We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
JAMESTOWN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice condo, comfortable and cozy. The scenery is beautiful surrounding us. Love the screened in porch. Very accommodating to my husband and I. We love nature. Our grandchildren would love this staircase.

Helpful?
Thank BEVERLY V
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us Beverly V. We are thrilled you had a fantastic stay with us. We are glad you loved your unit and the accommodations it provided. We are pleased to learn this resort provided you with just the relaxing vacation you had hoped for. Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We hope you visit us again! Scarlette... More 

Hartville, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and it was the perfect size for the two of us. The layout is a bit strange, since you walk directly into the living room and go down a flight of stairs to the rest of the unit. These are definitely older units and could use some updating, but nothing that detracts from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Thanks for your visit Kristy S. We are thrilled to hear you had a nice stay with us. We are happy you were satisfied with you one bedroom suite which provided you with just the accommodations you needed. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the area and had the relaxing vacation you were hoping for. Thanks for your review.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a weekend visit last year and was upgraded to a two bedroom with a loft so when we booked a one bedroom this year, we were not expecting it to be so nice! It looks exactly like the two bedroom/loft except smaller! Great view of the golf course and very quiet! Highly recommend for a couples getaway!

Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Michelle H, Guest Services Manager at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Good Morning Tony B. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Mountains. This area is very beautiful and peaceful this time of year. I certainly hope you will visit us again soon. Sincerely Michelle Haynes Guest Services Manager More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We rented through our Wyndham timeshare at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountain at Lake Lure. We went to check in at the Wyndham office and we were told we need to go back down the road to Fox Run VRI, when asked why, they explained that Wyndham used their inventory. We went back to the Fox Run office and it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joy W
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Joy W, we appreciate your review. Thank you for spending your vacation at our resort. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with the non-Wyndham managed portion of Fairfield Mountains. We do apologize for your check in experience and unit cleanliness. We’re hopeful that you reported this to our front desk for addressing that... More 

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Wyndham resort for a few days while visiting Lake Lure, Black Mt. and Montreat. The rooms were well equipped, decor not too dated. Great recreation at the resort; lazy river and pool, lake with sand beach, putt putt, paddle boat rental and tennis courts. Resort restaurants not great. The resort is not far from Asheville, N.C. a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie N
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Rosalie N, we thank you for your review of our Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We are thankful for the opportunity to have accommodated you to our beautiful resort. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your fully stocked unit and met your needs for a comfortable home away from home. We are delighted you enjoyed our amenities... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016

The property an older more woody type of place but well worth the visit. My family and I enjoyed our stay and used the time to reconnect as a family without technology. We walked the area and enjoyed all the scenery.

Helpful?
Thank Yvette B
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Thanks for your stay Yvette B. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay at our resort. We are thrilled to hear our resort provided you with the best environment for a family gathering. We are pleased to hear you all had a great time!!! Thanks for sharing your review with us. We hope you come and visit... More 

Catharpin, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

Overall, we were pretty pleased with the 2 bedroom unit we rented through our Wyndham timeshare at the Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountain on Lake Lure, NC (this is basically a review of Rumbling Bald Resort). When we attempted to check in that the Wyndham office in a real downpour, the Wyndham rep came out to our car with her... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank JonS150310
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello JonS150310, we thank you for your review on our Wyndham Fairfield Mountains resort. We are happy you enjoyed your vacation with us. Glad we could offer you a beautiful resort in a wonderful location to various onsite amenities and activities. We’re happy to know that you loved your condo unit provided by Rumbling Bald, equipped with everything you needed.... More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

amazing area, family friendly and many activities in the downtown area for the kids. beach was great both at the property and downtown. Amazing area for family time as there are no amusement parks to distract from nature. We rented a boat and rode the river, 2 hrs is plenty unless you want to fish.

Helpful?
Thank Philip V
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Philip V, We thank your for your review on our Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We are excited to hear you had an amazing stay at our property. We are happy to hear our resort provided with just the right amenities and activities to provide you with the perfect vacation experience. We are pleased to hear to know you... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Set in lush green mountains, the location of this resort was beautiful. Unfortunately, we had at least 7 cockroaches in our room, the pull out beds/couches had not been thoroughly cleaned (there was food in it still) and the front desk was not especially helpful. We had asked originally for 2 houses in close proximity to each other and ended... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Rafael M
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Rafael M, We thank you for your review on our Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We sincerely apologize for your recent experience at our property. As a resort with amazing resort team members and amenities, this type of experience is uncommon and unacceptable. We have forwarded this review to our resort leadership and shall you wish to have these... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

This was a great place to visit if you like mountains, peace and quiet. The only downfall was that there were so many steps and I had 2 handicapped people with me. There should be more information about how this property uses the amenities of Rumbling Bald Resort. The resort has 2 golf courses, beach, inside and outside swimming areas.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kchorb
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this review

Hello Kchorb, We thank you in advance for your review on our Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We are happy to know you had a great lodging experience at our property. We are excited to hear you were satisfied with your unit's accommodations as well as the plentiful amenities our resort had to offer. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
0.9 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
3.6 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
18.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
1.2 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains

Address: 747 Buffalo Creek Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9808
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Price Range: $72 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Mountains Hotel Lake Lure
Fairfield Mountain Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay