We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durham Marriott City Center

0.3 miles from Durham center
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Special Offer
Member Rates
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 366: English reviews
Start your review of Durham Marriott City Center
 Click to rate
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 1 night on a short business trip, newly remodeled property was very nice! The only issue was a Duke sponsored youth UN function, it got a little loud in the hallway, the management handled the situation very professionally. The property has long term employees which speaks to the management, good job!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucien7212
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Lucien7212, My staff and I would like to thank my you for taking the time to leave such great feedback about your recent overnight stay with us here at Durham Marriott City Center! I am very pleased to hear that the our management team was able to address the loud noise from the youth group so it did not...

pine brook, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my husband this week. It was very close to Duke Hospital. My husband had to have a procedure done and the staff was wonderful. They made us feel very comfortable and went out of there way for anything we needed. The hotel was clean and everyone was very friendly. The rooms were gorgeous (just renovated -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Rachel S, We are thrilled to hear about your "great stay" here with us at Durham Marriott City Center. I am very happy that you were able to enjoy everything with us through our renovation and hope your husbands procedure went very smoothly. The new rooms and lobby/bar have got fantastic reviews from our guests and I am very...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice and upgraded hotel, still had some construction but didn't affect in anyway our stay, friendly and helpful staff, next year I will be happy to stay at the hotel again. Hotel was very convenient since the Convention Center is just next door

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmparoAlexandra
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear AmparoAlexandra, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that the construction was taking place during your stay, but we are very happy it did not affect your stay. My staff and I are very happy you were able to enjoy our...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

We hold an annual Irish dancing competition at the attached convention center, and all of our attendees stay at the Marriott. They've recently renovated all of the upstairs room and they are just beautiful; wall-mounted flat screen TV's, LED lighting, frosted glass pocket doors on the bathrooms, and laminate flooring instead of carpet. Outstanding! The hotel staff was just lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meighan C
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Meighan C, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review about your recent stay here with us at Durham Marriott City Center. Our team here was thrilled to have the opportunity to host the Irish Dancing Competition as it was a very exciting event. We are very pleased to hear about your experience...

Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here for a conference on the day the underground pipes blew in July 2016. The food was super good. Loved the infused water in the lobby. The bed was comfy. Nice location. We will be back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randee812
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Randee812, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay with us back in July 2016. I am very sorry you had to be here when the underground pipes blew out on us, but would like to thank you for your patience as we did everything we could to resolve the issues...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Staff were the friendliest and were all willing to help.This Marriott had the Cleanest Bathrooms. Restaurants and shops are all walking distance from the Hotel. So I would rate this part a 5 but the rest of the hotel was lacking The rooms are not conducive to work in the desk is so narrow and there is a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WWhiteley
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear WWhiteley, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay here with us. Feedback is extremely important to our team here as we take great pride in ensuring we are doing everything in our power to make our guests have the most fantastic stay. This feedback will be shared with our entire team...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are staying here on business, do not let them give you a corner room. There is no desk in the room and when I complained they sent up an old side table with a desk chair. I had to beg to be moved to a room with a desk even though I'm a Platinum Marriott member.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbieschmebbie
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Debbieschmebbie, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay here with us. We utilize this type of feedback to make sure that we doing everything in our power to correct these type of issues so that they do not become a common occurrence. Rest assured I have shared your feedback...

Reviewed January 9, 2017

The rooms are newly renovated, and they're some of the nicest I've stayed in! Definitely recommend staying here. Beds were comfortable and the overall experience was great. The staff were all very nice also, could tell they want to do whatever they need to to make your experience a great one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis W
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Travis W, It is always great to be able to share such great feedback from our guests about their recent stay here with us at Durham Marriott City Center. Thank you so much for taking your time and providing our future guests with knowledge of what to expect when they stay with us. I can assure you that I...

Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed January 7, 2017

I was in Durham for a wedding, and this hotel was conveniently located to our destinations... Unfortunately, during our stay, the hotel was undergoing some significant renovations... The area around the elevators was a construction zone, and often only one elevator was in use... That made the waits unbearably long... Check-in was a breeze, but parking is not... I opted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoBa2015
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear GoBa2015, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay here with us. It is always fantastic to be able to share this type of feedback with not only my staff but with future guests as well. I am truly sorry that the renovation caused an inconvenience for you as well and we are...

W-B,Pa.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

I had stayed in September and didn't have a very good experience. I received an email from a Marriott manager who was very concerned and wanted to make my stay right. Which they did. They gave me a small discount which I felt was the proper thing to do and I would definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orlandovisitor
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Orlandovisitor, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay with us back in September! I am truly sorry that you did not have a very good experience, but very happy that our Manager was able to contact you and do everything it takes to ensure you were taken care of. We truly hope to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#24 of 70 in Durham
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#17 of 70 in Durham
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
2 Zero 1 Restaurant
2 Zero 1 Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Address: 201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: $171 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Durham Marriott City Center staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Staten Island
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Durham Marriott City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Since the rooms are upgraded, any room would be a good choice”
 of 5 bubbles AmparoAlexandra, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles rochelleforster, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“further down the hall”
 of 5 bubbles orlandovisitor, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“King room is better appointed than double”
 of 5 bubbles jswATL, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“If you want a desk, do not get a corner room. Halls are noisy, so pick a room where lots of people will not be walking by your room.”
 of 5 bubbles 29Lorenzo, Jul 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question