We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We rented through our Wyndham timeshare at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountain at Lake Lure. We went to check in at the Wyndham office and we were told we need to go back down the road to Fox Run VRI, when asked why, they explained that Wyndham used their inventory. We went back to the Fox Run office and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joy W
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Joy W, we appreciate your review. Thank you for spending your vacation at our resort. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with the non-Wyndham managed portion of Fairfield Mountains. We do apologize for your check in experience and unit cleanliness. We’re hopeful that you reported this to our front desk for addressing that... More 

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Wyndham resort for a few days while visiting Lake Lure, Black Mt. and Montreat. The rooms were well equipped, decor not too dated. Great recreation at the resort; lazy river and pool, lake with sand beach, putt putt, paddle boat rental and tennis courts. Resort restaurants not great. The resort is not far from Asheville, N.C. a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosalie N
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The property an older more woody type of place but well worth the visit. My family and I enjoyed our stay and used the time to reconnect as a family without technology. We walked the area and enjoyed all the scenery.

Helpful?
Thank Yvette B
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Thanks for your stay Yvette B. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay at our resort. We are thrilled to hear our resort provided you with the best environment for a family gathering. We are pleased to hear you all had a great time!!! Thanks for sharing your review with us. We hope you come and visit... More 

Catharpin, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

Overall, we were pretty pleased with the 2 bedroom unit we rented through our Wyndham timeshare at the Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountain on Lake Lure, NC (this is basically a review of Rumbling Bald Resort). When we attempted to check in that the Wyndham office in a real downpour, the Wyndham rep came out to our car with her... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JonS150310
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello JonS150310, we thank you for your review on our Wyndham Fairfield Mountains resort. We are happy you enjoyed your vacation with us. Glad we could offer you a beautiful resort in a wonderful location to various onsite amenities and activities. We’re happy to know that you loved your condo unit provided by Rumbling Bald, equipped with everything you needed.... More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

amazing area, family friendly and many activities in the downtown area for the kids. beach was great both at the property and downtown. Amazing area for family time as there are no amusement parks to distract from nature. We rented a boat and rode the river, 2 hrs is plenty unless you want to fish.

Helpful?
Thank Philip V
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Philip V, We thank your for your review on our Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We are excited to hear you had an amazing stay at our property. We are happy to hear our resort provided with just the right amenities and activities to provide you with the perfect vacation experience. We are pleased to hear to know you... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Set in lush green mountains, the location of this resort was beautiful. Unfortunately, we had at least 7 cockroaches in our room, the pull out beds/couches had not been thoroughly cleaned (there was food in it still) and the front desk was not especially helpful. We had asked originally for 2 houses in close proximity to each other and ended... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rafael M
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Rafael M, We thank you for your review on our Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We sincerely apologize for your recent experience at our property. As a resort with amazing resort team members and amenities, this type of experience is uncommon and unacceptable. We have forwarded this review to our resort leadership and shall you wish to have these... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

This was a great place to visit if you like mountains, peace and quiet. The only downfall was that there were so many steps and I had 2 handicapped people with me. There should be more information about how this property uses the amenities of Rumbling Bald Resort. The resort has 2 golf courses, beach, inside and outside swimming areas.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kchorb
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Kchorb, We thank you in advance for your review on our Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We are happy to know you had a great lodging experience at our property. We are excited to hear you were satisfied with your unit's accommodations as well as the plentiful amenities our resort had to offer. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

First thing- The drive to the resort is VERY curvy . If you get car sick easily, this is not the location for you. Checkin: This was the absolute worst checkin experience that we have ever had. Unlike normal Wyndham resorts, the checkin desk is not 24/7. We arrived a little late due to the curvy roads and had to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Matt L, We thank you for your review on our Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We sincerely apologize for your recent experience at our property.We regret to hear this resort did not provided you with the amenities and the vacation experience you were looking forward to have. We always recommend our owners and guests to become familiar with our... More 

Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

The resort is very quiet as it's far from any of the activities listed in Wyndham Resort catalog. This not a family resort, but designed for golfers. Half of the units are not available to Wyndham owners as advertised. So please check when booking so you are not disappointed at the units you are put in upon arrival. The nice... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Fuelman8
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Fuelman8, Thank you for your review on our Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We are sincerely sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at this resort. We apologize deeply for the inconveniences encountered during your stay in regards to your unit’s location, and accommodations . We apologize this resort was not able to deliver on the Wyndham... More 

Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Great area with lots to do. Unit was 1 bedroom with lots of space and great view of 10th hole on Apple Valley Golf Course. Units built in 80s could stand updating but are still nice. We went to Chimney Rock State Park, Flowering Bridge, Carl sandburg's house and the Biltmore Estate. All of these are worth seeing. Biltmore is... More 

Helpful?
Thank nm_flag
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Nm_flag, Thank you for your review on our Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our resort! We are happy to hear our resort was the perfect spot for your vacation. We are delighted to hear you were satisfied with your 1 bedroom unit’s amenities and accommodations, providing you with a comfortable... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
0.9 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
3.6 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.2 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains

Address: 747 Buffalo Creek Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9808
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Price Range: $72 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Mountains Hotel Lake Lure
Fairfield Mountain Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay