We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Orbitz.com$119*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn On The Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Showing 440: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The staff were extremely helpful, especially when I realized after leaving that I had not packed everything from our room...They located the items and FedExed them to my next location. That was way above and beyond.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Not worth the price. Bathroom tub did not drain. Chairs in balcony uncomfortable to say the least. To me, the view was nice, but the price too high for a room. Nice staff. To get to the elevator is a very steep ramp. Be careful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fdbecky
knoxville, tennessee
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This property is below average at best given the benefit of a doubt. Room and bathroom very small with counter space being minimal; housekeeping not a priority with beds being made and towels replaced daily. Refrigerator did not cool as expected. Bathroom sink drained very slowly; maintenance was alerted and responded quickly but did not have adequate materials to resolve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbieo15
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We sincerely apologize that you were dissatisfied with your experience. While all of our rooms are 100% smoke-free, we do allow guests to smoke on the public portions of the property and their balconies as long as their door is closed. There is also a designated area...

Virginia
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Arrived Sept. 8, 2013 to a beautiful oceanfront king for a very reasonable price. View was spectacular and I took great sunrise pics from our deck. Room and bathroom was clean and bed and bedding were comfortable and looked new. We thought all the staff were super and helpful, from beginning to end. The maintenance department was especially nice. Once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SummerVirginia
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We agree with you that the view from our oceanfront rooms or our oceanfront deck is simply breathtaking. Thank you also for letting us know that our staff was so helpful and polite. All of us here strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience...

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed one night Sept 21st. Room was clean. Everybody was friendly and helpful. I am retired military and the rate was very reasonable. Only complaint I wasn't very happy with dogs in the rooms. Will stay again, and will recommend to my friends who travel a lot .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ste S
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your evening with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. We do try to stay competitive with rates and are glad you thought so too. Also, while we do allow pet parents to stay with their furry children, please know that not all of our rooms are pet friendly. We...

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Room is extremely. Stick a table, two chairs, a king size bed, TV and stand and a microwave oven stand in a space at about 16'x16' if that and there is little room to walk. Very unsanitary; pubic hair in tub, red stains on curtains, windows very dirty and a beer bottle carton laying flat on TV stand with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cc746t
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We sincerely apologize that you did not find your stay enjoyable. We hope that you decide to give us another chance to serve you on your next trip to The Outer Banks.

Chesapeake
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First of all, you must book an oceanfront room. Ours was on the 2nd floor and the view couldn't have been more perfect. A+ for the view. We were assisted in taking our bags to our room, which was a nice touch, although I suspect it was intended more to minimize the chance of a lawsuit, but we'll give that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara S
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. The view of the sunset from the oceanfront rooms can be nothing short of amazing. You can't get much closer either unless you are in a boat! We have discussed your concern about the water temperature and pressure with...

Fredericksburg, VA
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here after the Labor Day crowds were gone and found this hotel to be a great value. Our room had an ocean view, balcony, microwave and refrigerator--all for $139 a night. We were quite pleased with the friendly service. We initially decided to stay here only because this hotel accepts dogs. However, we were so pleased with our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda T
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay! Our entire staff goes out of their way to make sure everyone feels welcomed whether they walk on two legs or four and are glad that you and your furry friend enjoyed the room and view. We agree with you on the ramp and are steadily...

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Excellent staff, always very helpful, and constantly keeping hotel clean from the sand and water that was tracked in from beach. Special hats off to: James, Wilfred, Maria & Cinthia. Great ocean view from our room and everything was " as advertised". Good breakfast with plenty of food and drink. We would definitely stay here again if we return to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charles L
Virginia
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Bottom line, we'd stay at this hotel again only based on it's great oceanfront location, and if no other oceanfront hotels of better quality were available. It wasn't a horrific experience, but for the cost ($250 a night for a king oceanfront) we'd definitely pay $100 a night more for a much newer, nicer oceanfront hotel in the future. As...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank E2204
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the views from your room and the hotel. It is one of the best spots to catch the sunrise on The Outer Banks. We are also glad that you found our breakfast enjoyable. The kitchen staff truly strives to make sure...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (147)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,406 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
817 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $133 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn On The Ocean staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn On The Ocean staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try the 4th floor.”
jerzygirl46335, 3 days ago | Read review
“Best views of ocean are 3rd and 4th floors”
676susanb, 1 week ago | Read review
“Second and third floors provide best ocean view.”
sonjw279, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't stay here. Way too many problems in Room 423, which is where my wife and I stayed for our 52nd wedding anniversary.”
donb646, Apr 16, 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for a beachfront room. You won't regret it!”
llmg2015, Mar 13, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$119* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$181
ComfortInn$119
Travelocity$119
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates