We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill

Travelocity$51*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$55*
$51*
$55*
$51*
$55*
$51*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

If you're looking for a resort, this isn't it. ....But, if you're looking for a clean, friendly, safe place to sleep, (comfortable beds!),shower, and watch (a nice updated) TV (while checking Facebook if you want w free wifi ;)), this is it. My husband and I are from Virginia, & we stayed last year (no option to select Sept 2014...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathy R
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thanks Kathy for sharing your great experience here at the Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill! Our hotel is located just several miles away from UNC, perfect for guests coming to enjoy the Tarheels play, or if you're just visiting the campus. We look forward to seeing you for UNC's next game!

Union City, Georgia
Reviewed August 10, 2015

If you like hotel/motels where all the doors open outside; you don't mind pulling up in the evening and a dozen or so guys hanging out smoking and talking loud; you leave in the morning and you have to step over pizza boxes, pizza and beer cans, then this is the hotel for you. It wasn't for me. I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vickilynn111
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Vickilynn111, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my apologies for the conditions you found during your stay. I would like to mention, we do have an elevator at our location, and our hotel's great pricing allows us to cater to guests from many walks of life. We have guests that are business travelers,...

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed July 25, 2015

What's not to like? For a low price you get a clean nonsmoking room with psuedo-hardwood floors, a nice TV with a few dozen channels including premium ones; free unlimited long distance and local calls, wifi, big bed of reasonable comfort, good working chair and desk area, coffee maker in room, fridge, microwave, safe ($1.50 option) etc. Sure, there's no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cspan37421
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Cspan37421 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while at our property. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Chapel Hill Red Roof. We are a smoke free hotel, however, there are times we have rooms that unfortunately may have a smell from a previous guest that did not abide by our policy. Cases...

Reviewed June 11, 2015 via mobile

My stay at this Red Roof Inn has always been great! It is directly in the heart of Chapel Hill and Durham NC, which will give you an opportunity to be able to explore both cities from a convenient standpoint. Being a graduate from UNC Chapel Hill, I am always in the area for various functions pertaining to the University...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dameian B
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thank You Dameian for your thoughtful words. My staff will love reading about how much we were able to accommodate you during your stay with us. It is our goal to ensure each guest leaves our hotel sharing the same experience you had. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your future travels in our area.

Hutchinson, Kansas
Reviewed May 12, 2015

It was clean and well maintained. However, hard to find entrance. It required driving up a dark unmarked road. A hairdryer was listed as amenity but none provided. Most economy hotels have coffee in room, hairdryers, continental breakfast. I was charged for a room safe I didn't use and had to have it taken off my bill at checkout. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linda946
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Linda, Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at out hotel. Our rooms are clean and well maintained, we also have our Superior King rooms that include a hair dryer, iron, and ironing board. Guests that reserve a standard room may also request one of these items from our front desk and our staff will be more than...

Bowmanville
Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on way home from Florida. Great stop over as restaurants are also near by. Room was nice and clean also it is a great place if you are travelling with a pet very quiet the night we stayed also it is close to the universities. Had no problems in staying here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rickie D
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Thanks Rickie D for your thoughtful comments. The staff and I always love to hear great feedback from our guests. Our location is pet friendly, rooms are clean, and we have a room that will fit your budget. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area!

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed April 29, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on business as I was in town to photograph a pageant. There were shady people in th parking lot doinf questionable things when we came around from the office to check into our room. There were 4 of us in a room. First thing the sheets did not apperar clean, I asked the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelley S
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Shelly S. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Chapel Hill Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies. At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed April 27, 2015

This is a very nice hotel, located close to UNC-Chapel Hill and Duke University. It had a very, very reasonable price and the hotel was extremely clean and well-maintained. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaemonW
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Daemon W, Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at our property. It is always a pleasure to hear our customers and their feedback. We do have a great hotel here that is clean, well kept, and comfortable. We look forward to taking care of your hotel accommodations the next time you are in Chapel Hill.

Durham
Reviewed March 7, 2015

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherith C
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Kinston, North Carolina
Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, 2 rooms with 4 guest on business. The rooms were clean rooms, the staff was friendly and the price was good. Best Red Roof Inn we have stayed at in awhile. Keep it up, we will be back.!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielsfam3
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review

Danielsfam3, Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Chapel Hill Red Roof. I am very glad you plan to come back the next time you are in the area! I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#13 of 17 in Chapel Hill
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#41 of 71 in Durham
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
444 reviews
7.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
6.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 5623 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, I-40 at US 15/501, Exit #270, Durham, NC 27707-3320
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: $57 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Durham
Red Roof Inn Durham
Durham Red Roof Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“top floor, back row facing away from the main road.”
V696JSlisat, Apr 10, 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
larry1smith101, Mar 9, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is not on the ground level”
dkfloyd1, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“There are NO rooms safe here .”
U2139TXcindyk, Feb 27, 2017 | Read review
“I would stay on 2nd or 3rd floor only as a personal preference”
R282MOrm, Feb 22, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Travelocity
$51* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$51
TripAdvisor$51
Cancelon$55
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates