We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Rivendell Cabins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Rivendell Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 young children and loved it! The drive to the cabin was nowhere near as bad as some reviews make it out to be! There was even a small rainstorm while we were there and our huge 21 ft long SUV made it up the one lane part of the road just... More 

Helpful?
Thank heatherlakeside2015
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your pleasant review. It is refreshing to have guests such as you who enjoy what we offer, don't complain about what we don't offer and then take the time to rave about their stay as well as recommend us to friends. I appreciate your business and your kindest of words. Nina More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

I recently stayed here with a group of women and while the cabin is cute and cozy, those are the only things that were a positive. Upon entrance into the cabin, we quickly noticed that it was not clean. The living room furniture was dirty, it looked as if it had not been cleaned since the 80's. One of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Teonna G
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

I am Nina. Thank you for your sincerity in your review. It is unfortunate that now and then things happen, and I'm very sorry we were not able to meet the needs of your party for that weekend. I hope the next time you come to the mountains you are able to find something that is better suited for your... More 

Milton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

we were glad we didn't pay attention to the reviews because the cabin was clean and cute. the view was great. the road was like most mountain roads and we had no trouble getting up there and I drive a convertible. the driveway is steep but not far from the cabin so we just parked at the top and walked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tomh0623
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you Henderson family for your good review and the way you chose to honour what we at Rivendell offer guests. Created to provide a secluded and quiet time away from home as respite. yet loaded with plus with a view, hot tub, wifi, satellite tv, etc. All you need other than food or clothes and a great price. Luxury... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

Pros: •Cute little cabins w/basic accommodations like old TV, plates, etc •Full Wifi service is def a plus •Nice outdoor hot tub, although the view is not of the mountains, the tree view was ok •Small fireplace •local pamphlets offered Cons: •Extremely steep & narrow dirt road to get to the cabin. DO NOT drive a big truck here. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mujergitana28
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to know that your stay was not all you expected or intended. My apologies for your situation. I hope you find better accommodations the next visit to the mountains. Sincerely, Nina More 

Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016

I'm so glad I didn't go with all the reviews. I'm not sure what these people where looking for but I found exactly what we needed. If your looking for a place to relax and enjoy the outdoors this is just the place. The views are spectacular! All the comforts of home! We stayed at the Evenstar Cabin yes it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you Lisa for your good review. It is folks like yourself that make my job a joy in life. I appreciate that you are grateful for what we offer and that you didn't complain about what we didn't offer. It was good having you here and I hope you find your way back here again soon... the mountains are... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

We too were not prepared for the steep, narrow, treacherous drive up to the cabin on the gravel road.. As the days progressed we grew more used to it. It is in need of a good scraping to remove some of the biggest bumpy parts. The cabin was disappointing. The good parts first: (1) it was very clean (2) the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny C
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our cabins. My main goal is for happy guests and I apologize we did not meet your expectations for your stay in Franklin, NC in the Smoky Mountains. Please don't let that deter you from another visit to Franklin and hopefully better lodging for your needs.... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We stayed here for a few nights while visiting the area to go Gem mining. Nina the owner was very helpful and friendly. We loved the cabin it was clean and fully equipped. The only negative i have is the beds. My teenager slept on the pull out sofa and it was very saggy, the bed in my bedroom was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank classygrl
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our cabins. I have replaced the main bed. I'm sorry your stay was not all you intended. I hope that doesn't affect a return to Franklin to find other accommodations. Nina More 

Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Looking forward to our third trip to the Cedars cabin in a couple of weeks. I love this place. Spectacular views, very private, comfortable and clean accommodations, fully equipped kitchen, great porch with fire pit. What more could you want? This is a place that is wonderful year-round. I stayed there solo with my dog in the fall of 2013.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn C
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Dawn, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Often those who take the time to write a review were expecting luxury like the Hampton. What we offer at Rivendell is secluded cabins, awesome mountain views, affordable rates, fully furnished including all you need other than food and clothes. I appreciate you keep coming back, a welcome guest... More 

Kentwood, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

If you're looking for a comfortable cabin with lots of perks look no further! The views are beautiful and the facilities are great! The hostess does a fantastic job of making you feel very welcome. A wonderful, relaxing place to stay!

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl V
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Cheryl, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at our cabins! I appreciate your kind words and positive input. I've been in business for over 15 years and have many many return guests so probably I'm doing some things right. I hope you'll find your way back one day... Nina More 

New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
418 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

After reading some of the reviews, I have to wonder what some folks are looking for in a "mountain cabin". Yes, the road up is gravel and some spots are steep. The road is narrow; but very typical for a true mountain experience. The location is fairly secluded; no crowding from other cabins being on top of you. We stayed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dean_Amy-2004
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about our Rivendell Cabins! Sadly, some do not enjoy all we strive to offer here but it is wonderful knowing folks are willing to take a little time and post some good things about our vacation rental cabins. Thank you again, and I hope you'll choose to lodge... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 13 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 13 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Carolina Motel
Carolina Motel
#2 of 13 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
7.8 mi away
Arrowmont Stables & Cabins, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rivendell Cabins are located in Franklin, North Carolina, in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains. These vacation rentals are located only 4 miles from the Town of Franklin offering secluded, private cabins, not located in a cluster of other cabins. Each of the Rivendell Vacation Cabins is fully furnished with everything to make you feel at home in the North Carolina Mountains. Each vacation rental includes: full kitchen and laundry, paper and soap products, bedding and towels, hot tubs, fireplaces, satellite TV with all channels, central heat and a/c, private phone lines, VCR/DVD and movies, stereo, and so much more. You only need bring your clothes, personal items and foods. We have made every effort to provide an allergy free, convenient and relaxing environment for your vacation. The Rivendell Cabin is handicap accessible. We welcome children and pets. Whenever you visit there is a natural show of wonder that inspires your heart to lift. From the cabins there are views of mountain ranges and beyond, in season, a show of wildflowers, blackberries, elderberries, ginseng, persimmon and the like in the mountains of Western North Carolina. Rivendell Cabins now accept credit cards for your convenience. Contact us today and schedule your vacation in the mountains of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rivendell Cabins

Address: 536 Henderson Rd, Franklin, NC 28734-2287
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing