We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Ocean Reef Suites

Orbitz.com$180*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$180*
$180*
$180*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

817 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 803: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
 Click to rate
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I honestly had a lot of doubts but honestly a fantastic stay. I was wary of the website photos, I was wary of the outside appearance, but as soon as we were in the room, everything was phenomenal. The staff were all friendly to us throughout our stay, they have a great sanitation score, and all areas were maintained extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Day L
Texas
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed April 15, 2017

We came here for a weekend on the OBX and booked a room with a view on the Atlantic Ocean. When we checked in, the reception employees were quite friendly, suggested a restaurant for dinner and giving tips on area attractions. The room was amazing! It was on the top floor and had so much room! There was a separate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WeDreamOfTravel
About Hotel's Favorite Review
Carrie C, Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with Best Western Ocean Reef Suites. We hope to see you again soon and we are definitely looking into a better wifi system.

Williamsburg, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thank you so much for taking care of my mother and I during Mother's Day weekend. We had a wonderful time and your employees made it that much easier! Amanda, Dan and Yolanda were the friendliest group I have encountered, and their kindness set this hotel apart from many I have stayed in. Room was gorgeous, perfectly laid out, big,...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 319shelbys
Cincinnati, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Large suites with a great beach and view. The handicapped parking at the north end did not exist, but I sympathize with the with the cramped parking lot. The staff was outstanding. Much better than average breakfasts. The ocean view was so much better than expected.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelrW1273FO
Monta S, Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites. We do offer two handicapped spaces on north side of building by office and elevator also two on south side. We are happy you enjoyed breakfast and thank you for the kind words for our staff. We hope you stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel. Little pricey for the area. Mostly a good experience. Staff was helpful and courteous. Location was good. Disappointed that the heated pool was not working as it was the main reason for our choice of this hotel. Also hadn't been inspected yet. I was told I could swim at my own risk, which I was a little taken...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricialE7553JV
Monta S, Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Our Pool is actually season as most pools in the area unfortunately if we open early then we will also have to close early. We do hope that you will come stay with us when our pool is open. We do try to make every guests stay enjoyable. Also there is a YMCA in the area for a small price...

Simpsonville, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in a corner suite with balconies on both the ocean side, and off the bedroom. The hotel is older, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The views of the ocean and dunes were great. We wished that there were screens for the balcony doors so that we could have turned off the AC and opened the doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John J
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback the couple in breakfast is one of our greatest assets. Please come stay with us again. The view is nice and we will take your suggestions to heart.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spur of the moment beach trip. Got room from hotwire rate $167 per night. (room was $250 on other sites). Got put on 2nd floor. Large sand dune view but still could see the ocean. Room very clean. We had a living room with couch, couple chairs, coffee table, round dining room table with 4 chairs in corner. Full kitchen,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angel W
Monta S, Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Best Western Ocean reef suites. We do pride ourselves on being comparably priced with more amenities and great staff. Please come and stay with us again soon.

Fairborn, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were vacationing in the Outer Banks and had stayed at this hotel in the past. The room/suite both times was very clean and comfortable and exceeded our expectations. The room amenities are great. tt's nice to have extra room so you don't feel cramped. Plus, we had a good view of the ocean! Friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B1898UAdebrab
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are a little biased on having best ocean views. We do hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location. Very clean. Friendly staff! Definitely would stay here again. Staff was very prompt about anything we needed. Good continental breakfast. An overall good experience. A great feature was a full sized refrigerator.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn Z
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at best western ocean reef. We are glad we were able to make your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called the hotel directly, and we were told there were no rooms available. I went online to hotels.com and it stated there were rooms available. I booked the room directly through hotels.com. Within 5 minutes of my booking, I received a message on my cell from the man working the desk at the hotel. He stated that he was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Momtoaceliac
Monta S, Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we do try our very best to make each guests stay enjoyable. We do apologize for the miscommunication. We were sold out but we had a early check out and got our general manager to clean the room so that we may accomadate you. We are very sorry the situation did occur and we hope...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

436 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (204)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (222)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Two Room King Suite (Side View) (36)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (Ground Floor Dune View) (23)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (Oceanfront Dune View) (38)
Viewed
Two Room Two Double Suite (Ocean - Pool View) (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $168 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Best Western Ocean Reef Suites staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Ocean Reef Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Would definitely request a room on floor three or higher for a view over the dunes.”
794johnj, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ocean view was good”
carolynz342, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose floor 3 or above for best view. You can't see well over the sand banks on floor 2.”
parsleymn, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The area around the hotel is quiet. There should not be a problem with noise even for those who don't have an oceanside room.”
Johnson747, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Ocean views are worth the extra cost!”
WeDreamOfTravel, Apr 15, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$180* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com$180
TripAdvisor$180
Travelocity$180
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates