We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Marlin Beach Lodging

Save
Share
309 Fort Fisher Blvd N, Kure Beach, NC 28449-4821
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (15)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (4)

About

#3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Kure Beach
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.1
Value
4.2
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
21Reviews2Q+A3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 12
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shelia G wrote a review Jun 2017
4 contributions
This is an awesome place to stay. It has the feel of home. Great owners that make you feel welcome and treat you like family. This is definitely the best place to stay in Kure Beach and we will be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
obxdreamer27 wrote a review Apr 2017
Greensboro, North Carolina34 contributions6 helpful votes
For the price of a regular hotel room, these apts offer 2 full bedrooms and a bed in the front room. A total of 3 double beds. Will easily accommodate 6 people. Oceanfront with a nice yard for the kids to play in. Nice oceanfront porch deck. Also offers a full kitchen with dishes, pots & pans. Linens are provided. Great location. Boardwalk and easy walking distance to the fishing pier. Management is great. Keeps the property clean and well maintained. It is an older property and there is only one bathroom. If you need an affordable clean place for a family to vacation where you can cook meals and a great location, you will not find a better deal. We have been several times over the past few years and will return again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
briebaby89 wrote a review Mar 2016
7 contributions5 helpful votes
Nice water front, could use some renovations, but great place to stay. Nice staff, near Carolina beach, will be back, book early rates go up quickly, bring extra towels as well, try britts doughnuts in carolina beach
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ashley C wrote a review Jan 2016
Parkersburg, West Virginia17 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
My family and I have stayed at the Blue Marlin on two separate occasions- once in June -once over the four of July week - both were wonderful. Fireworks along the beach were amazing. The Blue Marlin was perfect for my family, the ocean views were amazing waking up to first thing in the morning. The rental was very clean and well maintained. It was very simple but perfect for us. The prices were very affordable for beachfront. In the rental we stayed in, there were 3 beds, 2 bedrooms and the 3rd bed was located in the open concept kitchen/dining/living room, which is were I slept. :) one full beach themed bath. There is a front porch with with an outside shower off to the side of the house, which is nice to get the sand off your feet. You are located close enough to the pier that's within walking distance, complete with a little local restaurant, gift shop and mini arcade for kids. Definitely try the hush puppies they are amazing! There is a more busy boardwalk roughly 3 some miles in the other direction, I think it's called the Carolina boardwalk but not for sure. It has a little carnival area and multiple beach shops. There is a local donut shop there that's amazing! We get them every time we go! Kure beach is a safe, family oriented beach with small crowds. It's definitely not 'Mrtle beach or Virginia beach' which is why my family and I fell in love with this place. The owners of the Bkue Marlin were very kind and hospitable to my family and offered directions and assistance when needed. Honestly, we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else during our vacations to Kure Beach. 5/5 isn't a high enough rating:) we plan to come back this summer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kathy P wrote a review Sep 2015
Waynesville, North Carolina, United States1 contribution1 helpful vote
This place is moldy, old and not fit to stay in if you have any kind of allergies. I rented this over the internet for 2 nights ,owner wanted 3 but couldn't stay 3 !! so the owner found a way to get the money for 3rd night ,by lying and saying that there had been cigarette smoking in the dump,,I took keys back before leaving and ask them to come inspect the dump and was told not necessary, and then was charged 226.00 for cleaning fee's , So stay at your own risk of false charges and getting sick for mold and mildew
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: stay anywhere but here !!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilbert A, Owner at Blue Marlin Beach Lodging
Responded Sep 2, 2015
Disclosure Note: On July 13-2015, the day of your checkout, a police report was filed. There are other families expecting me to maintain our buildings for clean, safe lodging. September 2, 2015 Hello Ms. Kathy P. Back on July 13 ’15, moments prior to your checking out, we were all laughing and have a good time together! Fifteen minutes of your departure we spoke by phone, I told you of yours’s-and-our situation, yet you refused to return. I was in deep-deep fright! I had another family checking in under a two to three hours window. Your apartment was in a NON HABITABLE condition! Along with the “cleaning summary” below, the credit card company should have sent you the pictures of all the non-smoking signs inside the actual-apartment you smoked in along with the Kure Beach Police Report and witness letters outside my family. Rate pricing and daily minimums played no part in this episode. Sincerely, Gilbert Alphin Blue Marlin Apartments and Beach Shop Kure Beach, NC 28449 Blue Marlin Apartments, Kure Beach, NC Smoking fees in Non-Smoking Apartment July 13, 2015 Kathy P. Card **** **** **** **** * 1. $55.00 Commercial carpet cleaning – Emergency Call. 2. $00.00 Standard Cleaning of Apartment. 3. $45.00 Extra Washing, Rinsing and Outdoor-air drying time. 4. $55.00 washing down walls top-to-bottom: Hallway, Bathroom, Two Bedrooms, Kitchen Living Room, Furniture. 5. $45.00 Transferring Labor from rental to lodging, under a time stress of new guest checking 1:30pm. 6. $200.00 SUBTOTAL: TRUE COST PRICING. 7. $ 26.00 13% NEW HANOVER AND NORTH CAROLINA ROOM TAX. 8. $226.00 GRAND TOTAL.
Read more
Allison A wrote a review Aug 2015
Cary, North Carolina1 contribution
This place is perfect for the laid back family. I stayed at the Blue Marlin with my family this summer. When we arrived the room was very clean. The kitchen had plenty of plates, bowls, pans, etc. There are little showers outside to wash up before you go in covered in sand. We stayed on the bottom floor and it was wheelchair accessible. There is a little step inside into the bathroom and bedroom so if you're absolutely wheel chair bound it might be a good idea to ask about the unit (I'm not sure about any other than the one we stayed in). It was just across the street from the beach and a waking distance to the pier! We stayed in a fisherman style unit so it wasn't flashy. That's why I say a laid back family. If you want all the pools and fancy things, you'll want to look elsewhere. But if you want to lounge on the beach and take it easy this is the perfect place. Absolutely perfect :) It's hard to find a place to stay for 6 people with a kitchen that wont break the bank. If the Blue Marin wasn't around we probably wouldn't have been able to go on vacation this year. The only tiny "complaint" is that the A/C wasn't very efficient in the living area (the bedrooms were great though). However, we were told upfront it was fisherman style and we had a fan in the unit and my family kept leaving the darn door open even though I told them to keep it closed, so that was probably most of the problem... If your family doesn't open the door every 30 seconds you'll probably be fine. All that being said we'll definitely be back! I've already recommended it to my neighbors. Thanks Gilbert and Karen!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilbert A, Owner at Blue Marlin Beach Lodging
Responded Aug 24, 2015
Hello! Thank you for your kind comments. YES! YES! Since your last visit, the 8,000 BTU air-conditioner failed. Apartment ten’s (Fisherman’s Hide-A-Way) air-conditioner, the one high over the kitchen sink, has been replaced with a new, remote controlled, LG 10,000 BTU window unit. It has 20% more cooling power! Like you, I too like this unit. After finishing school, Apt 10 was my first home. The day I move out of apt 10, two fishermen stopped in our store asking for an inexpensive place to stay. Since Clyde and Sloan fished from 5 am to 3 pm, they saw plenty of ocean. Seeing the ocean was not on their wish list. Their lodging requirements were as follows: clean, comfortable, not too expensive and (October being fish month) a cable-television to watch the “World Series Baseball Games”. These two fellows gave me the idea of its nickname. After twenty some seasons of fishing here, these two fishermen have moved on to heaven. Many times I think of them. Have a nice day! Gilbert and Karen Alphin Kure Beach, NC
Read more
Michael H wrote a review Aug 2015
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a family of 7 that stayed at this apartment and it was a nice stay BUT the 2 day we was there we got up to start our day of fun on the beach and had a beer dumped down my husband back from the people up stairs from us then form there it all went down hill had some family stop by that i hadn't seen in 7 years and we all ate dinner then we all left next day we was cooking again and the Manger came to our back door and was saw by my son peeping in our Windows CREEPYAs we was packing our thing the law shows up at our door with the Manger he did a walk through and then won't to stay there as we packed our stuff not cool so if you like being watched by the owners stay here i will never again love kure beach .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilbert A, Owner at Blue Marlin Beach Lodging
Responded Aug 14, 2015
Sorry, but you had way too many persons in your party. “A Great Place for Family and Friends” is our thirty-five year old motto. You have a very beautiful family and many nice friends. With your party, I should have rented you two downstairs apartments for a total of twelve guest. Instead you only asked for one apartment. Our guest policies of six persons per apartment is posted at the entrance doors and on our website. Most times toddlers and infants never enter the count. During your stay, your party’s count exceeded TWELVE. I did not upset your family and friend’s diners. The high number in you party is where I became concerned for other quest. The next day we both realized you and I were at an understanding differences. Prior to check out, “Kure Beach Police monitored my checkout walk through”, you revealed your frustration toward me because you had to buy twelve extra towels. You did not care for my bed covers so you brought eight additional covers of your own. (3 of ours + 8 of yours = 11 covers) Very distressing for me. Now regarding a spillage accident from upstairs, this was none other than an accident. This winter, I will check with the Kure Beach Building Inspector to discuss a solid floor installation on our standard oceanfront deck. This episode has taught me to keep polices in check. Thank you for your time. Gilbert Alphin, Blue Marlin Apartments, Kure Beach, NC.
Read more
James M wrote a review Jul 2015
6 contributions10 helpful votes
First, I should say, I did not stay at the motel. I called and I had a good conversation with the management lining up a room for the weekend, but decided to check with my wife who was also calling around at the same time before finalizing details. After telling her of the room, I quickly checked to remind myself of the reviews for the place. Quite a few of the reviews online mentioned dirty rooms. So on calling back to make the reservation I guess I messed up by mentioning the reviews.. Big mistake. The management's easy going temperament changed quickly as he launched into a furious diatribe about online reviews that including profanity and remarks about the lowlifes he gets through his hotel. Being in the service industry I can understand the frustration when someone who for whatever reason leaves a bad review that leaves you with no route to repair the review. So I was actively agreeing that people suck, but I couldn't communicate fast enough to get out of the hole he was talking me into. After a moment he said "listen I'm a busy man, maybe we you should call back later, then he proceeded to place the phone on the counter and I heard him walk away, after a few I heard people laughing in another room. I called back several times before he answered and when he did, for some dumb reason I apologized for mentioning the reviews but to no avail..... He said " listen you have already pissed me off this morning, I don't think you or I would be happy with you staying here, so stop calling me". " I was still trying to back track when he asked how he would know I wasn't going to be a bad guest. I informed him that I could give him the number of several of our regular motels we stay at in kure beach but he asked for me to submit it in writing to his Establishment and he would review. Instead I submitted a formal complaint to the Pleasure Island Chamber of Commerce and will leave reviews online in the hope that this little angry man can possibly hire someone else to deal with the public because he has the personality of a jelly fish on lithium.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilbert A, Owner at Blue Marlin Beach Lodging
Responded Aug 10, 2015
“With all my responsibilities, you have played right into their hands”. Hello Sir, As far as I know, greeting all of last weekend’s guest at checkout time reported a good time. All wished to come back soon. One sweet girl presented my wife with a housekeeping tip. :) Comments regarding Blue Marlin Apartments: My family and I do our best to maintain our properties for our guest’s safety and comforts. All building codes are honored, facilities are keep clean and in an orderly manner. Internet reviews, I responded truthfully. Perhaps this would have assured your concerns the morning of Friday, July 31, 2015. In this review, you used the word “Diatribe”. Okay. Regarding this negative complaint regarding our private-phone-conversation, you do affirm you and I have never met. You have never been in our store nor stayed in our apartments. By the way, we are not hotel. (We provide private furnished bedrooms and a kitchen with basic cookware). For now, the only logic that comes to my mind regarding this eternally written worldwide dialog is “ATTEMPTED-INTERNET-BLACKMAIL”. You are not the first person to use this cowardly tactic. I am not going to be suppressed by any form of blackmail. Surprisingly, and not trying to appease you, “You are not completely to blame” Internet advertising companies use this “Diatribe” tactics to lure $$$ into their bank accounts all-the-time. They provide the virtual arena. As for me, I am holding the world’s biggest search engine’s ad departments and online lodging advertisers accountable. Up until 2015, many years had passed by since I had to do an eviction. Dangers to other guest and non-complying behavior forced me to take drastic actions. Way back then, the internet and retail/lodging reviews were just coming on the scene. After the internet (I’ve been in business ‘here’ since 1978) this type of INTERNET BLACKMAIL has greeted me in my yard and in our bait and tackle shop. Example: For me to respond to a 2004-6 BBB errant review, BBB Conway, SC tried to force me to become a loyal-member with a $250 annual membership. I passed! On that review, the only folks backing me were the private quest staying and thanking me “after” I walked the dangerous guest to their car. Other examples. When a customer returned a rod and reel that “they” got beach sand in or, an angry parent brings back a raft that has been inflated up in our shop for two weeks claiming the raft has a hole demanding all their monies back, I say “No. It was not broken when you bought it”. “A common reply is “Well I will just write your store up on the internet”. When enforcing a policy, the countless times these gutless words comes up are very upsetting. Three weeks ago a gentleman gave the ugly finger, to-my-face, right in front of his pre-teen son as he move all his beach gear out our posted reserved paid guest parking space. Yep! His window rolled down as he drove off our property yelling, “I’m going write your _____ up on the internet”. Taking actions to defend our guest from non-complying guest takes personal energy. Hearing the repeated common blackmail responses takes some getting used to. Talking with the Kure Beach Police Department is positive assurance. Our regular guest and new ones >like you someday<, do and will rely on this. Should you ever need a fishing licenses or just want to talk face to face, stop in our shop. We are three blocks north of the stoplight in Kure Beach. Take care. Gilbert Alphin Blue Marlin Apartments and Beach Shop Kure Beach, NC 28449
Read more
Barbara S wrote a review Jul 2015
14 contributions5 helpful votes
Thank you so much to the owners of the Blue Marlin!!! I really enjoyed the stay last month at your place. My family couldn't be happier with Apt. 10!!! Perfect location to everything, great rate, great air conditioning, great friendly service. I can't wait to come down again as soon as possible!!! :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilbert A, Owner at Blue Marlin Beach Lodging
Responded Aug 10, 2015
My family, housekeeping and I thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear joy shared with the world. Gilbert and Karen
Read more
Sue&mike wrote a review Jun 2015
Copster Green Lancashire UK178 contributions75 helpful votes
We stumbled across Kure beach & called in a couple of places to stay on the beach, but they weren't to our trade or standard. Walking back to the car we saw a couple unloading their shopping & about to go in to their apartment in Blue Marlin, we asked what they thought of it, and from their recommendation, we called in the store opposite. Gilbert, let us look at the available apartment, it could sleep 6, had fantastic views, we took it straight away. Gilbert was a pleasure to rent from, lovely chatty & friendly host. We got chatting to our neighbours on the 1st floor, they kindly supplied us with 2 parcels of fish to cook, shrimps & scallops, we shared some wine with the. Sadly we could only spend 2 nights, but maybe ,longer on another trip. thank you Gilbert for a lovely place to stay .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Only 4 rooms, 2 on ground level 2 above
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilbert A, Owner at Blue Marlin Beach Lodging
Responded Aug 10, 2015
Yes! The meals you had sounds, or should I say, taste delicious! Please come back. This time stay longer. Thanks for this kind comments. Gilbert
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastKure Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Marlin Beach Lodging
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Marlin Beach Lodging?
Nearby attractions include Fort Fisher State Recreation Area (2.8 miles), Kure Beach Pier (0.3 miles), and Fort Fisher State Historic Site (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Marlin Beach Lodging?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and a concierge.
Is parking available at Blue Marlin Beach Lodging?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Marlin Beach Lodging?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cape Fear Boil Company, Britt's Donut Shop, and Wake N Bake Donuts.
Is Blue Marlin Beach Lodging located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Kure Beach.
Are there any historical sites close to Blue Marlin Beach Lodging?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Fisher State Recreation Area (2.8 miles), Fort Fisher State Historic Site (2.2 miles), and Brunswick Town and Fort Anderson State Historic Site (3.5 miles).