We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This has always been a great Thanksgiving buffet. Today was horrible. We arrived at 1:30 and all the food was ice cold. Everyone was complaining. Many having their meals microwaved. What a disappointment ! We will not return.

Helpful?
Thank ginanenenc
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review

Thank you ginanenenc for taking the time out to post your review. We apologize that you had a bad experience at our Holiday Buffet. We have informed our Food and Beverage Director he is looking further into the issue. We appreciate your feedback thank you. More 

Level Contributor
352 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay for one night and when we called they told us they had plenty of space. The room rate was $88 a night and they said we could all stay in one room. We have 4 young children, so that was a must for us. All was well. We arrived and the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank lmari535
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review

Thank you Imari535 for taking the time out to post your review. We apologize for not informing you about our breakfast rates. Due to our hotel being full service we do not offer complimentary breakfast. Our hotel offers a breakfast rate that covers up to two guest per room. We have informed our Front Desk staff about being more informational... More 

Harrington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was just okay. Nothing to write home about. The room was clean but smaller than expected. Totally different from the pictures online. The cleaning staff was very persistent in getting into the room even though there was a do not disturb sign on the door. Also at 2am we were awaken by someone blasting the latest pop hits... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dglover7911
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review

Thank you dglover7911 for taking the time out to post your review. We are sorry to hear that our hotel was not up to your expectations. We apologize for your room accommodation and the noise disturbance. Our hotel policy is to not disturb our guest if the Do No Disturb sign is on your door. We have brought this matter... More 

Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was very convenient to the meeting which was located in the hotel. It assured a very low stress trip for me. The exercise facility was great with many machines for use. The staff were most helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 255georgannac
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review

Thank you 255georgannac for taking the time out to post your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your meeting trip. We appreciate your feedback. More 

Little Silver, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Driving up to the room is a plus, street noise is a minus. The room we had was on the small size but the amenities were good and it was a pet friendly room which we needed. The hotel itself is big with very friendly staff and beautiful amenities like the very nice pool,large fitness center, nice restaurant, bar, large... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 194maureenh
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review

Thank you 194maureenh for taking the time out to post your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Hickory. More 

Fayetteville
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I always book this hotel when I go to visit my grandchildren. The staff and the hotel never disappoints. I have always been satisfied with my stay here. The staff is great. It is always clean and the location is great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J9325ZEsusanm
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review

Thank you J9325ZEsusanm for taking the time out to post your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. More 

Cornelius
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was right by a major intersection and we heard cars driving by all night. Also the cleanliness of the room was lacking. Bathroom wall had a hole, plaster peeling from walls, and dirt on wall and ceiling.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ny03wrx
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review

Thank you nyo3wrx for taking the time out to post your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We have informed our Maintenance and Housekeeping Supervisor about the issues in the room which has been addressed. We try our best to accommodate our guest in a quieter room due to the road noise. Your stay with us is important... More 

Bluefield, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Why would you have a bar, pool and lobby area if you are going to run people out of it before 9pm. The pool didn't even close till 10 yet we were run out of the extra lobby area above the bar before 9pm. We traveled with a large group and wanted to spend time with said group but that... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marybM1879SN
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review

Thank you marybM1879SN for taking the time out to post your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. Normally our lobby area and pool does not close until 10pm. We have addressed the inconvenience with our Front Desk staff and have re informed them about our lobby and pool closing time. Thank you we appreciate your... More 

Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Crowne Plaza is in a great location near local attractions and many great restaurants. Only a 5 minute drive from the downtown area, which I recommend if you have time during your stay. The hotel was quiet and clean and the staff was very courteous. Breakfast is spot on and the lobby area was great for socializing. We will... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Z3350LAstevec
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review

Thank you Z3350LAstevec for taking the time out to post your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Hickory. We appreciate your feedback. More 

Safety Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The last time we stayed at the Crowne Plaza was on April 20, 1991. My wife and I had just gotten married and had our reception in the Crowne's beautiful ballroom. It seemed fitting in our return to Hickory this year that we go back to where we started. We found the Crowne to be in excellent shape for its... More 

Helpful?
Thank FLsetzers
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review

Thank you Flsetzers for taking the time out to post your review. We are happy to hear you chose our hotel to accommodate you and your wife during your visit to Hickory. We hope to see you in the future. Thank you for your feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hickory
BEST WESTERN Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hickory
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hickory
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#8 of 13 in Hickory
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mixing business and pleasure with style and ease is no problem for Crowne Plaza of Hickory. Located in the beautiful Catawba Valley and less than an hour s drive from the magnificent Blue Ridge Mountains, as well as the Charlotte Douglas Airport, Crowne Plaza of Hickory is only minutes away from the famous Hickory Furniture Mart, Hickory Motor Speedway, the birthplace of Nascar, Lenoir-Rhyne University, the Historic Downtown area of Hickory known as Union Square, as well as the modern eclectic shopping malls. Lodging in our hotel provides business travelers quick access to almost all major corporations in the Catawba County Area. Unlike other Hickory area hotels, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Hickory helps guests stay well rested with specialized Sleep Advantage amenities, including plush bedding and guaranteed wake-up calls. Our spacious guest rooms include complimentary high-speed internet access, allowing you to stay in touch while visiting for leisure or business. The Crowne Plaza of Hickory provides anyone planning a business meeting or social event 12,000 square feet of versatile meeting space and superior service to ensure your event is a huge success!. Most of all, our guests appreciate how our Southern hospitality makes comfort and convenience a top priority. Come discover Hickory and experience exceptional service and hospitality at the Crowne Plaza of Hickory ..We re looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40

Address: 1385 Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard SE, Hickory, NC 28602 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Price Range: $99 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hickory i-40 Hotel Hickory
Holiday Inn Hickory
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hickory
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Depending on your needs they have everything. Indoor rooms out door rooms lower level upper level.”
 of 5 bubbles goldwingrider2005, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Stay on the second floor and not the first”
 of 5 bubbles 295johnnys, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Quiet zone”
 of 5 bubbles jasoncG7142RS, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms facing Lenoir-Rhyne Blvd and the ones on the inside overlooking the bar and corridor”
 of 5 bubbles jrpleasant, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Running from Hurricane”
 of 5 bubbles jasampson1977, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay