and I will be sure to pass them along. We all love Brent's work and you are right he is amazing. We are excited to see you in the near future and I will be happy to personally help you with your booking! Kindest regards, Paulette Todd General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$155 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsLake Toxaway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Greystone Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Greystone Inn?
Nearby attractions include Gorges State Park (3.0 miles), Mountain Treasures Gem Mine (1.7 miles), and Upper Bearwallow Falls (3.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Greystone Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Greystone Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Greystone Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Greystone Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Greystone Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria Del Monte, Lakeside Dining Room, and The Falls Cafe & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Greystone Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Greystone Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Greystone Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Greystone Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Greystone Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Greystone Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.