Islander Hotel & Resort

Islander Hotel & Resort

Traveler (234)
From oceanfront ground level
Room & Suite (202)
Pool & Beach (64)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 3 motels in Emerald Isle
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.9
Value
3.6
Let the adventure begin at our Emerald Isle North Carolina Hotel and Resort! The Islander Hotel & Resort provides an array of activities under the sun. Our oceanfront resort is full of energy and experiences that will create a lifetime of memories for all ages. Whether you want to soak up the beach or lounge by the pool, the Islander Hotel and Resort provides an atmosphere of relaxation and fun for all who visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Beach
Bicycle rental
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bicycles available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

102 Islander Dr, Emerald Isle, NC 28594-2428
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Coastal Carolina Regional Airport
28.9 mi
See all flights
Albert J Ellis Airport
33.8 mi
See all flights
466Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 171
  • 135
  • 66
  • 47
  • 47
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Marilynn S wrote a review Sep 2020
Whittier, North Carolina48 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived and desk staff was very delightful, smiling and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. I think they need to put a shelving unit or towel racks to hang towels, wasn’t happy that I had to put the towel on the floor so it would be in easy reach as I got out. As one guest stated sand was on the floor throughout if you didn’t remove shoes by the door. They did provide a broom which was used frequently. We were within walking distance to ocean and pool, and since it was in the high 80’s was greatly appreciated. I understand if you stay less than 5 days you don’t have housekeeping, but if you are in need of towels, cups etc just go to front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Eagle, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Thank you for your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and your stay with us overall! Thank you for bringing the accommodation issues to my attention. Your feedback will be addressed with our on-site team so that we will improve in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you travel back to Emerald Isle. Barry Eagle, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel112830 wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Better to call Resort to make reservations....and request a remodeled room, because what you see on line is not what you get! When asked at check in if all rooms were remodeled, I was told no, and when asked if we were getting one, was told we had not requested one and the other rooms were not terrible! We were then given a partially remodeled room , as in floors, kitchenette, & bathroom. Pull out sofa & chair had seen its better days, to say the least. Someone got the nice rooms, and paid the same price as we did, I'm sure. The marketing people for this resort deserve a raise.....it is not what it appears to be. This is not my first time in Emerald Isle, so I am aware what is in the area. Islander Resort- I know you are better than that!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Eagle, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort
Responded Jan 6, 2021
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us overall! However, I want to sincerely apologize for the accommodation issues that you experienced during your stay with us. I take your feedback very seriously and have addressed it with our on-site team so that we will improve in the future. I have recently been informed that the issues that you encountered are currently being addressed. Again, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you will consider staying with us again as we continue to improve. Barry Eagle, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth S wrote a review Apr 2021
Free Union, Virginia300 contributions120 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The design of the building is for max occupancy and reasonably priced space. Situated between two trailer-RV parks, and surrounded by pavement, it’s going to be hot as can be when the weather warms up. Windows don’t open, rooms are big but no seating outside except for a few smoking areas along the balcony. Pool is closed so you can’t access seating there. Other than two straight chairs or on the beds that’s all there is in the room. Linens are dingy and rough, but things look clean. It’s probably better if you book whatever rooms that face the ocean, otherwise you might as well be in any town USA. Walking to nearby restaurants means going on the highway no boardwalk or sidewalks.
Friendly staff and central location on the island. Beach is wide with brownish hard sand that makes for easy truck on the beach driving and set up spots for surf casting. Lots and lots of public access.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Eagle, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort
Responded Apr 19, 2021
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to know that our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed your stay with us overall! However, I want to sincerely apologize for the cleanliness and accommodation issues that you experienced during your stay with us. Your feedback will be addressed with our on-site team so that we will improve in the future. Again, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you were still able to enjoy your time in Emerald Isle. Barry Eagle, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JKM8907 wrote a review Apr 2021
8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in town three nights for a wedding. We arrived around 6 pm on a Thursday and checked in with Vicki, and we were greeted warmly and verbally updated on COVID-19 housekeeping protocol, so we were aware that we would not receive daily housekeeping, which was expected and totally fine. Shortly after checking in, I received a text from Vicki asking how the room was, to which I responded, “Great, thus far”. However, after settling in, I noticed a few problems, hair in the ice bucket (we asked front desk for a new one and were told we had to wait til the morning), hair in the tub, and a thick layer of dust on the microwave, which tells me these rooms aren’t being thoroughly cleaned BETWEEN guests. This is unacceptable and disgusting under any circumstance, but during a pandemic, it’s downright negligent and irresponsible.

Additionally, we were in a “newly renovated”room, and pieces of the wall were missing from around the door frame. There was NOWHERE to hang any clothes (not even a bar), which sucked considering we were in town for a wedding and had quite a few hanging garments. There was a dresser, however this was filled with pillows, blankets, and linens for the sleeper sofa.

Now, this is where it gets good. We wake up the next morning, and my friend makes a cup of coffee and stepped outside to watch the sunrise. After a bit, I could no longer stand the sound of power saws outside my door, so I went to make a cup as well. When I lifted the lid to the water reservoir on the coffeemaker, I was greeted by a fully large and in charge cockroach. Yes, that’s right—my friend had already drunk a full cup of brewed cockroach coffee and I was about to be victim #2. This is when we decided to make a complaint. Fortunately, the front office manager Ally, agreed that drinking from where a roach takes a dump is disgusting and offered us the only available room in the “new building”. So, we checked all of our luggage for any hitchhikers and made the trek across the parking lot to our new room. The new room was much better.

Family staying in other rooms had issues such as dirty toilets, mold, dirty stained carpet, no place to hang clothes, and yes, more nasty cucarachas (they’ve infiltrated the “new building” as well).

The bride and groom stayed here after the wedding and also had a cockroach in their room as well. What a welcome!

I would not recommend this property to a single person, family, or enemy. I am grateful for Ally hearing our concerns and providing an alternate accommodation, but this isn’t something she should have to face so regularly. Before putting lipstick on this pig of a motel, it needs to be heavily exterminated and they need to train their housekeeping staff how to keep house.

Also—whoever the gentlemen working front desk around midnight on Thursday April 22nd, was rude & unaccommodating when asked for a pube-free ice bucket.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Eagle, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort
Responded Apr 29, 2021
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to know that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the cleanliness and pest issues that you experienced during your stay with us. I take the issues that you have described very seriously and have reached out to our on-site management team in order to address your concerns promptly and our staff accordingly. Our pest control provider, Orkin will be coming to our hotel to perform pest control services. I have recently been informed that management had contacted you while you were staying with us and was able to upgrade you to another guestroom, as well as offered concessions for the inconvenience. Again, I sincerely apologize and wish you safe travels in the future. Barry Eagle, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
missypjordan wrote a review Sep 2020
Durand, Michigan513 contributions134 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and son in law recently purchased a home in the area and we traveled from Michigan to visit. We booked a few days at the Islander and fully enjoyed our stay despite Covid 19 constraints. Our room was in the main building and was fully remodeled and perfectly clean. Two double beds with lovely linen, bathroom with toiletries included, small coffee maker with pods for making, a nice stainless steel large mini fridge and microwave. Good counter space available and a round table with two chairs. Also the balcony had a great Bollywood Capitan chairs and tables. Front desk was friendly and smiling under those masks. Ice machine in lobby for use. We brought our own chairs and umbrella for the beach and there was ample shade and seating around the pool.
We fully enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to our friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Eagle, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort
Responded Sep 20, 2020
Thank you for your review. I am happy to know that you felt well accommodated during you stay and that you enjoyed our amenities! We look forward to seeing you again when you travel back to Emerald Isle. Barry Eagle, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy S wrote a review Sep 2020
Vienna, West Virginia21 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately, this just wasn’t our best beach experience. The COVID regulations are not a big deal, but just don’t expect daily housekeeping... you’ll have to sweep up your own floors and ask the front desk for fresh towels every day. The front desk employees are more than accommodating and will get you whatever you need. The hotel also definitely has some moisture issues, which happens being right on the ocean, but our room smelled super damp, the dehumidifier ran constantly (no housekeeping so you have to remember to empty it yourself), and there was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom.

I feel like I should preface the rest of this review by saying that we are overall not super picky people when it comes to hotels rooms. We don’t expect a five star resort for Holiday Inn rates. But this is the first time ever that upon checking in, we asked for a different room. I needed to wash baby bottles and we had no hot water. Not even lukewarm. It was ice cold. The toilet seat was broken and only connected on one side. And the room was so dirty. The bathtub was full of stains and mildew and my son ran around for less than 5 minutes and his feet were completely black. If we would have had to stay in this room I would have gone out and bought a mop it was so bad. The front desk was very apologetic and offered us a room in the main hotel which was much nicer and cleaner. But I still wouldn’t say it was super clean. I was really surprised and disappointed with the state of the rooms in the motel building. I feel like the glowing reviews must come from people who either stay in the main hotel or the few rooms that are directly on the ocean. We had family staying in other rooms and they had similar issues with hot water and extremely dirty floors. The motel rooms also have kitchenettes with cabinets and everything, but they’re empty. No cups or plates or anything. Not sure if that’s a COVID thing or if it’s always like that, but I thought that was a little odd.

The pool isn’t bad, the staff is really nice, and the location and parking is convenient. But this hotel could really use some maintenance and cleaning for what they charge.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Eagle, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to know that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the cleanliness and maintenance issues that you encountered during your stay with us. I take all of your concerns very seriously and have reached out to our on-site management team in order to address your concerns promptly and our staff accordingly. I have recently been informed that management was unable to find your reservation in our system. Please contact our corporate office at (910) 509-1707 so that we can discuss your stay further. Again, I sincerely apologize and wish you safe travels in the future. Barry Eagle, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ndg96 wrote a review Sep 2020
Huntersville, North Carolina3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The shower was dirty and there was mold all around the tub chaulking. There was no sink in the bathroom so you have to use the kitchen sink to brush your teeth. The water pressure in the sink was a trickle with both cold and hot turned on. The carpet felt gritty.

I would not stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Eagle, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort
Responded Sep 28, 2020
Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to know that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the cleanliness and maintenance issues that you experienced during your stay. I take all of your concerns very seriously and have reached out to our on-site management team in order to address your concerns promptly and our staff accordingly. Your feedback will be used in future training sessions with our staff so that we will improve in the future. Again, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and wish you safe travels in the future. Barry Eagle, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amber S wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 2nd stay and will not be our last. We have already booked for next year.
The convenience to the beach is amazing and a grocery store nearby makes it even better.
The rooms are spacious and clean. I love that there is a broom cause we can sweep up the sand 10x a day... Lol.
We had a large group, and we loved the great area around the pool to be able to hang out together, the hammocks are so relaxing, and some in our group rented bikes and rode daily. The #1 attraction is the beach though and frankly with all the stuff required to spend a day on the beach we would not be able to do it if we weren't staying RIGHT on the beach. So thankful this hotel is here.
They were not doing daily housekeeping but the front desk or any of the workers that you see around the hotel were very kind and attentive when we needed towels, toilet paper or trash bags. It make the stay that much easier.
Also one of my kids loves the complementary hot chocolate.... Even though it was 90° outside... Lol.
Thank you. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Eagle, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort
Responded Aug 3, 2021
Thank you for your review! We're very pleased to hear that we could meet and exceed your expectations and you felt well accommodated during your stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you choose to visit Emerald Isle!  Barry Eagle, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise L wrote a review Sep 2020
Chicago13 contributions
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival we were so impressed with our room 239. Absolutely gorgeous view and suite looked beautiful. Closer look and no iron (not that big a deal bit did call and asked for one but never received). I realize COVID-19 has made everything difficult, like no cleaning etc for stays under 5 days, so they should at least provide a broom to sweep the sand. Doesn’t look like the mirrors were cleaned or rugs vacuumed. Three pin tags on the floor in closet. First night in bed and yikes found one in the bed also. Geez the bed looked freshly made! Three burnt out lightbulbs in bathroom. Raining here and the roof balcony is leaking! Definitely not worth the price we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Eagle, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort
Responded Sep 11, 2020
Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to know that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the accommodation and cleanliness issues that you encountered during your stay with us. I take all of your concerns very seriously and have reached out to our on-site management team in order to address your concerns promptly and our staff accordingly. I have recently been informed that management contacted you and offered you concessions for your stay. Again, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and wish you safe travels in the future. Barry Eagle, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mabks65 wrote a review Aug 2021
Walkertown, North Carolina2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been staying at the Islander for the last 10 years. NEVER AGAIN! I stayed at the Inlet, which is the newest part of this property. The beds are completely worn out. My friend and I were sinking in the middle. When we informed the gentleman at the front desk about this he was rude and showed no concern. We had to go and buy a pair of boogie boards to insert under the mattress to keep from sinking. In addition, That evening we had a large cockroach running in the room After screaming and running around I was able to kill it. Disgusting!!!! When we informed the front desk. We were told they were water bugs. No it wasn’t. This was a cockroach with long antennas. Water bugs don’t have long antennas. This is a sad day for my friend and I since we have enjoyed staying at this property for years.
To the owner: you need to put money into your property and maintain it. Your location is unique but it is not all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Eagle, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to know that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the comfort and pest issues that you experienced during your stay with us. I take the issues that you have described very seriously and have reached out to our on-site management team in order to address your concerns promptly and our staff accordingly. Our pest control provider, Orkin will be coming to our hotel to perform pest control services. I have recently been informed that management would like to discuss your stay further and offer concessions for the inconvenience, if you would please reach out to the hotel and ask for Ally. Again, I sincerely apologize and wish you safe travels in the future. Barry Eagle, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Emerald Isle area.
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
islander inn and suites, islander hotel emerald isle
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastEmerald Isle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ISLANDER HOTEL & RESORT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Islander Hotel & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Islander Hotel & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Water Boggan (0.2 miles), Emerald Forest Golf (0.6 miles), and Goose Creek Growler Company (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Islander Hotel & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Islander Hotel & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Islander Hotel & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Islander Hotel & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caribsea, Rucker Johns, and Lazzara's Pizza & Subs.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Islander Hotel & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Islander Hotel & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Islander Hotel & Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Islander Hotel & Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Emerald Isle HotelsEmerald Isle Hotel DealsHotels near Islander Hotel & Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars