We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rivendell Cabins

536 Henderson Road, Franklin, NC
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Rivendell Cabins
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm so glad I didn't go with all the reviews. I'm not sure what these people where looking for but I found exactly what we needed. If your looking for a place to relax and enjoy the outdoors this is just the place. The views are spectacular! All the comforts of home! We stayed at the Evenstar Cabin yes it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

We too were not prepared for the steep, narrow, treacherous drive up to the cabin on the gravel road.. As the days progressed we grew more used to it. It is in need of a good scraping to remove some of the biggest bumpy parts. The cabin was disappointing. The good parts first: (1) it was very clean (2) the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny C
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our cabins. My main goal is for happy guests and I apologize we did not meet your expectations for your stay in Franklin, NC in the Smoky Mountains. Please don't let that deter you from another visit to Franklin and hopefully better lodging for your needs.... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We stayed here for a few nights while visiting the area to go Gem mining. Nina the owner was very helpful and friendly. We loved the cabin it was clean and fully equipped. The only negative i have is the beds. My teenager slept on the pull out sofa and it was very saggy, the bed in my bedroom was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank classygrl
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our cabins. I have replaced the main bed. I'm sorry your stay was not all you intended. I hope that doesn't affect a return to Franklin to find other accommodations. Nina More 

Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Looking forward to our third trip to the Cedars cabin in a couple of weeks. I love this place. Spectacular views, very private, comfortable and clean accommodations, fully equipped kitchen, great porch with fire pit. What more could you want? This is a place that is wonderful year-round. I stayed there solo with my dog in the fall of 2013.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn C
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Dawn, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Often those who take the time to write a review were expecting luxury like the Hampton. What we offer at Rivendell is secluded cabins, awesome mountain views, affordable rates, fully furnished including all you need other than food and clothes. I appreciate you keep coming back, a welcome guest... More 

Kentwood, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

If you're looking for a comfortable cabin with lots of perks look no further! The views are beautiful and the facilities are great! The hostess does a fantastic job of making you feel very welcome. A wonderful, relaxing place to stay!

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl V
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Cheryl, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at our cabins! I appreciate your kind words and positive input. I've been in business for over 15 years and have many many return guests so probably I'm doing some things right. I hope you'll find your way back one day... Nina More 

New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
276 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

After reading some of the reviews, I have to wonder what some folks are looking for in a "mountain cabin". Yes, the road up is gravel and some spots are steep. The road is narrow; but very typical for a true mountain experience. The location is fairly secluded; no crowding from other cabins being on top of you. We stayed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dean_Amy-2004
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about our Rivendell Cabins! Sadly, some do not enjoy all we strive to offer here but it is wonderful knowing folks are willing to take a little time and post some good things about our vacation rental cabins. Thank you again, and I hope you'll choose to lodge... More 

Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

No cars should make the trip...very poor road...do not go in your good car..hot tub great... Cabin needs good cleaning...hope it don't rain may not get in..or. out ...can not turn your car around .. Tv poor...cabin is well stock..........

Helpful?
Thank Gloria Larry D
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. We strive to bring each guest a quality vacation in the mountains and secluded forest area of western North Carolina. I hope you will find a suitable vacation sight for your next visit to our area. Sincerely, Nina More 

Windber, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I took our first vacation together at the Rivendell cabins. We stayed in Cedars. We did make it up the hill in my Hyundai Elantra, but after gravel was put down towards the end of our visit it was much more difficult to make it up the hill to the cabin. The cabin definitely needs a good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kali G
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your disappointments in your lodging needs. I will attend to the issues suggested. Thank you for your input. Sincerely, Nina More 

Manitowoc WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The wording said remote, it did not say rugged approach. The last mile is clay and gravel, very narrow and steep. Definitely would not take an ordinary car. Cabin was basically clean but needs a giid deep clean. Upstairs beds and almost all the furniture were bottomed out and worn. It was scary to see the pillows we were using... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jill B
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for your uncomfortable stay with us at Rivendell. I will attend to the issues you suggested. Nina More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in cedars cabin. It was very accommodating and well equipped. The views from the deck are breath taking. We had daily visits from hummingbirds. Keep in mind you are on a mountain top so the drive up and down is not easy terrain. However the dirt road is maintained. The cabin is very clean. You are in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Apeebuns
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We strive to present each guest with an experience of time away from home and stresses of life, exceptional, memorable and rewarding in every way. Located in the Mountains of Western North Carolina, we are also in the woods. The locale is conducive to nature and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
2.5 mi away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#6 of 13 in Franklin
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
7.8 mi away
Arrowmont Stables & Cabins, LLC
17.6 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#8 of 18 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities