We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Skyline Lodge and Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

We were in the Bushy Top cabins room 46. We had such amazing views. It was peaceful and quiet despite it being 4th of July weekend. Looks like they redid the floors and the bathrooms. It was clean, the beds were comfortable. We had a private deck to take in the sunset. We stayed for 3 nights and had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Born2love2travel
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

..if only you had stayed here at Skyline Lodge in Highlands , N.C. and eaten at Altitudes restaurant ,,you would have been so very pleased ...and my staff would have spoiled you ......y'all please come stay with us for a spell .......... More 

Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

This place is wonderful! We had never been to Highlands. The weather was great. Nice cool breezes coming off the mountain. I stayed in the hot tub alot! The views will take ur breath away. The only reason they didn't get 5 stars was because the internet was terrible. No phone for 3 days. But if i had to do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

...thank you Jennifer ....it is so good to get feedback and constructive criticism from our guests ....it really helps us to improve ,,,,and we are trying very hard ....I live at Skyline Lodge myself and try to meet everyone ,if just to say hello ,,,,,,we had great difficulties with the phone system and the carrier scheduled a waiting time of... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

I have 2 main complaints about this place: 1. There is no air conditioning! As far as I know, that's not advertised, and I was not expecting it. I stayed for a couple days at the end of June, and it was boiling hot in that room. The thermostat read 83 degrees!! They leave a little note in the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank _jordanschaffer
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were displeased and upset with your visit . The lady that you spoke with is not the owner . I spoke to her about her tone --she is from another culture and did apologize . The bartender made a huge mistake ,no property allows glass near a pool , even without being told most guests... More 

Travelers are raving about these Highlands hotels

Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

The location is secluded and actually looked appealing. After checking in found that the rooms are very old and in need of updating (bad carpet stains, NO AIR CONDITIONING, poor lighting, etc.). We had to sleep with the windows and patio door open for air and use an old, broken box fan provided by the motel. There were spiders in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray W
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments . I wish that you had spoken with me instead of writing here , because I love to meet my guests . We are in a rain forest ,in the mountains ,and there are critters --Orkin is here every two weeks . We like our rustic 60's décor and never want to be just... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

We loved our stay at Skyline. The property has a lot of character and is very well maintained. The staff was very friendly and seems to enjoy working there. As other reviewers said, some aspects of the room were dated, but none that matter. One of the main reasons we picked this hotels was because they are pet-friendly. We expected... More 

Helpful?
Thank nswieder
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you ,,it makes us happy to hear that you and your dog enjoyed yourselves ,,,my staff works very hard to make our guests completely satisfied , while you are here with us ... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

This was a very last minute decision and turned out to be a good one. Some reviews indicated that the décor was dated, yes it was some, but the view, the hospitality and service more than made up for that. We had a second floor room with a balcony overlooking a gorge, very peaceful and you could hear the water.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kari D
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

....thank you very much for your comments ..I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us More 

Clover, SC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

This lodge is secluded and away from everything which I enjoyed. The staff was ultra friendly and helpful. They also treated my dog as well as a human guest. My room was small, but sufficient. It had a flat screen TV, a comfortable bed, and a small sitting area next to the window so I could hear the creek flowing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shannon20100
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you for staying with us and hug your dog for me More 

Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

My stay last night left a terrible taste in my mouth. When we booked we made it clear we wanted a room where we could hear the water and maybe have a fireplace. Were assured of a great room. When we arrived we were told someone else didn't like their room - gave them ours..and we got the bridal suite.... More 

Helpful?
Thank president2015
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

I am not sure why you did not ask for me , my job here is to make guests are happy to stay with us . . When something goes wrong I ,as general manager , make everything better ,because every one here "matters ". . ..please forgive my new desk clerk. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Wow, a tough one to rate! 5 for value! 5 for location! 2 for decor! 5 for hospitality....and just overall relaxing experience. The place is really a motel dressed up as a hotel, but, but, but ... the drive up is spectacular and the setting is divine. Pool is very good. Parking is very good. Tennis courts and trails on... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ATL_JCR
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

Well sir ,,thank you vey much for your 4 star rating and kind constructive advice . You seem to have missed the experience and ambiance we are striving for --we do not want to be another cookie-cutter hotel/motel .We are dated and very much so on purpose .This olde property was designed circa 1929 in the Frank Lloyd Wright tradition... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

My room was on the second floor with a beautiful gorge view (I heard the first floor can be a little moldy). I slept with the balcony door open, it is so peaceful. All I could hear were the trees and the stream at night. In the morning the birds chirping wake you. The food pricy but outstanding. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Kathryn for your comments and recommendations. We used to have problems downstairs until we ripped open the walls and reinsulated .In the crawl space ,underneath the property ,we put in industrial fans to keep the air circulating .The most important news to visitors is that this area is deemed a natural rain forest and so things can be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.7 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#7 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 13 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unbelievable is the word for the Skyline Lodge & Altitudes Restaurant...constructed of Redwood and Granite, begun in 1929 in the Frank Lloyd Wright tradition. Completed in 1965, Skyline offers a magnificent forty mile view and nestled 4,300 feet atop of Flat Mountain overlooking the banks of Big Creek's cascading waterfalls. From the comfortable rooms with balconies and beautiful views to the scrumptious meals at Altitudes , it's definitely a part of Highlands that should be visited and revisited ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 470 Skyline Lodge Drive, Highlands, NC 28741
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Price Range: $98 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skyline Lodge and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Skyline Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Highlands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay